We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really was excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of What If of Hershey

What If of Hershey
845 E Chocolate Ave, Hershey, PA 17033-1214
717-533-5858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
What If of Hershey is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 75 Restaurants in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $31
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main Street Hershey
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It really was excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to dine in Hershey, and based on Trip Advisor reviews, this sounded good. We arrived at7:00 PM on 10/19/13, with no reservations in place. Despite not having a reservation the hostess kindly found us a table in just 15 minutes or so. We happily waited for her in the bar. The bar was packed, but the bartender did a good job taking care of us. Once seated, Tara, our server was prompt and friendly. She was one of the best servers that I've ever had. She helped me choose my entree, and the cheese tortellini (with Alfredo sauce) did not disappoint. My wife had the chicken cacciatore over angel hair, and loved it also. We had no room for dessert and skipped coffee as we usually do.
In the end, this is one of the best overall dining experiences I've ever had. The hostess (who's name I sadly don't have), and especially Tara,our waitress, deserve a great deal of credit for making this such a great experience.....and the great food didn't hurt either. We'll definitely be back!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    75
    24
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, PA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Did not live up to reviews on Tripadvisor.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After reading the reviews of What If, I was excited for a fine dining experience. However this is not what I found. I thought it was very average, mediocre, certainly NOT what I would consider fine dining. Having said that, I must admit the filet (rare) was truly one of the best I have ever had. However, with the filet, the sides truly disappointed. The mashed potatoes were the size of a golf ball, I believe there was a maximum of four sprigs of asparagus on the plate. Presentation was very bland. Service was average, I did not feel the servers were particularly attentive, but they were adequate. The atmosphere was noisy, I would not recommend this for a romantic evening for two.

Overall it was disappointing. This is NOT fine dining in any sense of the phrase. I would not recommend it and do not plan to return. There are definitely other venues in Hershey comparable in price and have exceeded my expectations in the past. I actually stopped at Sheetz on the way back to the hotel for a snack as I was still hungry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Homerun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was our first time here and it was wonderful. Luckily, I made reservations first because the restaurant was packed. The food was absolutely delicious from the bruschetta appetizer, to the entrees, dessert and wine. Our server, Erin, was very friendly and attentive. This is not the place for a quiet dinner, but if you want excellent food and excellent service, this is the place for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We came to town for a wedding and stayed at Hojo's hoping for a nice but not over the top hotel expense....great choice in hotel and what a wonderful surprise What if's. One of the most friendliest places to go to. We sat at the bar and Dennis gave us the best service and quick with a joke and cocktail!! Can't wait to go back one day!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Off The Hook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Best experience my wife and I have had in a long while. The food from appetizer to dessert was outstanding! The service was over the top. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed What If of Hershey also viewed

 

Been to What If of Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage What If of Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.