We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Circular

The Circular
100 Hotel Rd, The Hotel Hershey, Hershey, PA 17033
(717) 534-8800
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 67 restaurants in Hershey
Price range: $50 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hotel Road
Description: The atmosphere, menu, and service of The Circular provide a versatility of dining experiences from small plates and drinks at the bar with friends, to an intimate meal for two overlooking our magnificent gardens. Here, you’ll enjoy history with a twist of innovation. Try our signature cocktails, taste the new flavors of our menu, and enjoy the bustle of activity in our chocolate pastry gallery, where decadent desserts are created to order while you dine.
Huntingdon Valley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a lovely dinner at the Circular Dining Room. The wait staff was attentive without being obsequious. The sommelier was friendly and knowledgeable. The food was fabulous. The fish was very fresh and the beet salad was delightful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    137
    55
    32
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect dining experience...shame they're changing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We used to live in the area and thought we'd someday get around to eating here...when we heard they were "reimagining" it, we decided we wanted to try it "the old way".

I am so glad we did.

There is no experience like this. It's seems like you're stepping back in time where you get service from a dozen members of staff, many courses and dinner take two and a half hours.

From the appetizer to dessert I don't believe you would ever find a finer meal. I had the filet mignon and frankly wish I hadn't simply because I don't think I'll ever find another one as good as this one and all others will pale in comparison for the rest of my life! SERIOUSLY IT WAS THAT GOOD.

The chocolate/cherry bread and sour dough bread was the best I've ever had. Actually, everything I had was the best, ever. I've eaten at New Orlean's Famous Brennans and I thought that the Circular Dining Room was MUCH BETTER!

It is a travesty that they have decided to change the experience. With the economy and the fact that people do not seem to have an appreciation for dining as an event, they are doing away with a lot of the pomp and the new "circular dining room" will be less formal.

I am beyond disappointed.

This was the best dining experience of my entire life and only wish I could do it again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good dinner but stupendous brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Lovely room, friendly (if not completely professional) service. Dinner (swordfish for me, snapper for him) very nicely prepared with original accompaniments (lentils, pumpkin ravioli) and perfect lobster bisque. Sommelier a bit grumpy.
Brunch was plentiful, perfect, stylish and relaxed. My only question is WHY DO SO MANY PEOPLE DRESS IN TSHIRTS AND SNEAKERS for this top dining experience? It diminishes the atmosphere. C'mon folks! The hotel makes a big effort, you can too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Service was wonderful. Food was very good and well prepared. The snow outside made the evening magical.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

GREAT Breakfast Buffet!!!!!! Can't go wrong with kids or family. Made to order omelets. Everything you could image including warm maple syrup. Dinner was nice. Too many interruptions. Kind of killed you with kindness. Much, Much better than no service however. Had tough steak but not the cooks fault.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Circular also viewed

 

Been to The Circular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Circular, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added The Circular to your Saves list