We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs

Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs
108 W Chocolate Ave, Hershey, PA 17033
717-520-1719
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 72 Restaurants in Hershey
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A traditional ice cream parlor combined with a cafe style restaurant featuring pizza, authentic Philly steaks, subs and salads. Also open for breakfast Friday Saturday and Sunday
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stopped through here on our way to DC. One Turkey Apple and Brie sandwich and a Steak Sandwich. While the wait was not exactly desirable ( 20 minutes for 2 sandwiches) the food itself was amazing! Very fresh and the fries were light and crispy. Would absolutely stop here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    44
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, friendly, in center of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This little gem is a nice place to eat at. The prices were good as was the food. The owner showed fine hospitality and took the time to chat with us and also with other guests at another table, even toward the end of a busy day. The restaurant is clean. It is on the main street in the heart of the town, but sits back off the street a bit, in between 2 other establishments, so I hadn't noticed it any of the times we've driven through Hershey by car. But when we actually took a walk through the center of town there it was. Their prices were very reasonable and we will go back again when we pass through Hershey. It's a good family atmosphere as well. I believe the owner said he is expanding an outdoor area that will extend toward the street.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etowah, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My wife, sister, and I have been on vacation all week in Hershey, and we decided to eat at Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza, and Subs. We were excitedly pleased that we did. We decided to have a large pizza with everything on it, and it was cooked to perfection. Pat brought it to our table and made sure we had everything we needed. This pizza is not overpowering with too many spices as some are, and the crust was delicious. After we devoured most of the pizza, we had ice cream for dessert. It was pretty good, but not exceptional. We did return one afternoon for some more ice cream, and this time it seemed to be better. Thanks, Pat, for being a great cook and waiter!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Excellent Service from Pat Austin and John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

It was Sunday June 15th when we arrived in town. As it was getting late my wife and the children were starting to get hungry. When we started looking into what was available we noticed our choices were limited and most places near by were already closed. I called Phillip Arthur's to ask what time they closed, the gentleman said 10:00. At that point we had to scramble because it was 9:35. We didn't have time to ask the children what they wanted, we decided to wing it and bring them something back we figured they would like. We jumped in the car to go place an order before it got too late. Unfortunately we passed it looking for it, never saw it at all. Coming back we finally spotted it, we could not believe we actually passed it twice, it actually sits back off the street and was pretty dark. By now it's almost 9:50 and my thought was the people are going to be ready to go home and have an attitude for us coming in this late with a fairly large order. There were two gentleman there when we walked in, one was cleaning up behind the counter and one was cleaning off tables etc. The one cleaning the dining area said to us when we are ready to order let him know. I thought to myself ok cool and told my wife that's a good sign, if they are ready to go they are not showing it. A couple of minutes later another gentleman came in from the side door and he jumped right in assisting as well. To shorten this a bit we made our decision all three gentleman were helping, very friendly, very polite, double checked to make sure the order was correct. We were extremely amazed and very pleased with the entire experience. Then the gentleman that came in from the side door asked if we're staying at the Days Inn, we told him yes. He asked why didn't we have it delivered? I told him it didn't say they delivered on the list. He said if we want them to deliver the food they will so we didn't have to sit around and wait. He then asked do we have children, we told him yes, he asked do they like tootsie pops, my wife said yes me too and he gave us tootsie pops,WOW!!! They delivered the food to us a short time later and the food was good and hot!! An awesome experience. John Austin and Pat, thank you very much!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Inside out pizza :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had a very nice experience here, one night ended there with ice cream and help with an app on my iphone with discounts and coupons that we used right away. We went back the next day on our way home to enjoy the inside out pizza which was delish!! The house salad was so fresh!! We were able to totally relax while we ate no rush at all and the staff is so friendly. Next time we'll try breakfast there the menu looked really nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs also viewed

 

Been to Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.