We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful story aboout a great man!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hershey Story

The Hershey Story
63 West Chocolate Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033
717-534-8939
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 attractions in Hershey
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: How did Milton Hershey go from bankruptcy to brilliance, transforming chocolate from a luxury to an everyday treat? How did he invent a community? Why did he give away his fortune? That’s the Hershey story.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful story aboout a great man!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I thought this was going to be a tourist trap type of place. We were so wrong. This is a wonderful museum with some great pieces of history about Milton Hershey they tell his story so well. The exhibits are laid out perfectly where more than one person can read about the exhibit. We will cretainly be going back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    159
    54
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you're traveling with kids...this might be a little boring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I'm an adult and liked the museum, but not sure if kids would appreciate it. It's a lot of pictures and small artifacts from Hershey's life in glass cases. I did luck out since it was not the busy season and so one of the gentleman that worked there gave me lots of information about the things in the museum. If you're traveling with kids, I would suggest going to the zoo or hershey chocolate world instead!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“This has so much potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We were not thrilled with the M. S. Hershey museum and were rather disappointed in the chocolate lab. We attended as part of a larger group and left feeling like we paid for (and were expecting) way more than pouring melted chocolate into a mold. Most of what was said about the science of chocolate I knew already and there was no historical element to what we did. We live in the area and have out-of-town guests all the time. We were hoping this would be something fun to add to our list of "go to" activities, but it was not. I would recommend Chocolate World (and their chocolate making activity), especially for those with children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNVILLE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must see when in Hershey PA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Most people have heard of Milton S. Hershey, the founder of Hershey Chocolate and the boy's orphan school. However, few know his personal and business details. This museum is located on Hershey's main street, with plenty of free parking. Admission is $6.50 for kids up to 12, $9.00 up to 61, and $8.00 for 62+. The information includes everything you would want to know about Hershey's early life, early failed business ventures, and his successful businesses and marriage. The displays include pleasant things, as well as unpleasant things such as violent strike actions that occurred at the chocolate plant. I thought I knew a lot about MS Hershey, till I toured this museum. Expect to take 2 hours to absorb all the info that is wonderfully displayed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Surprisingly interesting, a la carte pricing makes it crazy expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The museum is well done and the little cafe is nice. All the activities like the Chocolate Lab are an extra fee, and while fun, it adds up to a very expensive add-on to what is likely an already expensive trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hershey Story also viewed

 

Been to The Hershey Story? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hershey Story, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Hershey Story to your Saves list