We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills - but adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Simmons Motel and Suites

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 5 more sites!
Simmons Motel and Suites
355 West Chocolate Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 24 hotels in Hershey
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“No frills - but adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Simmons Motel provides basic, no frills lodging at an economical price (given the area). The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room (#4) that I had was clean and for the most part comfortable. Some basic amenities that I have come to expect were not available in my room (hair dryer, iron, ironing board, shampoo/conditioner and only one bar of soap the first night), so pack those things if you think you will need them. They may have been available from the office - I didn't ask. No in room coffee maker, but coffee was available in the office. Furnishing and decor are dated, but functional. TV was new. In-room refrigerator and microwave were nice touches. Bathroom was small. Linens were plentiful. Sink is in the bathroom (no vanity outside of bathroom, but the dresser had a mirror, chair and outlets were close by). We could walk to Hershey Park entrance (about 15 minutes); a Rite Aide is virtually next door; and a few restaurants were also in walking distance. Given the traffic - this is a plus - not to have to move your car. There is an above ground pool available - we didn't get to use it - looked clean and nice, though. All in all a pleasant stay - just keep your expectations at an appropriate level.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    6
    8
    13
See reviews for
27
7
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked on line. So was not expecting such an old room. But it was lovely and clean.
No breakfast and hard to get onto WIFI might as well say no WIFI.
But the bed was fine and we were given the suite which I think meant that we had a table and chairs outside our room.
We were quite happy here however as we need WIFI for business we will not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidioute
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our school went on an honors trip to Philadelphia/Hershey Park. The suites were very accommodating since there were 44 students grades 3-12 and 10 chaperones. Rooms were nice and clean. Would definitely stay there again if in the area. Thank you for making our stay a good one!

Room Tip: We were in room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Township, NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

You can tell by prior responses that this manager is a jerk. We stayed last summer, which I'm sure he'll comment on why I waited so long to post ( I just joined trip advisor). They gave us the wrong room so our kids had to sleep on the floor. I spoke to the manager who was so rude and sleezy that i felt like i needed a shower after. He took no responsibility for screwing up our room - he blamed Expedia! The decor is tacky fake flowers from the 80s. The couches were filthy and the place was smelly. The one and only thing they have going for them is their proximity to Hershey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady,NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My family has stayed 2 times prior at this location , all I can say is that this is the most non- commercialized place to stay. Where else can you cook on a small grill on the front lawn and enjoy the company of someone that tries to improve what is there. Many updates as the last time we stayed in labor day weekend 2012. Plan to be back in 2013 , and can only say thank you to whitney , as he is as down to earth as anyone I know. Worth the trip from Albany, NY.

Room Tip: It doesnt have to be the marriot to enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have stayed here 4-5 times going as far back as the 80's and have always had a good experience. All the rooms are a little different with homey touches. Not fancy, you get what you pay for. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. The property is spread over different bulidings that make for some unusual rooms. I once had a room that I entered via a sliding patio door, but I loved it. You will not have a big flat-screen, a free breakfast or a lot of in-room amenities. If you need the generic quality of a chain hotel, go across the street to the Days Inn.

And regarding Marie M's review: I'm not buying her story about the dog. The motel clearly has a No Pets policy with signs in the lobby. The fact that she admits leaving the dog unattended in the room to annoy other guests, shows that she is inconsiderate. They should have charged her the full $100 penalty. Just like smokers who feel they have a right to smoke in non-smoking rooms, dog owners who sneak Fido into a No Pets hotel are the ones who are VERY RUDE!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My daughter and I thought this place was pretty creepy. It is kind of cute/quaint from the outside, but a real dump, once you check in. Our room was in the home to the side of the property. We had to call maintenance as soon as we arrived, because there was water all over the bathroom floor. The decor was really tacky, bedding really cheap and stiff. MATTRESS was a rock. Place was memorably BAD.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eliwhitney, Front Office Manager at Simmons Motel and Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
It is awe full funny how these people came here in August 2012 and spent the night and now they are putting a bad review up on TripAdvisor. I have checked with all my staff and there where no complaints of water being on any floor, Furthermore, they would not be put in a room like that in the first place. If this lady thinks this place is creepy she must think her house is creepy, we are located in downtown Hershey and we must keep our buildings up to date and code. Meanwhile, they wait until now to complain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Simmons Motel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simmons Motel and Suites

Also Known As:
Simmons Hotel
Address: 355 West Chocolate Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 hotels in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simmons Motel and Suites built in 1957. Each property was purchased separately and modified into the motel. The motel has been owned and operated by the same family since 1957, we are a warm and friendly motel. While on your travels away from home and you do not need luxury then we are for you. When you come to Simmons it is like being home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Simmons Motel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simmons Motel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Simmons Motel and Suites to your Saves list