We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For locals only or passerbys” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tivoli Tavern
9522 Route 220 Hwy, Hughesville, PA 17737-8933
570-584-4531
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Hughesville
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“For locals only or passerbys”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Not worth the drive for a good meal. Busy with locals most tables reserved and service is slow. Beware of extra charges ! .50$ for mayo on a burger !! Unheard of!!
Other meal was ok but not impressive. Not many fried either for $2

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great little place, friendly service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I recently discovered this place, and have been back a few times. It's a small, friendly place, the service is always very easy-going and makes you feel welcome.
All the food we have tried has been delicious and freshly made. The taco pizza is fantastic, and much better priced than a typical pizza place. The crab dip was also excellent, and a much more generous portion than any other place we've ever ordered it.
They have a wide selection of beers, and the menu has plenty of variety. This is now one of our favorite local places.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“First visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to this tavern. After listening to some friends go on and on about the place we finally went there. It is very small inside. The food was not very impressive and the service was below average. I was expecting to much maybe, from their food???
There was maybe 30 people in there which is about all it can hold! lol. They had two ladies working and they were not very attentive. The value was good for the area. So I would say the place is average but won't be going out of my way to go back there.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Classic place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Get their french fries - homemade and delicious. If you like eating at far-out-there, small town watering holes, this is the place to go.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Great Food at a Great Price.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The Tivoli Tavern has great food. They have a Bar-B-Q chicken pizza which is to die-for. Their mussels are to die-for. Their wings are to die-for. Especially the garlic-hot wings.

Their fried liver meal is excellent. They have a crab dip appetizer which is very good.

They have a tavern steak which is wonderful.

They are under new ownership and the new owner is a chef with many years of experience.

Give them a try. You will be glad you did. We highly recommend the Tivoli Tavern.

PS - they are located in Tivoli which is about 5 miles up Route 220 from Hughesville.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tivoli Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Tivoli Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.