We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Huntingdon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Huntingdon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Huntingdon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 South Fourth Street, Huntingdon, PA 16652   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Huntingdon
Wayne, PA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We loved our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is the best Comfort Inn that we have ever stayed because it is very clean, extremely friendly and accomodating, updated, and convenient to shopping and restaurants. Maria, at the front desk, was very welcoming and accomodated our preference for a specific room type. I called in advance and she told me she would do her best to give me the type of room that I wanted. She certainly came through. We were more than happy with the room's layout, cleanliness of the furniture, beds and bathroom, the amenities of refrigerator & microwave, large screen TV, ironing board and iron, hairdryer and wooden hangers with hooks that can be moved around the rod!
The included hot breakfast was a real treat with waffles, eggs, sausage, yogurt, cheese, breads, muffins, hot and cold cereals, juices, fruits, milk, coffee and tea. It is very hard to find a nice hot breakfast at hotels of this price range. It was so great to not have to find a breakfast place to start the day.
It is conveniently located next to a gas station, restaurant and shopping center. Rite-Aid Drugstore and fast food restaurants are conveniently within walking distance too.
They have a nice looking swimming pool, but we did not use it. Also, a fitness center(located in a Physical Therapy center nearby) is included in the room rate. We also did not use the fitness center. If we had stayed longer, we definitely would have used both the swimming pool and fitness center.
Highly recommend this hotel for its excellent value, cleanliness, service and convenience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn Huntingdon, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate that you mentioned our location being so close to most of life's necessities and conveniences. I am also glad that you found our breakfast to have everything that you wanted. Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    31
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
35
18
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here during Creationfest 2013. Originally planned for 3 nights but liked the hotel so much we asked for 2 more nights. Maria was so awesome and worked feverishly to keep up in our same room! I can't say enough about how great she was. The rooms were clean and roomy. The breakfast was awesome with eggs and sausage along with waffles and sweet pastries. We will definitely stay here next year for the whole event!! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn Huntingdon, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I would have to agree with you about Maria. Maria is a true professional in customer service. I hope that you are able to come to Creationfest next year and are able to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This Comfort Inn was very clean. Room size is great and staff at front desk, cleaning and breakfast and all fantastic. Very friendly and welcoming. Relatively small hotel when you think of Comfort Inn but then besides the Marriott Fairfield that recently opened there are no other hotels. We got a great rate. Beds slept great! There are train tracks that are heavily used by trains throughout the entire day and night. I requested a room on the front and NEVER heard the train. We were in the area for a camp for one of my children all the way from NC and I must say there is little to nothing to do here. Obviously, that has nothing to do with the hotel. If I needed to be in that area I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front of the hotel to avoid hearing the train that frequents the tracks behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn Huntingdon, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. I appreciate you mentioning our friendly staff because I feel that they are second to none in great guest service. I do feel a little disappointed that we did not provide you with more information about things to do in Huntingdon County. I feel that there is a wealth of exciting things to do here that you would not be able to complete in several days. If you are in this area again please ask for suggestions for things to do and we will gladly assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

For those traveling on US-22 between Altoona and Harrisburg, PA and looking for a hotel - this is a good choice. Huntingdon is about an hour east of Altoona, and about an hour and a half from Harrisburg. Finding the hotel without a GPS or a good map can be tricky, but if you can locate Sheets (popular "red colored" chain of gas / convenience stores), the Comfort Inn is up the block, within walking distance The hotel is very nice well kept inside & out. Check-in was quick and easy. Luggage carts and an elevator make transporting luggage easy. The rooms are spacious and clean, everything in the room worked as designed. A nice breakfast is offered which includes several hot items, as well as traditional choices. A big asset to this hotel its convenience to the Amtrak station. For visitors to the area who do not want to drive here, you can take an Amtrak train to Huntingdon, a short walk across the bridge to the hotel will not only land you a room, but Enterprise Rental Car has a location in the lobby of the hotel. This is the only hotel in several hundred miles that a train/hotel/rental car combo can be accessed within walking distance. I am looking forward to staying here again, next time I'll arrive by train!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn Huntingdon, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our hotel and of the area. I am pleased that you mentioned Amtrak and Enterprise. We are happy to be located within easy walking distance of most of Huntingdon and also glad to have other forms of transportation so conveniently located. We look forward to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pa
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We own a cabin in nearby Hesston but Memorial Day it’s too crowded with family members to stay there. In the past we’ve always stayed at a hotel in town. It was nice but this time we chose to stay at the Comfort Inn and from now on we plan to use this hotel! Being we decided last minute to go just a week before the holiday we were surprised they were able to accommodate us. Then a few days later when we requested an additional room to be adjoining ours the staff was extremely helpful! Our check in went smoothly. The rooms were clean, spacious, and up to date. The amount of space was more than I expected. We’ve stayed at many other choice hotels and the rooms were never this large. Each room had a Keurig which my husband loved, as well as a microwave and refrigerator. Previous to our stay I researched on trip advisor and read complaints about the trains. We were on the side facing the parking lot with a view of the mountains. It was scenic and the only time we heard trains is if we were awake and the TV and ac were turned off. Even then it wasn’t that noticeable. Each morning the breakfast was great. There was a large selection of hot or cold items. Eggs, sausage, muffins, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, cereal, freshly made waffles, and so on. It was the best hotel breakfast we’ve seen yet. The indoor pool was clean and warm; we were able to spend an afternoon there. Over all our stay was fantastic and we plan to stay again in the future.

