We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cassel Vineyards of Hershey

Cassel Vineyards of Hershey
80 Shetland Drive, Hummelstown, PA 17036
(717) 533-2008
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1903 this land has been cultivated by the Cassel Family. Brothers, Craig and Chris are the fifth generation to harvest the bounty of this fertile land. As stewards of the land we take pride in growing the highest quality grapes and hand crafting them into unique local wines.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Local Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great wine by a great family, in a great place to visit. It is on your way to or from Hershey PA via route 39. The selection of wines in central PA have been growing over the past 10 years. Cassel's selection is very worth tasting!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“So happy we didn't miss this winery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We participated in the Hershey/Harrisburg Cornucopia of Wine event and thought we were going to miss visiting Cassel as they are only opened on Saturday. Fortunately we were able to just make it before closing and thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with the owners, wine tasting and overall experience. Everyone could not have been nicer but more importantly the wine was really good (I found through many tastings that I didn't like a lot of Pennsylvania's wine but really liked Cassel). We bought several bottles and will probably visit again to buy more (we live about 10 miles outside Phila.). We even bought some stemless wineglasses to remind us of our tour. Definitely stop by Cassel if ever in the Hershey area. Thanks Cassel.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good wine, very nice owners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This winery is a family affair. Although the vines are only a few years old, the property has been in the family for years. Sit outside and enjoy a glass of red or white while being greeted by horses. We prefer the reds but as with any vineyard, every one has their favorite. If you are in the area, I definitely recommend. The only downside is there are no tables inside. There is a tasting bar but if it starts raining outside there is no place to sit to enjoy your wine inside. If you stand at the bar you block future customers from tasting. The owners are very friendly and willing to answer any questions.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was excited to see a winery in the area, but when I walked into the small taste testing room with no chairs and no decor. It gave me the feeling of being uninviting and not really promoting their wines. I received no real background interactions from the staff about their wines when tasting. The only nice thing they did do was offer my daughter a small glass of grape juice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice stop during a Hershey trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The vineyard offers samples of five wines for $3, and there were tables out back where other guests were enjoying a bottle. It was a nice detour away from everything chocolate.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassel Vineyards of Hershey also viewed

 

Been to Cassel Vineyards of Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassel Vineyards of Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.