We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 1202

Bistro 1202
1202 Main Street, Honesdale, PA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 55 Restaurants in Honesdale
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Downingtown, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We enjoyed our meal at Bistro 1202. Service was okay, not great. We particularly enjoyed the Chicken Napoleon, a dish that featured chicken, spinach, garlic mashed potatoes with a basil cream sauce. My husband had the Tuna, (sushi grade) which was very good as well. Good sized servings,, and pleasant atmosphere. Excellent bread, too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable price, nice beer options, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for a quick bite and beer. First visit so didn't know what to expect. Ate at bar.

Nice variety of tasty food from fancy to basics. All were very good.

Would recommend if you are passing through or are local.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarksville, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Try the filet mignon, french onion soup, and salmon.Filet was cooked perfectly, potatoes w/horseradish good, the spinach was tasteless and needed seasoning. Wine list not great...has a chardonnay, shiraz, & pinot noir (Hob Nob and Yellow Tail). Great atmosphere. Located in historic hotel. Service good. Reservations preferred but probably would have had a table without one.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quaint resturant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Historic looking place. Food was very good! There is a up scale resturant connected to a causal dinning section which has a nice bar with a good beer selection. We had chicken sandwich with pesto, sliders, and wings, all was well prepared. Service was good and friendly. Only down side is a mildew odor, maybe due due to a rainy day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Wayne in Honesdale for a family event and had a superb meal at the white table cloth Bistro 1202 located in the hotel lobby. What a pleasant surprise. I'm sorry I didn't get her name, but the waitress was very pleasant and efficient. You will spend some money here, but it is a value compared to my usual business travel and comparable dining back in CT and throughout the Northeast. Drinks were about $5.00, oh yes - very good. We passed on appetizers but the entree salads were large and excellent - very fresh greens, no iceberg lettuce to be found. Had the horseradish-encrusted salmon special, a little salty but well cooked and presented on a bed of spinach, potatoes and carmelized onions. Another in my party had the filet which was again cooked perfectly and well presented. One complaint - the wine list is woefully inadequate and not at all well-matched for the cuisine! Basically, a few selections of Yellowtail (!) and Coppola. Come on, Chef! Your food deserves better. Add some reasonably priced selections and varietals. Overall, a nice, relaxing meal in a wonderful setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 1202 also viewed

Honesdale, Pocono Mountains Region
Honesdale, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Honesdale, Pocono Mountains Region
Honesdale, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Bistro 1202? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro 1202, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.