We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Corbel Inn

Iron Corbel Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hollidaysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Iron Corbel Inn
Save Saved
You added Iron Corbel Inn to your Saves list
703 Allegheny Street, Hollidaysburg, PA 16648   |  
Hotel amenities
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at the Iron Corbel Inn in April 2011. Everything about it was lovely. The room was spacious. beautifully decorated and comfortable. The rest of the house was inviting and comfortable. the breakfast was delicious. And the host/owner a charming woman.
She gave us good information about the local restaurants. The town is charming and worth sightseeing.
I not only would stay here again, I would go out of my way to route my trip so I could stay here again, even if it is a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zanesville, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Our room couldn't have been better. It was artfully appointed, clean and beautiful. The house overall was filled with well-chosen antiques. On first glimpse, it was a great place. Initially, our hostess was kind and helpful and very welcoming. She gave us a great tip for a local place to eat dinner, which turned out to be a gem.

So, why, we wondered, did she ruin our breakfast the next morning by trashing many of her previous guests? Over the course of an hour--non-stop? I'm afraid that colored the whole stay for us. I can't even remember whether the homemade breakfast was good or not!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine usa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

With deep family ties to Hollidaysburg, I've stayed twice at the Iron Corbel Inn for various family get-togethers. I love the location,. Being able to walk around town is fun. The Inn itself is comfortable with nice bedding and relaxed atmosphere. Breakfasts are delicious (love the scones). I highly recommend it for business or pleasure. Will definitely stay here again the next time I am able to visit Hollidaysburg.

Room Tip: tthird floor rooms are very spacious-more like suites. Recommend if staying more than 1 night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

we just loved our stay at Iron Corbel Bed & Breakfast. Beautifully decorated with antiques & finds, the B&B was spacious, welcoming and comfortable. Wonderful sitting areas in large glass window or cozy nooks wrapped in rich fabrics and pillows - Iron Corbel had it all.The bedroom was a mix of comforting favorite furniture mixed with top quality bedding - perfect for a break from our busy life. And, an easy walk into the downtown historic district.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I was stopping in the Altoona area, and was plesantly suprised by my stay at the Iron corbel inn. It was beautifully decorated in a great quaint town. Wish I could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

If you need to stop in or around Altoona, consider staying in Hollidaysburg, which is a real time capsule. Not much seems to have changed here since 1860. It's a charming town with tons of 19th Century houses. The Iron Corbel Inn is housed in one of the grandest of these gorgeous homes. The surrounding neighborhood is lovely and great for a nice stroll. We stayed only one night at the inn and found the hotel lovely and interesting. The innkeeper is a chef, who kindly accommodated our request for an early breakfast. Everything was homemade, even the scones. It was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

This was our first experience with a B & B and we had pretty high expecations. The room was clean and comfortable, had air conditioning ana DVD player. The wi-fi is sporadic on the 3rd floor - pretty much useless. The only real disappointment was not getting breakfast - on weekdays a continental breakfast is availble at 8:00 AM, and on weekends a full breakfast is available at 9:00 AM. Since we had to depart by 7:30 AM, we were offered nothing to eat all. It seems to me that the owners should make some effort to accomodate their guests, being that the cost of the room includes breakfast. The lady of the house was up and about by 5:30 AM, drinking coffee and walking in her yard. Could a plate of muffins or some fruit been too hard to provide? If you are staying on a weekend and are in no rush to leave early, then the Iron Corble Inn might be worthwhile. On weekdays, I recommend passing for something better.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iron Corbel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Corbel Inn

Address: 703 Allegheny Street, Hollidaysburg, PA 16648
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hollidaysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hollidaysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Corbel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;