We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast spot; beware the wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hershey Pantry

Hershey Pantry
801 E Chocolate Ave, Hershey, PA 17033-1214
717-533-7505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 67 restaurants in Hershey
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot; beware the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've lived in the area for 11 years, and the food and atmosphere are consistently above average. While call-aheads are not allowed and the wait can be long, the food is well above average and the ambience is relaxed and inviting. Prices are not cheap, but are not exorbitant either. Breakfast options are particularly delicious (i.e. stuffed French toast), and I visit the Pantry at least once a year just to have their phenomenal baked oatmeal (best I've ever had, hands down!). While staff may seem slightly short at time, it's nothing personal - you will realise that they are extremely busy, and are actually quite attentive and friendly. Of note, there is "outdoor" seating in the rear of the establishment as well.

If you have no rush in the morning, this is a great place for breakfast. Weekday waits tend to be significantly shorter than weekends.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    352
    142
    37
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food and Staff are fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Another great visit to the Hershey Pantry. The omelets are huge (I would like to see chopped ham instead of lunch meat in the Western Omelet). Stopped by one evening for dessert and the chocolate peanut butter cake was unbelievable; one piece was enough for two people. The staff are second to none when it comes to attention to the customer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot, too yummy to miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This little gem is great. Huge portions, creative chef. When the weather is cooperative, eat on the screened in back porch. Try the French toast; the granola pancakes; great coffee and cinnamon toast. My husband and I split a cinnamon bun and split an omlet with plenty of food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our favorite place for breakfast. Food is delicious. It is small and tight however. Lunch and dinner are good too. Very busy when Hershey Park is open, so we try to avoid it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Absolutely adorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My kids loved sitting at the bar and watching the crew in action. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating, the food was delicious. I wish I could have tried all the desserts. If we are in this area again this will be the first place on my list. One caveat, it is a very small dining room and when it gets crowded there is no place to wait. The tables are very close together.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hershey Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hershey Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.