We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Family run motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Rose Motel

Save Saved
You added White Rose Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Rose Motel
1060 E. Chocolate Ave., Hershey, PA 17033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New webpage coming soon
Ranked #3 of 24 hotels in Hershey
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Family run motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We drove through a rainstorm on our way to Hershey and found a warm welcome at this nice family motel. The motel reminded us of classic 60s/70s style motor inns but the room we got was clean and comfortable. The only negative was a loud ceiling fan whenever we turned on the bathroom light which made us laugh whenever one of us had to use the facilities. No restaurant on-site, but they had quite a bit of information available on local restaurants. Definitely a good value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MotelOwnerHershey_PA, Owner at White Rose Motel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
The loud negative was eliminated on Monday, October 15!! We knew the (brand new) bathroom fans were loud and a problem. We have been working with the electrician for two months trying to figure out how to solve the problem. New Nutone fans and whisper quiet; just don't want to see the bill! Yay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    95
    18
    11
    11
See reviews for
186
52
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the White Rose for an event at Hersheypark Stadium.
The location is great and there was a shuttle service back and forth to the Stadium ($5/ person). They will provide you with the number for it.

It is a comfortable, well run, family owned motel. The owners are upfront, honest, and able to provide information regarding the town. Don't expect anything more than the basic necessities. However, there was a fridge and microwave which were nice. The beds were not spectacular and I'd suggest you bring your own soap/shampoo (they aren't the best).
Overall, we had no major complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandon, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here with my son after a WWE event at the Giant Center. The decision to stay here was based solely on Tripadvisor reviews. Boy am I glad we did. $55.00 a night - are you kidding me? Where do you find deals like this anymore. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Room was super clean, comfortable, and quiet. I'm sure this is an older property, but the daily TLC given to this facility makes it outshine any newer hotel you can find. Oh sure, they don't have a "free" breakfast, but like the lady at checkout said, for $20.00 you can go down the street to the Hershey Pantry and get a nice breakfast and your stay still only equals $75.00, not $120+ like the chain hotels in the area. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. What a wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We made a last minute change to a weeklong trip and went to Hershey. A quick call to the White Rose (we found on-line}. We prefer the family owned old style motels and the White Rose turned out to be a gem. Great family running it and it is clear they want people to have a good experience. It's older, but extremely well maintained. Nicer than most of the Econo-lodge or Choice hotels we have stayed in. We will keep this one in our back pocket for any future trips to central PA.

Room Tip: We stayed in 18 right above the office. There is no elevator, so you have to be able to climb the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We read several reviews on Tripadvisor before booking two nights at the White Rose Motel. It was everything previous people reported. This is a clean, old-fashioned motel. The staff was very helpful and knew the area well. It's close to Hershey Park and downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Owner wonderful and so was rest of staff. Friendly, family feel. Absolutely immaculate. Bed comfortable, very convenient. Not fancy, but has everything needed and then some. Chose because of reviews on Tripadvisor and so glad we did. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stay on bottom floor if problem with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have to admit I was a little hesitant about staying here, as I have had bad experiences with motels in the recent past. But this place is the exception. If you are looking for the classic American motel experience, as it is meant to be, this is the place. The room was clean and up to date, with a cutesy country feel to it. The pool was unbelievably clean. The lady at the front desk was incredibily helpful when our four year old broke a toy, and she helped fix it and save us from an hours-long meltdown on our journey. Very friendly and warm all around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rose Motel

Address: 1060 E. Chocolate Ave., Hershey, PA 17033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hershey
#2 Family Hotel in Hershey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and operated small motel. Two story, brick buildings with wrought iron detail framing our covered porches. Furniture on porches for sitting and relaxing. Heated outdoor, seasonal pool. Menus of area restaurants here for you to review. Clean, Comfortable, Courteous, Convenient, Quiet. Approved by AAA. 1.5 miles to Hersheypark, Giant Center, and Chocolate World. Close to Hollywood Casino, Lancaster and Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your White Rose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rose Hotel Hershey
White Rose Hershey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Rose Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.