We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy Guacamole” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smoke BBQ Taqueria

Smoke BBQ Taqueria
225 E 8th Avenue, Homestead, PA 15120
(412) 205-3039
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 restaurants in Homestead
Cuisines: Southwestern
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Holy Guacamole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It's probably the best dang taco I have ever had. I KNOW it's the best taco I've had in Pittsburgh. The flavors are amazing. The brisket is perfect in every way. I lose words while thinking of how good the food is there. I have had pretty much everything on the menu and I haven't disliked anything.

The decor is a bit odd as a lot of it is reclaimed and reused. The neighborhood looks worse than it is. I don't live to far from there and it's not that bad. It's on the up swing.

As mentioned, it's a little pricey, but it's worth it. I get take out at least once a week. GO HERE!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    26
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Wish this place wasn't in a bad area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The food here is absolutely amazing but very pricey if you have an appetite. It's actually confusing how good the food is. This is by no means a conventional restaurant, and the only method of payment was cash. I had the apple chicken taco and some sort of smoked - fancy - cheese macaroni and cheese that were both great but both expensive for the amount. Quality over quantity, I guess.
It's a shame that such an interesting small restaurant is surrounded by one of Pittsburgh's shadier communities.
Worth the trip if you are in the area and can find parking.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing favours!!!! Really nice people.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were introduced to this little a few months ago and have returned several times since. The food is very creative, simple and simply DEEELicious. The owner and her staff are warm and welcoming.
It is sort of hidden in plain site on the river side of 8th Avenue so you need to be on the sidewalk to see it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Scary looking on the outside - Warm and Tasty on the Inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

OK - so the neighborhood is a bit sketchy but seems fairly safe. Smoke is a welcoming, friendly environment that allows you to overcome any qualms. The aroma hits you upon entry! Properly spiced BBQ! The funky little space is a case study in re-used building supplies. The tables and chairs do not match, but when you see the food you dont even care! The pork tacos will leave you wanting more, more, more. The mac and cheese is so AMAZING that you don't even care about the fat and calorie count. It is making my mouth water just thinking about the apricot habanero sauce!
BYOB, and if you forget - stop at wine and spirits a few doors down. For those who live on plastic only - this is CASH only.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

You definitely will not find this place in a guidebook - or on the recommendation from a hotel concierge, but it is real good. About a 15 min drive from downtown in an up and coming neighborhood. Fantastic meats dressed up as tacos. Just delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke BBQ Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Smoke BBQ Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoke BBQ Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.