We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious but That's It” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cocoa Flats

Save Saved
You added The Cocoa Flats to your Saves list
The Cocoa Flats
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cocoa Flats
7 West Main Street, Hummelstown, PA 17036   |  
Hotel amenities
Rockaway, NJ
1 review
“Spacious but That's It”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

We arrived early and our room was ready. OK accommodations, certainly not top shelf. The hotel is by the only traffic light in town and its a major intersection then gets busier (it seemed) as the night wore on. When harley davidson's weren't waking us up, the train (which runs every 30 minutes throughout the night) woke us.

Housekeeping is only so-so, they promised to run the dishwasher but didn't, there was no dish detergent either.

Altogether a nice setup, but it needs more attention to detail.

If you are used to street noise, this place may be ok, otherwise bring ear plugs.

  • Liked — space/price
  • Disliked — noise/lack of sleep
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    2
    5
    10
See reviews for
14
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

We had to go to Hershey for a business meeting but all of the rooms in Hershey were booked up so we had to look outside of Hershey for a room. Hummelstown is a five minute drive from Hershey. I was SO GLAD that we ended up staying at Cocoa Flats. It's hard to find, on the upper levels of a travel agency and next to a drug store. You have to check in at the travel agency while they are open, so if you're arriving after 5, call them directly to have someone give you your keys. However, once inside, you will see that each hotel room isn't a room, it's an entire renovated condo apartment, with a full kitchen, big TV, two big couches, a king size comfortable bed, a second bedroom with a trundle bed, lots of storage space, incredibly clean, big fluffy towels and maid service every day and directly across from the local restaurant/bar hangout. I wish I could just move in. The streets were noisy but the windows really blocked out the noise. We were really impressed with the quality there. My husband and I kept remarking how much better it was staying there than in the hotel where the meeting was being held, and it was less expensive, too. There was so much room to spread out there. Rather than stay at a franchise hotel, stay here, I think you'd like it. There is a keyed elevator to get to your room so it's very safe.

  • Liked — Lots of room
  • Disliked — Weak internet reception
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

we went to this hotel with 2 other families. we all have 3 kids... i thought the cocoa flats were great! clean, affordable, just what i needed with 3 kids. the other family was upset that there was no restaurant in the lobby.... whatever.... anyway, i can't believe the bad reviews people are giving this place. we were all very comfortable.. i look forward to going there again this year with other families.. i hope its not going downhill....

  • Liked — room and accesibility
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

We were looking to stay at a hotel in or near Hershey that offered suites, so a web-search brought the Cocoa Flats to our attention.

The first thing to know about the place is that it isn't really a hotel: there is no lobby, no front desk staff and no housekeeping staff that we ever saw. What it is is a converted apartment house that now rents furnished apartments by the night. You check in with staff located in the travel office downstairs. Their hours are extremely limited. The suites are accessible by an elevator that is operated with a key.

The suites are fine, although somewhat spartan. There are some weird things about them though, such as the fact that they don't have telephones, which I considered to be an undisclosed safety issue. There wasn't enough toilet paper in our unit and although we stayed 2 nights, housekeeping never came, so we had to go out and buy toilet paper. There also weren't enough lamps in the rooms.

  • Liked — The suite was spacious - lots of room for the kids to run.
  • Disliked — The property was weird; no staff, no housekeeping, no phones. Kind of spooky.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your cell phone and extra toilet paper. Don't hold your breath waiting for housekeeping!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

Checked in but did not spend the night. Tried the 2 bedroom suite based on web pix. Website is misleading to say the least. This is a converted apartment building and while it may work for families with kids who want to have a "suite" and save a few bucks it is not a hotel-like experience. There is no lobby. Check in is at the travel agency downstairs. The business amenities were nowhere to be found unless they let you use the facilities at the travel agency. The rooms were pretty clean but sparse. No table lamps in the living room just an overhead fixture in the center of the room. No pictures on the walls. Street noise was considerable from motorcycles and hotrodders. There were problems with the TV which we tried to sort out on our own and were eventually succesful. The young woman at the travel agency was very polite and helpful and the owner, when apprised of our decision not to spend the night "only charged" us for half the nightly rate. Bottom line is we tried to make it work for a few hours but decided to give it up and go home to Baltimore. This could work for some but not us.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

We (myself, wife, and 3 kids ages 15, 10 & 6) spent one night here last weekend. The hotel is convenient to Hershey Park and the Hershey Medical Center in a cute little town. The hotel is not easy to find, but that is somewhat the charm. This is not a typical hotel. Don't be looking for the concierge, room service or turn down service. They provide spacious, reasonably clean accomodations in a renovated office building. No restaurant, but with a fairly good pizza shop across the street, and a diner type restaurant on the other corner we didn't have any issues with meals for our family. We're not looking for 4 star restaurants when traveling as a family anyway. Almost more like a short term appt rental rather than a hotel is how I looked at it. Definately could use more dishes in the kitchen, anyone actually trying to cook and serve a meal would have a rough time of it. All in all, a good choice for our family, better than springing for 2 rooms at the Holiday Inn Express, cheaper too.

  • Liked — spacious
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trafford, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2006

NOT what was on the Cocoa Flats web site.When we arrived at the hotel the desk clerk was confused and unable to answer our questions.They seem to have only teenagers (nothing against teens)running the place.
The rooms were not clean and some of the beds had no pillows.Don't expect to have any of the amenities that you find at a real hotel.No ice ,no let me call the front desk !The laundry room looks like and old storage room complete with old junk,Not worth the money spent.If they want to be a hotel they need to go the extra mile and do the hotel things.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cocoa Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cocoa Flats

Address: 7 West Main Street, Hummelstown, PA 17036
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hummelstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Hummelstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite property 2 miles to Hershey attractions, Giant Center, Chocolate World. Choose between 1 or 2-bedroom units with family rooms and full kitchens. Corporate and long-term rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Cocoa Flats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cocoa Flats Hotel Hummelstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cocoa Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.