We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated rooms but friendly/helpful staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Valley Resort

Hidden Valley Resort
1 Craighead Drive, Hidden Valley, PA 15502
+1 814-443-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hidden Valley Resort, located in Hidden Valley, Pa., Provides a beautiful getaway any time of year! The Hidden Valley Golf Club presents a spectacular 18-hole championship course with tree-lined fairways nestled among native Mountain Laurel. Built along the natural fall lines of its mountaintop home, 30 miles of vistas capture the dramatic landscape of the surrounding countryside. The Trillium Spa at Hidden Valley offers an escape from the stress of everyday life with a relaxing spa menu featuring manicures, pedicures, massages and more. As a winter destination, Hidden Valley is the ideal winter destination for families. With 31 slopes and trails and two terrain parks on 110 skiable acres and a first-class snowsports school, Hidden Valley offers a comfortable environment to learn to ski or snowboard. Hidden Valley is conveniently located just off the Pennsylvania Turnpike, located within 200 miles of Pittsburgh, Washington, D.C., Baltimore, Cleveland and Columbus.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Outdated rooms but friendly/helpful staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed here for a wedding, which the grounds were beautiful for an outdoor wedding. The rooms were clean but oudated. The staff was helpful in suggesting things to do around the area and breakfast was sufficient to get the day started. If I was back in this area again I might look into renting one of the condo's that are on the grounds instead of staying at the hotel. I had the opportunity to see one of them during my stay and it was quite nice, not sure how they are priced though.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    11
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was there for a wedding and it was ideal, very beautiful, and very convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful. My room wasn't necessarily plush but it was good-sized, clean, and quiet. The breakfast was perfectly nice. There are lots of things to see and do in the area. I would feel fine about staying there again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Summer in the mountains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed in the lodge, which is actually 1960-70s condo/motel rooms. I would rate these on a par with some independent motels that don't have ratings. Layout probably works for cheap weekend groups in the winter, but during the summer, skip it and stay in a mid priced chain motel. I played a round of golf, and although the course has a few holes with views, it's not a difficult or "resort" class course.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Newton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“ski trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I use to ski here back in high school.i like seven springs more they have more advanced an challanging trails, but if you are beginner skiier i recommend here plus less crowds help out too.summer time is nice too kooser state park is near by you can camp an hike over to hidden valley an end up on one of the slopes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Read the Fine Prints, there are many!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at Hidden Valley Resort on 02/24/2013. We were charged $120 for 1 night accommodation including 2 day ski tickets for 2 persons. We made the online reservation and received a call stating they had no rooms available and our reservation is invalid. We provided the resort with a email copy of our reservation confirmation and they honored the booking. We received all benefits as advertised. However, we could hear the neighbors talking all night long, and there was repeated banging on our door several times late at night. The ski tickets were included but we had to pay an additional $20 for the ski equipment when we presented our passes. Similarly, we had to pay an additional $10 to store our skis that we rented from them since we wanted to use them again the following day.

In order to prevent a second miscommunication this weekend, I called the resort directly over the phone and made the reservation for 03/02/2013 and provided my credit card for the reservation. Upon arrival at the resort we were informed that our $150 room charge which was $30 more than previous weekend will not include 2 day ski tickets for 2 persons. We spoke to the manager and he stood by their decision to not include ski tickets for 2 persons/2 days. So, not only did we have to pay $150 instead of $120, we also had to pay extra $102 for saturday ski and equipment tickets, and had to return without skiing on Sunday as that would incur an additional $160. We were treated unfairly and have incurred an additional expense of $30 + $102 (ski tickets saturday)

To add to the problem, we saw the signs that stated that rooms were available for $120 that weekend and tickets to the CBS live radio/Stickers live performance were included. We were not offered those event tickets either, even though we paid more than the asking price for that package.

So is there a reason to return, probably ONLY the skiing, definitely not the stay. I'd much rather stay at any of the other "real luxury" resorts in the area for that price tag.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hello,
We appreciate your business and apologize if there was any confusion regarding our packages. Last year, our midweek packages inlcuded free rental equipment. However, this year to be able to continue to offer such an affordable package, we charged a minimal $10 per person for equipment rentals. As far as your weekend stay, we have never offered ski packages on Friday or Saturday nights, and the weekend rates always vary from midweek.
We make every effort to keep our rates affordable and family-friendly and hope that you will continue to check our website for future specials and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Valley Resort also viewed

 

Been to Hidden Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.