We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast
703 Allegheny Street, Hollidaysburg, PA 16648 (Formerly Iron Corbel Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Zanesville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Our room couldn't have been better. It was artfully appointed, clean and beautiful. The house overall was filled with well-chosen antiques. On first glimpse, it was a great place. Initially, our hostess was kind and helpful and very welcoming. She gave us a great tip for a local place to eat dinner, which turned out to be a gem.

So, why, we wondered, did she ruin our breakfast the next morning by trashing many of her previous guests? Over the course of an hour--non-stop? I'm afraid that colored the whole stay for us. I can't even remember whether the homemade breakfast was good or not!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Yikes! That does sound disturbing. Thankfully, the place is under new ownership and.we have very strict rules about not creeping out our guests -- all of whom remember our scrumptious and surprisingly huge full breakfast, made with mostly organic ingredients. Next time you are in Hollidaysburg, please give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maine usa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

With deep family ties to Hollidaysburg, I've stayed twice at the Iron Corbel Inn for various family get-togethers. I love the location,. Being able to walk around town is fun. The Inn itself is comfortable with nice bedding and relaxed atmosphere. Breakfasts are delicious (love the scones). I highly recommend it for business or pleasure. Will definitely stay here again the next time I am able to visit Hollidaysburg.

Room Tip: tthird floor rooms are very spacious-more like suites. Recommend if staying more than 1 night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

we just loved our stay at Iron Corbel Bed & Breakfast. Beautifully decorated with antiques & finds, the B&B was spacious, welcoming and comfortable. Wonderful sitting areas in large glass window or cozy nooks wrapped in rich fabrics and pillows - Iron Corbel had it all.The bedroom was a mix of comforting favorite furniture mixed with top quality bedding - perfect for a break from our busy life. And, an easy walk into the downtown historic district.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I was stopping in the Altoona area, and was plesantly suprised by my stay at the Iron corbel inn. It was beautifully decorated in a great quaint town. Wish I could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

If you need to stop in or around Altoona, consider staying in Hollidaysburg, which is a real time capsule. Not much seems to have changed here since 1860. It's a charming town with tons of 19th Century houses. The Iron Corbel Inn is housed in one of the grandest of these gorgeous homes. The surrounding neighborhood is lovely and great for a nice stroll. We stayed only one night at the inn and found the hotel lovely and interesting. The innkeeper is a chef, who kindly accommodated our request for an early breakfast. Everything was homemade, even the scones. It was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

This was our first experience with a B & B and we had pretty high expecations. The room was clean and comfortable, had air conditioning ana DVD player. The wi-fi is sporadic on the 3rd floor - pretty much useless. The only real disappointment was not getting breakfast - on weekdays a continental breakfast is availble at 8:00 AM, and on weekends a full breakfast is available at 9:00 AM. Since we had to depart by 7:30 AM, we were offered nothing to eat all. It seems to me that the owners should make some effort to accomodate their guests, being that the cost of the room includes breakfast. The lady of the house was up and about by 5:30 AM, drinking coffee and walking in her yard. Could a plate of muffins or some fruit been too hard to provide? If you are staying on a weekend and are in no rush to leave early, then the Iron Corble Inn might be worthwhile. On weekdays, I recommend passing for something better.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
While our only connection to the previous owner of this property is the address (we bought the place in 2012, and opened for business in 2014), we'd like to re-assure you that breakfast is now at the very heart of the guest experience here. All rooms include a full breakfast, made with mostly organic ingredients, served on the half-hour between 7:30am and 9:30am (except Sunday, when the chef starts at 8am). Even guests leaving before the official breakfast times will find fresh fruit, cereal, toast, yoghurt, coffee, tea and juices waiting for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

Iron Corbel Inn
703 Allegheny Street
Hollisdaysburg, PA 16648 (nr. Altoona)

Website: http://www.ironcorbelinn.com/
eMail: info@ironcorbelinn.com

Dates of stay: 23 to 25 May 2009

This circa 1820 to 1880 house is now a charming B&B, situated perfectly for those wishing to explore the many railroading history sites near Altoona, including the Horseshoe Curve (a National Historic landmark). We spent two nights in the second floor/front corner, en suite “Oriental Room.” It is decorated in pale greens, and furnished with ample sitting options, numerous accent lights, and a comfortable bed. The owner/proprietor has installed a modern bath, including a roomy shower (with a bright overhead light—something many major hotel chains still fail to include!). Linens are fresh and towels absorbent. As a bonus (again—PAY ATTENTION major hotel chains—) there is FREE WiFi throughout the Inn. During our stay, as other guests departed, we were able to tour each of the other rooms and the third floor (very “cool”) “black and white” suite. Each accommodation is well displayed in the photos posted at the Inn’s website.

The owner has professional culinary experience, evident in breakfast menus. Morning meals (9 AM) are served in the main dining room or in a portion of the (huge) Great Room, lush with textiles and lit by a number of windows, including a center bay bordered with stained glass panels. Coffee and tea (and a small ‘fridge) are available, more or less around the clock, in a small first floor facility open to all guests. We were told that, by advance arrangement and at additional charge, dinners are offered, also.

Only two minor caveats: All accommodations are on the second (four rooms) or third (the suite) floor, with access via stairs only. Persons with serious mobility issues might wish to consider more accessible lodgings. Television addicts will find no “tubes” in the Inn. The only (minor) suggestion we would offer is for enhanced stairwell lighting.

In the mid-19th century, Hollidaysburg was a major hub for travelers using the Pennsylvania Canal and the Allegheny Portage Railroad. Today, it is a quiet place with a sense of history, set among the scenic slopes of the Allegheny Mountains. While dining options are limited in town, we found the US Hotel Restaurant and Tavern (building circa 1905; site history dating to 1835) for a memorable Saturday dinner. The food was good, service most attentive, and they offer a respectable wine list. Prices are more than reasonable—at least for those of us accustomed to Washington, DC pricing! [http://www.theushotel.com/]

Despite a link on the Inn’s website to what appears to be a central booking site, we found it best to contact the Inn directly by phone (voicemail), with a follow-up eMail. We hope to use that information soon for a return trip and would—without hesitation—recommend the Iron Corbel Inn to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast

Address: 703 Allegheny Street, Hollidaysburg, PA 16648 (Formerly Iron Corbel Inn)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hollidaysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hollidaysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant Second Empire residence is full of nooks & crannies to explore. There are six bedrooms to choose from, each with a private full bathroom. There is a large dining room, a parlour and an even larger "great room", with 12-foot pier mirrors and a baby grand piano. The common areas, appointed with period furniture, are ideal for receptions and recitals. There is free high-speed WiFi, but there are no televisions anywhere on the property. There are also books, newspapers and periodicals. We offer the finest breakfast in the area, made with mostly organic ingredients. Breakfast includes organic eggs, turkey bacon, hot and cold cereals, yoghurt, fruit, juices, teas and very good quality, European strength coffee. This historic residence is home to an extensive collection of vintage folk instruments, most of which are available for guests to play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.