We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sports bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arooga's Hershey

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Arooga's Hershey
637 E. Main Street, Hummelstown, PA 17036
+1 717-635-9464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 42 Restaurants in Hummelstown
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: There’s never been a place quite like Arooga’s before. How do we know? Spies. That, and because we’re not just some average, run-of-the-mill, sports bar. Nope. We’re a slightly above average grille house and sports bar. That’s right. Our housemade food is prepared by chefs instead of factory workers — it’s better. The housemade bread, wings sauces, salad dressings, the housemade soups. All better. The beer is colder. The TVs, TV-er. You can see every game from every seat. And we mean every game, because we have every sports package available all 365 days of the year on 100's of flat screen tv's between all of our locations. We've got free wi-fi, Golden Tee, Buzztime trivia, and NTN Texas Hold 'em. We've got over 80 menu items under $8.99. And several other items priced over $8.99 for the rich folks. So if you're looking for great food prepared and served by above-average people that prepare and serve great food, you'll find it at Arooga's. If you're looking for fun, you'll find that, too. If you're looking for your boyfriend and/or girlfriend, we haven't seen him and/or her. So there you go, the proof's in the pudding here at Arooga's.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice sports bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

They have a few TV's here for watching sports - by a few I mean over 100. Great menu with something for everyone. Clean place, decent prices. Would definitely go back.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Management issue”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My sister and I spent a few hours at this venue, enjoying the world cup game on 7/5/14. It is important to note that we are not out-of-towners, nor "young"...we are both in our 60"s. The bartender (john) was outstanding! Recommended some beers and was friendly! Exactly what one wants when sitting at a bar! We ordered wings (which were excellent) and mussels. As we worked through the mussels, there were about 5 (out of the 20) that were unopened. We requested that they be redone (just those). The manager came out and informed us that only 5 were not open, so they would credit us $2.00 for those that weren't edible. She went on to say that most of the mussels were edible! Maybe I am old fashioned, but it seems to me when in a restaurant ALL of your food should be edible, not 80% of it!!! Her attitude was so cavalier that I am still shocked.
No matter how good a venue is, with management like that, which treats its customers like they are doing me a favor, will not have my business again! It was my first time there, and will be the last! I can go to our local places (the Boro, Gas Station, Warwick) and have better wings and be treated as a paying customer...with respect.
Shame on you Jessica...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLTSVILLE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sports heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We found this place by just driving around looking for some place to eat lunch on a Sunday. Most of your small places are closed. It was a great place with good burgers. They have TONS of TV's playing every kind of sport. The burgers were really good, but there is sooooo much more on the menu that sound tasty. Excellent wings and they sell their sauce in the lobby as well. To my husband that's always a good sign. We didn't wait long for our order like I have read from the other reviews. However, we were there very early and the place was kinda empty when we got there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“After concert visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stopped in after seeing a concert in Hershey. We waited at least 10 minutes for service and then were informed the kitchen was closed. There was a DJ and it was a fun atmosphere with dancing and karaoke. We only stayed for 2 drinks since the service was SO SLOW.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“40 wings, 60 minutes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our party of six got seated right away at 5:04 and didn't receive our wings until after 6:00. The order wasn't complicated--40 wings and a salad. Not exactly rocket science.

Your customers have been complaining about the service in this place ever since it opened. Here's a novel idea: Fix the problem!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arooga's Hershey also viewed

Hummelstown, PA
 

Been to Arooga's Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arooga's Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.