We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice if you need a simple, safe sleep with a pool near Hershey PA.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey to your Saves list
Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1518 E Chocolate Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033 (Formerly Motel 6 Hershey - Grantville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great choice if you need a simple, safe sleep with a pool near Hershey PA.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel on a Friday night in the summer and I have to give it a 'very good' for what we needed. It is a basic, safe place to sleep - and it has a little outdoor pool. There is coffee in the AM. Compared to the prices elsewhere in Hershey I think it offers quite good value. We called up on a Friday afternoon, when 10 other places I called were booked or much more expensive and got a room that was good-enough for a night and thought the staff were helpful.

It's funny how the internet has ratings for hotels all over the place from ***** to *. The factual parts of some of the 1* reviews are not wrong: the rooms are like most chain motels you find across America, it doesn't have lots of Amenities (beyond the pool and coffee and maybe wifi), but it was one of the best choices in Hershey, given what our needs were. One thing I didn't think was good is that children are only free if they are 10 and under. Boohoo - change that!

Room Tip: Pool hours are 9AM-10PM per our trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    10
    11
    19
See reviews for
49
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

So the service was very attentive to your needs. The front desk people were very nice. Helped you with any questions you had. They let us do an early check in with cost of $35. Which was worth it. The room was really nice. Not too fancy but very clean thats what matter the most. The location was at the heart of Hershey. The Hershey Park was 5 min away driving. The pool was clean and had a little patio to sun bath all you want. The tv wasnt too new, but it didn't really matter because we weren't in the room so much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had read other reviews of this place and expected something better, so I was a little disappointed. It was clean. It also had a strange cleaning product smell to it, which was annoying. It is pretty conveniently located in Hershey, so that makes up for the Motel-6ish nature of the property (I believe it used to be a Motel 6, in fact).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I decided at the last minute to take our daughter to Hershey and based on some reviews I had my reservations on this place, but was I wrong...family friendly, clean pool, quiet and cheap, in a good way. we rented a European room for 3 nights. We absolutely loved the location and the price was great. All hotels have their issues....Management was very considerate, friendly and when we decided to stay another night last minute, they let us keep our room instead of moving us. Most wouldn't do that. There are alot of spiders outside but there are at every hotel...and the fact that I HATE spiders makes me see more them misty, lol.. I would recommend this hotel and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The room had an odor and they turned off the air conditioning (our attempt to freshen the room). There was hair on the towels. I cleaned the hair out of the drain. There is no clock, no hairdryer, no iron in the room. The area to hang clothes is occupied by the table and chairs. There is an envelope on the stand with "Housekeeping tips appreciated" written on it - tacky, and unjustifiable. The main entry door doesn't latch unless you turn around and pull it shut. There are many visible places where repairs are needed in the entry way and hallways. The "complimentary coffee in the lobby" is coffee in a thermos with powdered creamer. There isn't enough parking. I had to park in the grass. I was charged an extra fee for my second child, negating any good price found on internet websites. **My children didn't feel comfortable in this hotel.**

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

The shower wasnt very good it was a hose basically.Thats what it look like.The toilet paper had spackle on it and the shower/tub had stuff in the corners.The t.v. froze at night and the beds dont look as attractive to sleep on.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoaCountryMgmnt, Manager at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thanks for the review but sorry to disappoint you on the prices. If you have never traveled to Hershey PA you are in for a surprise on the hotel rates. We are one of the most economically priced Inns in Hershey, almost half of what other hotels charge in town sometimes. But that doesn't compare to areas like Florida or Georgia where you can find high end rooms for cheap rates. This is Hershey, PA and always expect to pay a lot for little. The room you stayed in is perfectly fine. The shower head is as standard in all other hotels as well as the beds are Elevated Platform beds as per European Style standards. Next time you can stay at one of our conventional Country Style rooms. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Ok. So thank god we only needed a room for 1 night as we stopped here pn our way to lancaster. booked this online going off the reviews on here. Mistake!
We had an exterior 'european room' whatever that means. this place looks nothing like pictures. property is dirty. Pool is filthy. Rooms are the most disgusting things ever. Bathrooms had what looked like old dried feces on tub and floor. Shower filthy. im just thankful our rooms had pergo floors as i cant imagine the rooms with carpets. Spider webs everwhere. Broken screens, the area itself is very shady. I believe this is also a place of rssidence for welfare. People live here. The white rose looked nice and right down street. Do not stay here. They have a 12 yr old checking us in. Then The night worker, spanish girl was smoking and drinking and looked like she was having sex with her boyfriend as our room was across from the office. And they would come outside our room to smoke

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey

Address: 1518 E Chocolate Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033 (Formerly Motel 6 Hershey - Grantville)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly refurbished (renovated) property! An affordable and a comfortable Inn, Featuring all NON-SMOKING ROOMS! Two varieties of rooms to choose from: Exterior European Styled Rooms with Hardwood Floors and Flat Screen TVs or Interior Corridor newly carpeted, new beds, drapes, and fresh painted rooms with Large 27" TVs. We offer an Outdoor Pool with a large deck. Diamond Award Winner. Just 1.2 miles from Hershey attractions!! Hershey Park visitors family favorite! Microwave and Refrigerators in all rooms, FREE Morning Coffee, FREE WiFi in all rooms. Area's first boutique motel. Check us out to be pleasantly surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Country Inn & Suite At Hershey Hotel Hershey
Cocoa Country Inn And Suite At Hershey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.