We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but . . .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh West Homestead/Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh West Homestead/Waterfront to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh West Homestead/Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 W. Waterfront Drive, Homestead, PA 15120   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Homestead
Steelers Country
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I booked a jacuzzi room over a month in advance only to receive a phone call the day of our stay, saying the jacuzzi was broken and would take all day to repair. I was offered a room with two queen beds, at a supposed discount, which was an insult. I protested angrily and asked to speak to the manager, but was told one would not be in until Monday. (Really, no manager on duty all weekend?) I suspected I was being bumped by another guest and said so, which the woman denied. Not even 15 minutes later, I received another call from a different woman at the hotel (the front desk supervisor) who told me the jacuzzi had been fixed and I could have the room after all. At check-in, she offered us two free items from the market so we selected two bottles of Yeungling, which weren't very cold. One word describes the whole thing - fishy!

After all that, the room could have been nicer. Our lock was difficult to use, requiring several attempts to open each time. The room was vacuumed carelessly, there was a big red stain on the carpet, and there were toothpaste spatters on the bathroom wall. All in all, not what I'd expect from a Courtyard. The final insult - both of the regular coffee urns were empty when we attempted to get coffee, even though the man at the front desk didn't look busy at all.

I couldn't recommend this place. They don't seem to be trying very hard.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh West Homestead/Waterfront, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Melanie J,
Thank you for writing and bringing your concerns to my attention. I am very sorry for your disappointing experience and any resulting inconveniences. We value you as our guest and would certainly never want to leave you with a poor impression. Please know we have shared your comments with our team in an effort to better our hotel and overall guest experience. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will return in the future to see our improvements.

Sincerely,
Beth Neuschwander, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    63
    23
    7
    10
See reviews for
58
38
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, NJ
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We were in town, 1/25 to 1/28 for the Pitt/Duke game. I stayed here twice over the past years for special events. This hotel has a great location, surrounded by good restaurants, etc. There was some lobby work, but we never did the breakfast anyway. It was VERY cold and snowy this weekend, so having a pool and hot tub open until 11pm is a huge score.

The room was warm, clean, and the maids did not bother you. They cleaned when we left for lunch, etc. Perfect timing. Chris checked us in, and were were all set. With the AAA, its about $107 a night. Well worth a newer property with a greta location. And 4 HBO channels as well.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh West Homestead/Waterfront, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
sam280_,
We appreciate your review and return visit with us at Courtyard Waterfront. It's great to know our location, accommodations, and service consistently make for an enjoyable stay. Please continue to make us your number one choice hotel when in the area for special events. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Beth Neuschwander, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Courtyard by Marriott at the Waterfront in Pittsburgh (Homestead) is very nice. This hotel has a great location that is easy to access via I - 376 w/o having to go through downtown Pittsburgh. Most of all, there are plenty of things to do right close to the hotel such as shopping and dining so you never have to fight traffic or worry about parking. The hotel itself is very clean and nicely decorated w/ up-to-date furnishings. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The pool, hot tub, and fitness center are all very well maintained. We definitely will stay here again!

Room Tip: All of the king rooms face the away from the river (still not a bad view of the mountain across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh West Homestead/Waterfront, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
MRR385,
We appreciate your review and complimentary feedback from your stay with us at Courtyard Waterfront. We are delighted to hear of not only the comfort you experienced, but also that you were able to take advantage of the variety of offerings around our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Beth Neuschwander, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

It was my boyfriends birthday so I surprised him with an overnight stay. The hotel was nice, staff was friendly. Our room was bigger than I expected and the bathroom was also. There was lots of room in the bathroom which I liked. They are remodeling but didnt really affect us. The only was they did have a continental breakfast but not a hot breakfast I am assuming due to the renovation. So we were a little disappointed by that. The pool was small but nice and the hot tub was ok but the jets were strong. I would stay here again and would recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh West Homestead/Waterfront, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
h0ckeygirl36,
Thank you for writing a review from your Courtyard Waterfront experience. We're happy to have been a part of your boyfriend's birthday celebrations, and we're glad our friendly staff and spacious accommodations made for an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your feedback on opportunities for improving our guest experience. Please plan to visit us again soon. Thank you again for your review and recommendations of our great hotel.

