We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big drop in quality and service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bravo Cucina Italiana

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bravo Cucina Italiana
250 W Bridge St, Homestead, PA 15120-5016
412-461-1444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Homestead
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Big drop in quality and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We have gone to this restaurant in the past. We had enjoyed the food and ambiance in the past, as an enjoyable outing for the family. However, we have been finding a distinct drop in quality over our recent visits with our visit today as the worst. In particular, we experienced the following during our dinner at Bravo (at the Homestead in Pittsburgh) tonight:
Service was very slow overall despite the place not being especially busy with no wait for seating; complimentary bread took 20 minutes to arrive, and then the food arrived 60 seconds later; the waiter forgot to bring side dishes; we requested extra marinara sauce for the eggplant parmigiana, they brought about a thimbfull's worth; They charged $3 for about three medium sliced, sautéed mushrooms; coffee was served lukewarm and had to be replaced. So, all-in-all, it was a disappointing dinner for the family. Time to find a new restaurant for family outings....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food but could use some cosmetic upgrades”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited Bravo on Memorial Day. Staff was plentiful and prepared for a larger crowd, which never really materialized. The food was typical Bravo; salads seemed as though they were prepared in the morning and kept cold for the day until needed. Not my favorite thing. The menu is varied, and I particularly like that a diner can order a half portion. Dipping sauce is excellent.
About the physical plant. This restaurant is in desperate need of some major TLC. The carpeting is horribly stained and worn. The walls are marred and scuffed all around the booth areas. Not pretty. The tables need to be cleaned more carefully between diners. I know that the separate tables have paper cloths, but we were seated in a booth right in front of the kitchen. Yuck. I don't like watching food being prepared, or in this case, watching the servers nibbling on food while waiting for orders to be filled. It was also quite noisy there. In general, the establishment looked like it could use a thorough cleaning. The restrooms weren't dirty but did have an odor. I would imagine the diners sitting close by might have noticed anytime someone opened the door to the facilities. All in all, I was disappointed in this particular Bravo. I must say that we have been to other Bravo locations, and they have been very good and clean. Perhaps the manager needs to read my review.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fun with the girls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It's a fun place to go with the girls to drink some wine and talk and have a fantastic dinner.

The bread with the dipping sauce is my favorite.

The food is excellent and it is a beautiful restaurant that reminds me of being in Rome in the spring.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Italian, year after year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I am a Bravo fan from way back when they opened their first spot in Indianapolis outside the original market (At least 17 years ago). Bravo is a consistently good restaurant, and I miss having one in my immediate area. The service was excellent, and there are good options for kids as well. The petite filet was fantastic, and the desserts were great. A must if staying at the Waterfront, you can walk from either hotel. Shopping is plentiful around the restaurant if you enjoy making an afternoon of it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's a good chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Expect to wait, even if you have a reservation. Food is good, but overly salted. Bar menu is not spectacular. Food is somewhat overpriced, ambiance is very chain-like, it's loud and crowded and pretty generic.
Excellent for the uncreative or tentative dater ( or if you have a picky eater to take out). Perfectly safe choice of restaurant. But very attentive staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bravo Cucina Italiana also viewed

 

Been to Bravo Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bravo Cucina Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.