We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun, Very informative, Gave good opps for pictures.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hershey Trolley Works

Hershey Trolley Works
251 Park Boulevard, Hershey, PA 17033
717 533 3000
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 Activities in Hershey
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Fun, Very informative, Gave good opps for pictures.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Fun Fun Fun! Gives very good information, the trolley is fun, informative, and we stop and learn about milton hershey as we get the oppurtunitie to take great pictures of historic places. Definately worth it, and a whole lot of fun! Good for all ages!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    37
    10
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, Illinois
2 reviews
“Great Family Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My family loved the trolley ride. Keep in mind this is a theatrical presentation. Our guides (Mary Kate and Wilbur) as well as Gary our driver were wonderful. Listen carefully to the Sweedish chef part and try and pick out "Bert and Ernie". A wonderful break from the hustle and bustle of Chocolate World. Enjoy!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Not for adults only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were pretty disappointed with the Trolley Works. We took the excursion to hopefully learn a little more about Milton Hershey, and that's what we did, learned a VERY LITTLE more. This is definitely hokey, and geared more towards children. We would not recommend this for adults.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“You don't get to see much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have to agree with previous reviewers that the trolley ride is corny fun and yes it is informative as far as information about Milton Hershey's life and his company. We pretty much expected that.

And I even thought the young people leading the singing and doing the skits were great fun.

But what I did not expect is you really don't get to see much. You get a limited view of what the guide's are talking about while straining to look out the windows from inside the trolley. I wish we could have stopped for just a minute a couple of times, and especially at the mansion.

My wife and her mom and our daughter enjoyed it immensely. Her dad, our son and me, well not as much. That is why I give it an average rating. Kids, especially girls, and grandmas will love it. But if you want to see what they are talking about, drive around in your own car.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, IL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A silly break with some Hershey history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you're looking for a serious tour stay off the trolley! If you're looking for some silly fun, some history tossed in, and some free snacks...All Aboard!

The actors do a very nice job combining fun with historical facts on the trolley tour of Milton Hershey and Hershey PA. Toss in a few old time sing along tunes like Daisy and In the Good Old Summer Time. My history teacher would be appalled. My Family loves it. So if you only dine at linen cloth restaurants shy away! If you love cheesy shtick...hop aboard the trolley at Chocolate World, Hershey PA.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hershey Trolley Works also viewed

 

Been to Hershey Trolley Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hershey Trolley Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.