We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How did we miss this place for so long?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs

Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs
108 W Chocolate Ave, Hershey, PA 17033
717-520-1719
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 72 Restaurants in Hershey
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A traditional ice cream parlor combined with a cafe style restaurant featuring pizza, authentic Philly steaks, subs and salads. Also open for breakfast Friday Saturday and Sunday
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“How did we miss this place for so long?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We eat downtown Hershey often and somehow we had never gone here. Well, daughter's family wanted ice cream. So here we went. It is wonderfully clean and seems perfect for families. We had several ice cream items and my wife had the Turkey, green apple and Brie sandwich. The quality of all items was very good. The sundaes are very generous- and tasty. The sandwich came on far better than average multi-grained bread. Perfectly fresh and huge. Everything is a very good value. Especially for downtown Hershey. The service is very friendly but stays professional. They have freshly baked pizza and "bolis" as they are the little sister of Fenicci's.

This should not be confused with fast food. While the service is prompt- the offerings are fresh, very flavorful and seem "healthier" when compared to much of the fair available in Hershey. We love sandwiches and they have a huge selections for selecting from. And I repeat- clean, friendly and great value as well as terrific quality. My wife and I enjoy getting stuff for picnics and driving to a park to enjoy. We will certainly have this on our short list for YUM. Only negative from me, I wish they would change from Styrofoam for to go. Wife's sandwich was very generous and she could only eat half- and the Styrofoam had to follow us home. We will take our basket in the future so we can avoid this.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pguarno, Owner at Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
SHHHH It is our second business and we prefer to keep it cozy and quiet so dont tell to many people!!! Just why we buiit it in Mr HersheyS honor in a town that is getting way to commercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    44
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The food here is made fresh and excellent! The prices are incredibly reasonable.

Our server Becca was great and was a pleasure to chat with.

The Italian grinder and cheese steak were out favorite but everything was excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stopped through here on our way to DC. One Turkey Apple and Brie sandwich and a Steak Sandwich. While the wait was not exactly desirable ( 20 minutes for 2 sandwiches) the food itself was amazing! Very fresh and the fries were light and crispy. Would absolutely stop here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, friendly, in center of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This little gem is a nice place to eat at. The prices were good as was the food. The owner showed fine hospitality and took the time to chat with us and also with other guests at another table, even toward the end of a busy day. The restaurant is clean. It is on the main street in the heart of the town, but sits back off the street a bit, in between 2 other establishments, so I hadn't noticed it any of the times we've driven through Hershey by car. But when we actually took a walk through the center of town there it was. Their prices were very reasonable and we will go back again when we pass through Hershey. It's a good family atmosphere as well. I believe the owner said he is expanding an outdoor area that will extend toward the street.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etowah, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My wife, sister, and I have been on vacation all week in Hershey, and we decided to eat at Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza, and Subs. We were excitedly pleased that we did. We decided to have a large pizza with everything on it, and it was cooked to perfection. Pat brought it to our table and made sure we had everything we needed. This pizza is not overpowering with too many spices as some are, and the crust was delicious. After we devoured most of the pizza, we had ice cream for dessert. It was pretty good, but not exceptional. We did return one afternoon for some more ice cream, and this time it seemed to be better. Thanks, Pat, for being a great cook and waiter!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs also viewed

 

Been to Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.