We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hersheypark Camping Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hummelstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hersheypark Camping Resort
Sweet Street (formerly 1200 Matlack Road), Hummelstown, PA 17036 (Formerly Hershey Highmeadow Campground)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

The campground is very convenient to the park. Shadeyrest bathrooms were very clean. Pool was nice, camp store was well stocked. Sites are close together though. It is noisy though, with trains running around the clock and continuous pounding at the nearby quarry.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    69
    24
    16
    17
See reviews for
107
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

First off would bnot have gone here but to go to Hershey Park. The campground is nice, the store and pools were great. The sites are close together and the map is definately not to scale and the staff does not know this. Transportation was great getting to and from the park. Train for us was in the distance and did not bother us at all, had to listen for it and it was enjoyable to hear when we could hear it. No other noise to speak of from our site in the Woodlands. The sites are tight but you are not at the site but to eat and sleep for the most part.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you are looking for a place to be close to Hershey Park okay but this campground has sites that are extremely close to one another. Like a parking lot. You have no room to sit outside. Slideouts may hit branches. There are other campgrounds in the area that you should check out, even though you may have to drive a few extra miles, you will not be inconvenienced with the noise of the train, having alot of neighbors on top of you and noise from the roadway. Not a quiet place at all. Sad that they have so much empty land they could have made this a very nice campground. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Yes there is a train yes there is a quarry. If you can't sleep through the noise or refuse to wear ear plus donnot go here. I think this place is great for campers with trailers and air conditioners that block out the frieght train and quarry noise ALL night long. lol
Aside from that this place is AWESOME. We are looking forward to next year. The showers are immaculate and new. There is a creek the kids played in for hours catching crayfish. We had site 72. Not a lot of shade. Ask for 82. Its a great shade site and is close to showers and playground.
We walked to store every morn for coffee. Just like a lot of ppl. A real country feel.
There are two large pools and one kiddie pool. Enuf for any crowd. The shuttle runs continuously. If u don't get on the next one is only 5 mins away.
Aside from the dog barking in the morning from a close by camper our experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was our first time staying at Hershey Highmeadow and I was pleased with the experience. The campground had been almost completely remodeled due to the flood they endured in 2011. The office, camp store laundry and bath houses were really nice. The pool area was also very nicely kept. Every staff member we spoke to was very polite and offered to help in anyway to make our stay enjoyable.
We stayed in the wooded pull thru section (Woodland) and even though it was a little tight, it was manageable. Especially with good neighbors, which we were fortunate to have. The section remained nearly full the entire week we were there but there were campers coming and going almost everyday. Our site was shaded and level with room to park your tow vehicle.
The shuttle bus to and from Hershey Park was a great addition. The buses ran about every 30 minutes, sometime 2 at a time depending on the crowds. By staying in the campground we were able to enter the park 1 hour before everyone else and that was nice. Especially with the new roller coaster SkyRush being open. Only a small section of the park was open that early but that was okay. We were only interested in SkyRush which as soon as you climbed the stairs to the platform, you were getting on the coaster.
During our stay there must have been almost 200 folks staying in tents. I felt sorry for them because there were a few days the temps were in the mid to upper 90's. Even though the campground was nearly full, we never had to wait for a shower.
We were here the 3rd week of June and we stayed in a 5th wheel.
Nice place and we would stay here again. If you stay in the pull through section you hardly notice the train.

Room Tip: When you make reservation and your using an RV ask for a spot in the pull thru section (Woodland S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Really nice campground. The staff is really nice & helpful. The pool is nice with lots of seats. The bathrooms & showers were always kept really clean & are really nice. The train that travels code to the campground wasn't a big deal for us & we really didn't notice it much after the first couple times it went by

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skowhegan maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

stayed in a popup with 6 people for 6 nights ..trains run constantly but didnt keep us up ... I didnt hear the quarry machines ..or if i did i didnt realize what it was.. the campsites were clean and quiet.. LOVED the shuttle .. very convient.. I didnt have to stay all day ..could just come back and chill by the pool since i dont do roller coasters...My only complaint is that we were a long ways from the bathroom ... would stay again if in the area..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hersheypark Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hersheypark Camping Resort

Address: Sweet Street (formerly 1200 Matlack Road), Hummelstown, PA 17036 (Formerly Hershey Highmeadow Campground)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hummelstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Hummelstown
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An official resort of Hersheypark. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hershey Highmeadow Campground Hotel Hummelstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hersheypark Camping Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hersheypark Camping Resort to your Saves list