We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Simmons Motel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Simmons Motel and Suites to your Saves list
Simmons Motel and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   355 West Chocolate Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ok Motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Pros: I have to say I was shocked at how close this was to Hershey and the town. Everything was walking distance. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The cons: the beds were extremely hard and the pillows were terrible. There was no clock in the room which was weird. There was also a musty smell.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eliwhitney, Front Office Manager at Simmons Motel and Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
I am so glad you found our location convenient, but am sorry that your stay wasn't as comfortable as you had hoped... We are in the process of replacing beds, and refurbishing rooms. I agree that alarm clocks are needed in the rooms, and am hoping to have them very soon. Also, spring cleaning and painting are happenning as we speak....
I do hope you'll come back, and enjoy the improvements inspired by your suggestions, as well as those of other guests!
Thank you for your recent stay, and your input!
Sincerely, Marnie, front desk manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    12
    9
    15
See reviews for
38
13
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Went to Hershey to see a show at The Hershey Theatre, got into town a lot earlier than the GPS said, lol. I was greeted by Marnie who was very helpful & professional! My room was a little cold & they gave me an extra blanket & a space heater. Marnie have me directions to where I was going & I felt very comfortable there. When I return to Hershey I plan on making another reservation :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eliwhitney, Front Office Manager at Simmons Motel and Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
I am so very glad that you enjoyed your stay! We do try to meet the needs of each guest, and insure that they can enjoy all the many wonderful attractions and activities Hershey has to offer. I look forward to seeing you next time! :)
Be well.... :)
Sincerely, Marnie. (front desk manager) :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Although booking was a bit tricky, as web prices and call in prices seem to contradict each other, we found our room to be very clean. (The chair was stained, but the room had obviously been cleaned thoroughly.) We were able to park right outside of our door. The motel is quite cute and the abundant flowers are a very nice touch. As other reviewers stated, it is not a luxury hotel, it's a nice mom and pop establishment. It is a block from restaurants and shops downtown. Although it is very close to Hershey Park it is not very walkable. There are no sidewalks on the way to the park and the only cut through to the other side of the railroad tracks is a small tunnel for cars that is a little dangerous to walk on foot. Overall, for the price and cleanliness, I would recommend this motel.

Room Tip: If you are unsure about which room to choose, as I understand they vary widely, just call. They will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here this past weekend for the JT & Jay-z concert at Hershey Stadium and stayed here for 2 nights. Check in is easy and we were allowed to put in items that needed to be in the fridge even while the housekeeper is still cleaning the room. We stayed at apartment 8 which accommodated all 8 of us ( we brought a separate blow up bed). The apartment is very cozy and clean and they provided extra blankets upon our request. Hershey Park,Hershey Factory and the Stadium was all walking distance as promised. The hotel is also walking distance to rite-aid and other restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Simmons Motel provides basic, no frills lodging at an economical price (given the area). The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room (#4) that I had was clean and for the most part comfortable. Some basic amenities that I have come to expect were not available in my room (hair dryer, iron, ironing board, shampoo/conditioner and only one bar of soap the first night), so pack those things if you think you will need them. They may have been available from the office - I didn't ask. No in room coffee maker, but coffee was available in the office. Furnishing and decor are dated, but functional. TV was new. In-room refrigerator and microwave were nice touches. Bathroom was small. Linens were plentiful. Sink is in the bathroom (no vanity outside of bathroom, but the dresser had a mirror, chair and outlets were close by). We could walk to Hershey Park entrance (about 15 minutes); a Rite Aide is virtually next door; and a few restaurants were also in walking distance. Given the traffic - this is a plus - not to have to move your car. There is an above ground pool available - we didn't get to use it - looked clean and nice, though. All in all a pleasant stay - just keep your expectations at an appropriate level.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked on line. So was not expecting such an old room. But it was lovely and clean.
No breakfast and hard to get onto WIFI might as well say no WIFI.
But the bed was fine and we were given the suite which I think meant that we had a table and chairs outside our room.
We were quite happy here however as we need WIFI for business we will not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidioute
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our school went on an honors trip to Philadelphia/Hershey Park. The suites were very accommodating since there were 44 students grades 3-12 and 10 chaperones. Rooms were nice and clean. Would definitely stay there again if in the area. Thank you for making our stay a good one!

Room Tip: We were in room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simmons Motel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simmons Motel and Suites

Address: 355 West Chocolate Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Simmons Motel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simmons Motel and Suites built in 1957. Each property was purchased separately and modified into the motel. The motel has been owned and operated by the same family since 1957, we are a warm and friendly motel. While on your travels away from home and you do not need luxury then we are for you. When you come to Simmons it is like being home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Simmons Motel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simmons Motel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.