We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hershey Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hershey Lodge to your Saves list
Hershey Lodge
325 University Drive, Hershey, PA 17033   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids Stay Play & Eat FREE
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
Silver Spring
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

I stay here with my family 2adults and 2children (6yrs old). We Were visiting Hershey Park. The Hershey Lodge was ok, the room was nice nothing specatular. The bed was soft and cushie I thought I would not like it, but I actually slept quite well. We stay at the Hershey Chocolate bar drive up, close to the indoor pool and the restaurants. The location was perfect for us, though parking was hard to find close to our room. The kids enjoy the indoor pool and the free minature golf. We ate at the Bears den it was ok not bad..definitly kid friendly...For breakfast we ate at the cafe they offer bagel sandwiches,cereal,muffins,donuts ect prices were not to bad except for the coffee and hot chocolate.
Alot less than the restaurant which almost had the same thing.
Defintitly take advantage of the free shuttle to Hershey Park we drove the first time and pay the $8 parking just to end up taking a tram to get to the park. We ended up leaving the park after a few hours it was hot and crowded and long lines we decided to come back later after sunset and this time we took the lodges shuttle and it was great alot faster and cheaper! and the park was alot better at this time the lines were not as long. just a note I feel Hershey Park set up to be a bit congested and hard to navigate . The review of this hotel depends on the rate you get I would not spend over $200 for this lodge. Shop around and compare!

  • Liked — convience
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    527
    291
    108
    89
See reviews for
1,006
167
23
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

Stayed here for a convention. Staff was pleasant and helpful. The hallways actually smell like chocolate and they gave us hershey bars when we checked in as well. The rooms were spacious and clean. Plenty of parking. The convention center area was nice and their food was better than most I have had at convention centers.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

My husband, daughter and I spent time at the Hershey Lodge from 8/30 to 9/3. We arrived late in the afternoon so our daughter was very happy to be greeted by a character and have her own check in. We were also pleasantly surprised to receive a room in the tower building as there is a huge convenience factor to being placed there rather than some of the other buildings which did not have easy access to the lobby, restaurants, etc. The view from our room was lovely and housekeeping did a wonderful job both on our room and all of the common areas. With regard to soundproofing, we did not hear any noise from the hall or other rooms - seeing as the hotel appeared to be fully booked during our entire stay, that was wonderful!

The shuttle bus to and from the attractions was a great perk in that it always seemed to be there when we needed it and it was lovely to get a break from our minivan!

The pools were very nice and the miniature golf course was a nice diversion.

We enjoyed the smores campfires that were held nightly although unlike most properties that offer such an activity, we had to pay for the smores kits. We also enjoyed a lovely fireworks display from the front lawn of the hotel.

Our only disappointment in the property had to do with the restaurants. We did enjoy the Hershey Grille, however, the Bear's Den and Lebby L's were not to our liking. There are many options within a 5 minute drive however we like to be resort bound when not at the attractions and therefore we would have liked a better quality on the restaurants.

  • Liked — The location and the shuttle service
  • Disliked — The restaurants
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila,Pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

Just got back from 2 nights at the lodge. I was pleasantly surprised with the property. We booked a 2 room suite and compared to many suites it was pretty large and instead of just a pull-out couch in the living room it had a full/queen Murphy bed and a pull-out couch. It also had a second full bath with all of the standard amenities. The room was very clean and well appointed. The hotel is clearly on the older side but the rooms are nicely refurbished with Kohler bathrooms and double vanities. The beds were also very comfortable, however the pillows were a little soft for me. The only negative comment I could make i the rooms seemed a little damp. Although the suite was pricey at $500+ a night, in my experience you get what you pay for and we did. Lastly the staff was very attentive and the food at the bears' den was excellent . I don't think it gets much better in central Pa.

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

Just stayed at Hershy Lodge. Disappointed. We expected something better for the price ($279 night). We also stayed in a section that looked like an apartment building. Traveling with a baby we were frustrated that there was no elevator--schlepping up the baby gear was a pain--again--for the price we of course assumed elevators. And there is no safe way to walk to the main lobby and restaurants with children. They really should have sidewalks for their guests. You must walk behind parked cars, often backing out, and on a narrow winding driveway to get to the lobby (from where we stayed). I ended up pushing the stroller through wet grass to get to lobby--I was too nervous to take it along the narrow road. Rooms were just ok and bathroom was smallish. Thin walls--we had to listen to kids next door jumping on the beds till late at night. On the bright side, my son was excited about the on-site mini putt course and two video game areas (Bear's Den restaurant and poolside gameroom). I went back to the Lodge's web site and couldn't find a customer feedback e-mail form anywhere.

  • Disliked — Not pedestrian-friendly at all
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

The location is great. The lodge is big. The food was good. The rooms were clean. But a room in the Lodge during the summer is very expensive. When I push $300 per night I expect a bit of luxury and this is a motor lodge. They do not even heat the outdoor pools. One of the big perks of staying at the Hershey lodge should be the shuttles to the Hershey Park- but be warned if you stay until the park closes you will wait a good hour to get on the bus. This is not a Disney Class resort. The rooms are clean but everything is just so so. For $150 per night they would be a good deal for almost $300 I would say they are over priced.

  • Liked — How clean everything was
  • Disliked — The price was too high
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

The website of this place is a little misleading. When we drove up it was not as "grand" as it looked online. It has a terrible layout so its difficult to walk to the hotel's ammentities from some of the rooms. Check In was great - they had a kids check in which we loved. Our 2 rooms were over by the mini golf which is pretty far from the "hub". Arriving into hall entrace it gave the feel of a Howard Johnsons. The rooms themselves were nice. Newly remodled with nice linens, uphosterly and granite in the bathrooms.

The hotel itself did not have great family places to eat, they were geared more towards the convention visitor. We did have a nice meal in the upstairs restaurant with our 4 kids and were very well taken care of.

Gift shops has tremendous treat finds! All in all I would not stay here again. I was expecting more luxury. We'd stay at the Hotel Hershey next time.

  • Liked — room quuality inside was nice, great check in
  • Disliked — hotel layout & location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hershey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Lodge

Address: 325 University Drive, Hershey, PA 17033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hershey
#2 Business Hotel in Hershey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#6 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great place for families to stay while visiting Hersheypark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotel.de and Expedia so you can book your Hershey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hershey Lodge Pennsylvania
Convention Center Hershey Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hershey Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.