We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place for a family camping trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hersheypark Camping Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hummelstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hersheypark Camping Resort
Save Saved
You added Hersheypark Camping Resort to your Saves list
Sweet Street (formerly 1200 Matlack Road), Hummelstown, PA 17036 (Formerly Hershey Highmeadow Campground)   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a great place for a family camping trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Rented the RV, loaded the gang up, and made several stops on our one week RV journey. This was the last place we stayed, and it was great! Perfect for all the kids, lots of fun activities, EXCELLENT early access to HersheyPark, and a really good deal overall. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    74
    25
    17
    20
See reviews for
121
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My family and I are new to camping however, my first experience with this campground was staying in a Cabin. The cabins are basic cabins that are clean and conveniently have a refridgerator/microwave, air conditioning and a TV but you must bring your own bedding/pillows. It is NOT a hotel. There are no bathrooms in the cabins and you will be using the bath houses. What's great about styaing at this campground is the opportunity to not only get into the Hershey Park earlier, I think around 8:30AM but you also get to go into the park the night before your full day admission ticket ie, buy a ticket for all day Saturday and you can get early access starting at 6:30PM on Friday night. The campground also provides a free shuttle service that conveniently runs every 15-30minutes to and from Hershey Park to the campground. By the way the shuttle is aircondiitoned and the drivers are very helpful and friendly for those of you with strollers.
Last week we stayed at a campsite with electric and water hookup. We had a really great time. I think the spaces are pretty spacious and the bath houses are exceptionally clean. The campground staff does an excellent job of collecting garbage bags put out at your campsite. The pool is nice to cool off and is your standard "hotel" pool. The store offers items that you might have forgotten. I do want to mention that there is a railroad that runs parallet to the campground and the trains do run frequently. The trains are loud and have been known to run in the middle of the night. This is the only negative of this campground and honestly it isn't that bad. You almost get used to it. I would not let this deter you from staying at this campground because for the value of the site it's a great deal. Also, for those of you who like craft beer I really recommend checking out the Troeggs brewery that is about 5miles down the road past hershey park. Check out TripAdvisor for reviews on that, you won't be disappointed and you can bring your little ones to the snack room/bar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

First of all this campground was a piece of crap I was forced to walk my bike. He thought it was dangerous but he was riding with a dog in his golf cart on his lap. This stop is no fun at all I should know because I'm a kid. There is nothing to do at this campground not even mini golf. There was a river going through the whole campground for about 5 days since it rained. The store was not organized. To sum it all up this was a terrible stop never come here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

The campground is very convenient to the park. Shadeyrest bathrooms were very clean. Pool was nice, camp store was well stocked. Sites are close together though. It is noisy though, with trains running around the clock and continuous pounding at the nearby quarry.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

First off would bnot have gone here but to go to Hershey Park. The campground is nice, the store and pools were great. The sites are close together and the map is definately not to scale and the staff does not know this. Transportation was great getting to and from the park. Train for us was in the distance and did not bother us at all, had to listen for it and it was enjoyable to hear when we could hear it. No other noise to speak of from our site in the Woodlands. The sites are tight but you are not at the site but to eat and sleep for the most part.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you are looking for a place to be close to Hershey Park okay but this campground has sites that are extremely close to one another. Like a parking lot. You have no room to sit outside. Slideouts may hit branches. There are other campgrounds in the area that you should check out, even though you may have to drive a few extra miles, you will not be inconvenienced with the noise of the train, having alot of neighbors on top of you and noise from the roadway. Not a quiet place at all. Sad that they have so much empty land they could have made this a very nice campground. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Yes there is a train yes there is a quarry. If you can't sleep through the noise or refuse to wear ear plus donnot go here. I think this place is great for campers with trailers and air conditioners that block out the frieght train and quarry noise ALL night long. lol
Aside from that this place is AWESOME. We are looking forward to next year. The showers are immaculate and new. There is a creek the kids played in for hours catching crayfish. We had site 72. Not a lot of shade. Ask for 82. Its a great shade site and is close to showers and playground.
We walked to store every morn for coffee. Just like a lot of ppl. A real country feel.
There are two large pools and one kiddie pool. Enuf for any crowd. The shuttle runs continuously. If u don't get on the next one is only 5 mins away.
Aside from the dog barking in the morning from a close by camper our experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hersheypark Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hersheypark Camping Resort

Address: Sweet Street (formerly 1200 Matlack Road), Hummelstown, PA 17036 (Formerly Hershey Highmeadow Campground)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hummelstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Hummelstown
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An official resort of Hersheypark. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hershey Highmeadow Campground Hotel Hummelstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hersheypark Camping Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.