We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dated and pricey!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hershey Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hershey Lodge to your Saves list
Hershey Lodge
325 University Drive, Hershey, PA 17033   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Stay Now, Play Later
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
New England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little dated and pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

But the staff is very helpful. Great vacation. Many attractions. Hershey park is great. Chocolate world was fun. Bus transportation was excellent. Our fridge and coffee pot were dirty when we arrived. Did not want to have to clean when I got there.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in A if you want to be near transportation and e,f,g if you like the indoor/outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    498
    280
    101
    86
See reviews for
966
148
23
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel was great, staff was great, very clean. Love the smell of chocolate when you walk in.Close to many ammenities. Lots of options for food. Beds very comfortable. Loved the hershey kiss sheets. Would be willing to stay here again. Only disapointment was the Hershey Characters were supposed to come between 10-10:30 am and they did not. Was a huge let down for the kids waiting. Everything was clean which was nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We attended a conference here so had a reduced room rate. I couldn't believe the extremely high normal rates. I would not pay $400 per night to stay in this hotel.

Conference facilities were good but bedrooms were very small. With 600 delegates we couldn't understand why the hotel didn't open the main bar which meant that the upstairs bar was always crowded.

Food was mediocre even in their supposedly upmarket Hershey Grill. Nice pool area but no drinks service which was a big disappointment since the main bar was so far away. BTW no alcoholic drinks allowed at the pool.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at Hershey Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Miles7000,

Thank you for sharing constructive feedback about your experience at the Hershey Lodge. We find great value in both positive comments and constructive comments that we can consider in order to provide excellent service and meet guest expectations.Please allow us to address some of your concerns.

Our room rates on average, do vary in price from $129-$359 based on the day of week and time of year. We're also sorry to hear that you were disappointed in other areas of service. While the bar in our main lobby is closed during certain hours, several of our other eating establishments serve alcoholic beverages. During the summer season, guests can also order food and adult beverages at the outdoor pool concession, Ripples. Our room service menu features similar offerings, pool-side all year. We hope you found this information to be helpful and welcome you to follow-up with us with any additional feedback at: 717-533-3311. Please ask to speak with the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Lots to do near by. Plenty to eat on premise. The place is HUGE!
great service! The staff was really helpful and they offer a free shuttle to and from Hershey park.
There is a bar on premise and the rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Room was fresh, quiet AC, room service was high quality. Would definitely stay here again.
Carpeting was clean and room had nice towels. Room service was on time and delicious.
What else can I say. Trip Advisor is a pain in my JOHNSON. They require a minimum of 200 characters and don't allow profanity. Hope they get the picture.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've stayed here several times on business and LOVE "having" to stay here!! Could never afford to go back on my own coin though. Way too pricey. But something about this place just feels magical. There is always a Hershey bar waiting for you, the rooms are so clean, and the whole place is just awesome. Don't know how else to describe it! Great place for any kind of stay, really, as it's also close to Hershey Park (obviously) so you could make a family thing out of it. Or it would be a romantic place for couples as well. Great gift shop for ALL things chocolate! LOVE it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The room was clean but for the price paid I expected more. One pool; was closed for some reason but nothing was mentioned to indicate that prior to arrival. We took a room close to that pool and was very disappointed. The other outdoor pool was dirty to say the least. Dead bugs in the water and such. Also there were potted plants about and although the were nice they attracted bugs and bees to the area where people were sunning. Very annoying. Finally breakfast was a bad experience if you can get in which we didnt. For the size of the place you would think every resturant would serve breakfast. It did not and that resulted in a 45 min wait each moring. Unaccreptable. We ate at friendlys each morning. Good breakfast cheaper and no wait any of the mornings there. I never mind paying more but I expect to get something for it and this was just average. Will try the Hershey Hotel next time. At least its worth the extra money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hershey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Lodge

Address: 325 University Drive, Hershey, PA 17033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hershey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#7 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place for families to stay while visiting Hersheypark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hershey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hershey Lodge Pennsylvania
Convention Center Hershey Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hershey Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.