We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Porch Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sun Porch Buffet
1141 National Pike, Hopwood, PA 15445
(724) 439-5734
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Hopwood
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Indiana, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The salad bar was fresh and delicious. I had mushroom soup that could not be beat. The pumpkin pie was one of the best I have ever had. The atmosphere was wonderful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great homeade breads and soups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Skip the tired salad bar and the heavy main dishes. This place has a variety of basic, homestyle soups and lovely home made breads. The pies on the dessert tray were also very good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“For a town that really has no good places to eat the Sun Porch is the best place in Fayette County.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Living in Philadelphia you have to prepare yourself for a lack of great eating places when going out to Uniontown. Even the Nemacolin resort to me is just average from a food perspective. But I happen to be told that the Sun Porch was the place to go. So I stopped in and can tell you this is the best food in Uniontown area. The Titlow, Capperelis nor Nemacolin cannot compete with the Sun Porch in food quality and service. Some of the darn potato salad I ever had you have to try it. I find the food to very moist and as well the service staff is always make sure that the food up to a very high standard. The staff are always professional and seem to be very happy. Happy Staff make great food it seems to be story the will continue for a long time. Great Job Sun Porch I love you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My family has been eating at the Sun Porch occasionally for 23 years. (My son had his first carrot to gnaw on here!) We hadn't visited for a while, but decided to go again the other day. Why did we wait so long?! The place was exactly the same, in a very good way. The food is still delicious and varied. The owners still visit your table and all the servers are attentive. The price of the buffet is exceptional for the value. There is a huge salad bar and they were carving beef roast and ham. My favorite item is the corn fritters covered with maple syrup. We decided not to wait so long between visits again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Satisfying meal at a bargain price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I were passing through Hopewood heading elsewhere for dinner, when the Sun Porch sign caught our attention and we decided to give it a try. Very glad we did! A huge selection on the buffet -- we couldn't try everything. I'm not a meat eater so I can't tell you about most of the entrees, but the baked fish was quite good. The salad and dessert bars were outstanding. Friendly and attentive service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Porch Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Sun Porch Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Porch Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.