We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hershey Gardens

Hershey Gardens
170 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033
717-534-3492
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 30 things to do in Hershey
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established as a formal rose garden in 1937 by Milton Hershey, Hershey Gardens features more than 23 acres of horticultural excellence. Filled with magnificent theme gardens, colorful seasonal displays, the seasonal outdoor Butterfly House and the renowned rose garden filled with 5,000 rose bushes, Hershey Gardens simply must be experienced!
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

At least for this time of year! Was surprised to see so many roses (and huge ones at that) in bloom. Grounds are very well maintained. Would love to see it in late spring.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    163
    36
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth a stop in autumn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was a side trip....actually, sort of an afterthought. I'm a garden writer and felt it might give me some nice photos. The gardens were lovely and I did indeed get those photos, but so much more. They had the entire gardens readied for Halloween and the displays were clever and inspired my own home Halloween decorations for next year. The staff was extremely friendly and answered any questions I had about plants I didn't recognize since it is a different climate from mine. I look forward to returning when the bulbs bloom in spring!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pumpkin Glow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My family and I went to the Hershey Gardens this past Saturday for the Pumpkin Glow event. It was our second year, and it is a really fun event. It was pretty busy compared to last year, but that is to be expected as more and more people hear about the event. The jack-o-lanterns lighting the walkway are just such a pretty sight. We went with another family and the kids really enjoyed the different carvings and the trick or treating that was also a part of the event.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hershey Gardens is a beautiful place to stroll and spend a half-day. We visited in October when many plants had died back and yet there was still much to see. Can only imagine what late-Spring or Summer holds for us! :-)

The historic rose garden alone will keep you occupied for a very long time viewing each type of rose and enjoying the fragrance! The Butterfly Garden no longer had butterflies and instead hosted a bonsai exhibit. All in all a very worthwhile place to visit.

If you have experienced the Dupont family's Longwood Gardens in Kennett Square, PA you will find Hershey to be smaller and not as informative. And yet you should not miss it if you are spending time in Hershey.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Neat Butterfly House, Pretty Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Butterfly House makes this trip worth it alone -- but we really enjoyed all of the flower displays. The roses were so pretty even though we were there late in the season. Took us about 2 hours to walk through at a leisurely pace. We didn't rush.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hershey Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hershey Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.