Room Tip: If noise or every little sound bothers you as a sleeper then request a room that is on the parking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn Huntingdon, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! I am so happy that you mentioned how clean our hotel was when you visited. Our Executive Housekeeper Amy and her staff take a great amount of pride in providing the cleanest experience for all of our guests all of the time, We also hear from our guests often about how they like the scenic view from our hotel while also being within walking distance of most places in Huntingdon. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Looking online the pictures of the hotel don't do it justice, they need to upgrade the room pics, it showed an older style TV when we really had a flat screen, there was also a chair and ottoman in the room that didn't show in the pic or description. The coffee maker was one of those with individual 'cups' with a selection of regular, decaf and tea. A free hot breakfast was served and a limited selection of items but good enough. There is a small indoor pool and 2 machine workout room, which I didn't use. I actually had enough points that the room was free for the night. It was a perfect location for out trip to Raystown Lake, the hotel sits at the North end of the lake and was easy to access. There is a nice park across the street with a walking trail along the river.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel faces a field with the river blocked by trees, we stayed on the 2nd floor facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn Huntingdon, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We have done many upgrades to our hotel since those pictures were taken. I am also proud to say that we will be doing extensive upgrades to the whole hotel within the next 14 months. Your words were kind and I am very happy that you had a great stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Four years ago, visiting a grandson who was a freshman at nearby Juniata College, we stayed for the first time at the Comfort Inn in Huntingdon. We thought it a fine place to spend several days and now, arriving once again for graduation, we had the opportunity to revisit the Inn and our evaluation of it so long ago. Back then, we gave the hotel/motel a 4 star-plus rating and, though several of our quibbles then -- excessive smoke-filled hallways, for example -- have been eliminated, it still earns that today.

When we first rated the Comfort Inn, we praised the “extremely friendly front-desk personnel, pleasant food servers each morning, and even courteous room attendants.” All those attributes remain. The same thing was true of our room. Then we wrote: “Our king-bedded room if not huge, was comfortable, immaculately clean, and well-laid out. There were many pillows on the bed , something we always hope to find but usually do not. The bathroom, often poorly thought out and tiny in so many hotels, was just the opposite in the Comfort Inn. Very welcome there was an excellently large counter and oversized mirror. Each room had very quick and seamless wireless connectivity and the television is hooked up to a wide-ranging cable system that offers any number of choices.” That, too, is so today. Unfortunately the breakfast room of the motel which was quite small then, offering very limited choices of breakfast foods, especially for a hot meal , has also not changed and that is undeniably a major “negative.” When the inn is filled, as it was for graduation weekend at Juniata, it is impossible at times to even find a seat at breakfast. Management might have alieviated this crowding had it used common sense and opened a large adjoining room; instead it rented it to another group for a presentation later in the day. Strange. Hopefully that is something that will never be repeated in future years.
.
Without a doubt, the most frustrating fact about the Comfort Inn--and many others have stressed this again and again as we did four years ago--is the fact that the motel backs up, figuratively, to the railroad tracks which pass through Huntingdon. We knew this was so before we booked our room but we had no idea how many, many trains pass through the town every day. Then we wrote: “Freight trains, often traveling at 50 miles an hour, if not more, roar through, honking their horns endlessly, four, five or more times an hour all day and night long. We had no idea that there were that many trains in the US any more! As it happened, we were so tired each evening that by the time we returned to our room, we were able to sleep undisturbed but we have no doubt that even though the Inn sits a good city block away from the tracks on the far side of the Juniata River, there will inevitably be many who find the noise unbelievably irritating.” That has not changed and may, indeed, have gotten worse.


The Comfort Inn’s rates are reasonable and its physical location is central to everything of importance in the community. No-one will be disappointed if they decide to stay there. It is a quality establishment and, indeed, it has repeatedly won that chain’s Gold Award for many years as a symbol of its quality. Even with a mediocre and crowded breakfast, we’re glad we returned and though it is hard to know how many times in the future we might return, we would never hesitate to stay there again and again (though we might bring along ear plugs if we do come).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt_Stull_GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn Huntingdon, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your very thorough review of our property. First and most importantly, thank you for being a return guest. We are very proud of our staff, and feel that they are some of the friendliest people that you will find in any hotel. The trains are a conversation starter at our hotel for sure if you are staying on the backside of the hotel. We get people that will only stay in the back where they can see the trains. We also have people that are very lite sleepers that prefer the quieter frontside of the building. Fortunately we are usually able to provide the room type that best satisfies most of our guests. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Huntingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Huntingdon

Address: 100 South Fourth Street, Huntingdon, PA 16652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Huntingdon 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Huntingdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Huntingdon Hotel Huntingdon
Huntingdon Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Huntingdon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.