Sincerely,
Beth Neuschwander, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, Usa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Disappointing the fourth time around. We have visited Pittsburgh and stayed here several times and feel the location is great---close to the city itself, great walking distance to good restaurants and close enough to visit Falling Water. However, it has seriously declined since the last visit. Let me be clear: the staff was lovely from the check in to check out, however the cutlery at breakfast was not clean (yes it had been cleaned but had 'baked on' foods) and the coffee cup my husband was given had a lipstick stain that was not in his color! We wound up going the next two mornings to another restaurant because of this. And we watched a candy wrapper outside of our neighboor's door for three nights remain in the hallway-- In general the facility was not as clean as i have come to expect from Marriott whether a JW or Courtyard property . To be fair this was Thanksgiving weekend and perhaps they were short staffed but didn't leave a good feeling. Our room was well cleaned but it is more about the common areas, When i described at check out was told a face lift was imminent so perhaps things have changed, but must say we will investigate other accommodations for the next time we are visiting Pittsburgh

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh West Homestead/Waterfront, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Happyvisitor106,
We appreciate your feedback and continued patronage. I sincerely apologize that the cleanliness of our common areas did not meet our excellence in service. I addressed your comments with our staff in order to heighten awareness of such issues and make improvements. It's great to hear that our location and friendly staff added convenience and comfort to your stay. We value your business and hope we have an opportunity to provide a more positive stay in the future. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Beth Neuschwander, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed one night at this Courtyard, that I had stayed at before and enjoyed. This visit did not shine. Upon arrival we were excited to get a spacious one bedroom with a river view. But it was late and only just noticed the dead stink bugs on the floor of the room before we went to bed. There were live ones all over the windows and you couldn't go out on the balcony. We noticed tissues stuffed in the corners of the window, but didn't think anything of it. When we woke up we found live bugs and more dead ones in our room. ick. As we checked out we mentioned it to the front desk, she said she would pass the word along and did not even offer a free breakfast. When I got home I emailed Marriott, who offered me 2,000 points for the inconvenience. If booked through points the room would be >50,000. Not pleased.

Room Tip: ask for a room without stink bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed here for one night while on business travel. This hotel met my expectations of a clean, modern property. I had a room toward the rear, so the view of the Monongahela River was a bonus. All of the staff were extremely friendly. Lots of restaurants and stores are nearby. The price was very reasonable. Including the cost for breakfast, it still was comparable in price to the Hampton next door. And, Courtyards are generally better quality hotels too.

My only suggestion for management is to encourage PennDOT to improve the entry and exit into your property. I believe it is illegal to make a left turn across a double yellow line, like the one on Waterfront Drive. Considering that most of your traffic probably is coming from or headed to the Bridge, a left to enter and exit appears mandatory. I noticed that PennDOT gave the Hampton a left turn lane, LOL.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh West Homestead/Waterfront, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
tjd181,
Thank you for writing a review from your stay with us at Courtyard Waterfront. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while on business, and we're glad our clean hotel and friendly service met your expectations. Your feedback is important to us. I assure you we will take your comments into consideration for improving our property and overall guest experience. Thank you again for choosing Courtyard Waterfront. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Beth Neuschwander, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh West Homestead/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh West Homestead/Waterfront

Address: 401 W. Waterfront Drive, Homestead, PA 15120
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Homestead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Homestead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh West Homestead/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfectly situated Pittsburgh West Homestead hotel in Pittsburgh's premiere shopping and entertainment complex, the Courtyard Pittsburgh Waterfront hotel provides guests with all of the luxuries you come to expect from a Marriott hotel. The Courtyard Pittsburgh Waterfront is comprised of thoughtfully appointed guest rooms that offer you a perfect place to work, relax, and recharge. Our guests enjoy our fresh, plush bedding, modern and flexible spaces and well lit work space with free Wi-Fi at this Pittsburgh Waterfront hotel. Begin your day in the Courtyard Cafe and enjoy a full selection on the hot buffet breakfast or menu choices. Relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool or enjoy a cocktail on our outdoor patio with a dramatic view of one of the famous "Three Rivers". Convenient among Pittsburgh Waterfront hotels, we are close to many area businesses and attractions including Kennywood and Sandcastle Water Park. We invite you to experience the Courtyard Pittsburgh West Homestead when in Pittsburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh West Homestead/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Pittsburgh West Homestead/Waterfront Hotel Homestead
Courtyard Pittsburgh West Homestead
Courtyard Homestead
Homestead Courtyard
Homestead Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh West Homestead/Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.