We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best down home vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schrute Farms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Schrute Farms to your Saves list
Schrute Farms
Main Street, Honesdale, PA 12345   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best down home vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Me, the wife and our two boys went to Schrute Farms for an early summer vacation. The folks at Schrute Farms couldn't be any nicer and were so helpful. The boys, aged 6 + 8 were bored with the whole beet thing, so Molly Schrute took them on a woodland walk with a few of the other children. She gave them each a little box camera and let them take pictures of anything they wanted. The boys haven't stopped talking about the fun they had with Molly. She's been dubbed their new Aunt Molly.
As for me and the wife, we had some special times there ourselves.We learned all about making beet beer, beet soap and beet bubble bath! Beets! Whodathunkit?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Relative at Schrute Farms, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Tony,
Thanks for the kind words. Molly really enjoyed spending time with your boys and the other children. She likes helping the little ones find their interests in the outdoors and a camera is a good way to start. I think you've got some junior photographers there.
Alfred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    236
    76
    86
    87
See reviews for
108
432
169
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, ID
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Can't wait to return to Schrute Farms! I long for the gentle beet-scented breezes and the feeling of luxurious gardening soil beneath my feet in their well-appointed rooms. If you are an agrotourism aficionado like myself, you'll be hard-pressed to find a better spot to stay anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a few different rooms to really appreciate the magic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a cozy overnight stay at Schrute Farms, despite the 90 degree heat this past weekend and the lack of air conditioning in the historic inn. We were feeling a bit disheveled when we arrived, but a staff member, Mos, hand-pumped a cool bath for us in an antique sheep feeder. We enjoyed a lovely dinner of roasted lamb with scallions and sun-dried beets. After dinner the owner, Mr. Schrute, took us for a ride in his air-conditioned classic Firebird, accompanied by the sweet strains of the classic hair metal bands Motley Crue. We stayed in the America-themed room, and the cool breeze from the open window lulled us to sleep. Although we were awakened a bit early for our liking by strange metallic thuds coming from the direction of the barn, the continental breakfast was fresh and filling. The beet juice and assortment of Amish jams were nice touches.

Room Tip: The America suite is a nice choice for a patriotic weekend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My boyfriend said he had a surprise vacation weekend for me. I never would have guessed it would be at a beet farm. A BEET FARM? Are you serious? It was dirty, smelly, no room service. And do you know how hard it is to get beet juice out of white linen slacks?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

It has a lot of great features, I especially like Bear trivia night.

very cozy, polite staff. If you need a local tour, Mos is likely your best choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the night howling
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My family went to Schrute for a long weekend and we all had a blast! it was me, mom, dad, sis Cindy and brother Dave. (I'm Eli.) Mom was talking to one of the ladies at our church abuot something cheap and fun to do on a long weekend and she said this was would be fun for us. She was right. Dad lost his job last year so we can't be staying anyplace fancy. We packed up our trailer on dad's truck and headed down Pencilvaner last week. Dad packed my sitdown lawnmower and I helped them do someyard work, too. Everyone wanted to rty my bike. You got to go there! This place was FUN! lok at my pictures. Oh it was a long drive.

Room Tip: We used our trailer and didn't get to sleep inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My wife surprised me with the best 40th birthday ever! She booked us a stay at the world famous Schrute Farms!
Initially, I thought she had panned a little getaway to the Potter County Grand Canyon, and she surprised me with this trip.

We were having dinner at the Wellsboro Diner in downtown Wellboro, Pa, and she said she wanted to make a little detour.

She wouldn't tell me what it was, only that it would make my special day all the more special. And she was right. When we

arrived at Schrute Farms, we went to check it, and they presented me with the most spectacular borthday cake ever! EVER!

It was a double case of Pabst Blue Ribbon with 40 survival candles on the top! HOW SPECIAL IS THAT, HUH? Ya gotta love

my wife and the folks at Schrute Farms.
A niced added bonus was they let me drive the tractor to till the harvested beet fields way up in back. One word:

AWESOME!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schrute Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schrute Farms

Address: Main Street, Honesdale, PA 12345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Honesdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are using that made from Sakurajima VOLCANO'S LAVA STONE. All lunch plate for $ 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Schrute Farms, T4B, Schrute Farms and Schrute Farms so you can book your Schrute Farms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schrute Farms Hotel Honesdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schrute Farms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.