We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amatierish attempt at elegance. Fails at every level” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Circular

The Circular
100 Hotel Rd, The Hotel Hershey, Hershey, PA 17033
(717) 534-8800
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Circular is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 73 Restaurants in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hotel Road
Description: The atmosphere, menu, and service of The Circular provide a versatility of dining experiences from small plates and drinks at the bar with friends, to an intimate meal for two overlooking our magnificent gardens. Here, you’ll enjoy history with a twist of innovation. Try our signature cocktails, taste the new flavors of our menu, and enjoy the bustle of activity in our chocolate pastry gallery, where decadent desserts are created to order while you dine.
Southwest Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amatierish attempt at elegance. Fails at every level”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Whoever is running this place has no idea what he's doing. Staff have no clue what the dress code is, what the operating hours are, and forget about wine. They mangle the wine experience.

Steak was dry and tasteless. Faux elegance for atmosphere. Staff don't know how or when to seat customers.

No one here has been trained. Hershey needs a new food & beverage manager.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    83
    40
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely view for a special event”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We celebrated my mother's birthday here. We had a table in the center of the room where Mr. Hershey apparently used to sit and eat. The view was wonderful, and the food was delicious. Presentation was well done, service was outstanding. We had three children in our group (well behaved children used to dining in nice restaurants) and I was pleased to see the waitstaff was very accommodating and gracious with the them (not always the case in some nice establishments who assume that children will not behave). Tip--ask your server what he/she recommends. We did so and we were pleased with all of our meals.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fine dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This newly renovated and just re-opened beautiful dining-room exceeded expectations. Gracious and attentive servers, excellent food and a warm, elegant ambience all contributed to a memorable evening.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

When we ate there is was very fancy and the food was delicious especially the dessert and the rolls (a choice of regular or chocolate and same with the butter!)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Top Contributor
1,196 reviews 1,196 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 332 cities Reviews in 332 cities
968 helpful votes 968 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch and Romantc Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a romantic dinner in the Circular Dining Room with a seat by the windows. We planned to order their famed "chocolate" with every serving (even the salad) meal. From the appetizer, salad, entree and, of course, dessert we had a flavor of some chocolate. The waiter went our of his way to see that our desires were met.
Based on the success of that meal, we returned for the Sunday Brunch and enjoyed seafood, lamb, beef and a myriad of other fare, and of course, dessert from a very long table. It was decadent, but one brunch we will remember.
For dining make a reservation and associate it with a special occasion so it will leverage your chances for a window seat. The Circular Restaurant was Mr Hershey's design; you will have to find out why when you get there.
Hint: If you only have time for one...do the Brunch!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Circular also viewed

 

Been to The Circular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Circular, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.