We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hersheypark in the Dark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hershey Park

Hershey Park
100 West Hersheypark Drive, Hershey, PA 17033
+1 800-242-4236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 attractions in Hershey
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This amusement park was originally built as a recreation area for Hershey Chocolate's factory workers.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Virginia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Hersheypark in the Dark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have gone to this park every year for the past several years, from the time my kids just did the kiddie rides to now, as teenagers who do every rollercoaster. We bought tix from the local Giant grocery store on Saturday night to save $4 per ticket on an already reduced one day admission of $31.95 for adults (ages 9-54). We take advantage of the preview night which means we get to go in free the night before. Depends on the closing time, you can get in 2 or 2 1/2 hours before closing. For preview, you can park in Chocolate World for free (the first 3 hours are free, but don't go over because then you will have to pay $12 or $4 more than regular parking). The problem with going during this time of year is that the rides will close if the weather is hovering around 40s. The Fahrenheit was closed both at night and during the day on Sunday since it was low 40s. The park was not as crowded but it was freezing walking around. We even wore 3-4 layers on top, hats, scarves, gloves and our group of 5 wore running tights or thermal underwear to try and stay warm. Because the park was not crowded, we got to ride the rollercoasters 2-3 times in a row. In fact, after staying a day and a half, we rode more rides this time than any other visit. I always advise people to google discount tickets for the park since it is very pricey with regular admission most times of the year. Also, you can't bring in food or water (and the prices are high just like any other amusement park), but water is free throughout the park at every restroom facility AND if you ask the concession stands. We love Hersheypark!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,323
    775
    276
    90
    81
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean! Friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Excellent park, weve gone every year for the past 5 years. #1 Bathrooms are maintained TOP NOTCH, no urine smell, someones always cleaning them keeping up with the mess people leave behind. #2 Excellent park staff very friendly and courteous. #3 Food is a bit on the pricey side but manageable if you bring some of your own things like water etc...overall an excellent park, we'll keep coming every year!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Coasters, coasters, coasters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The park was larger than we expected and had a variety of coasters and rides to chose from.

The weird thing about the park is that it is right two blocks from main street. It is also right next to Chocolate world.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family had good time at Hershey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have 3 teenagers and even though they have been to Hershey several times, they still enjoyed it as teenagers.
The magic of the Chocolate World has gone, as the ride is only worth doing once. You learn the history and that's about it. But its right there as you are let off of the tram that comes from the parking lot and its worth going through the ride once. The gift shop in that building is the largest, so if you find something there you like, you may not find the exact thing in other gift shops.
And speaking of gift shops, there is one every 50 feet. You may find slightly different items in each.
The one thing we didn't like is the park map. That was not as accurate as it could have been, and we got lost many times. So we downloaded the app onto our smart phones. But that wasn't much better. I'm thinking that perhaps it was the layout of the park that's so confusing? The signs were not as helpful as they could have been, so we relied on asking staff park where to go. (when you could find someone to ask)
One complaint we had was that they didn't have Smart Passes like other parks (Disney, and Kings Dominion) have for all of the popular rides. So lots of waiting in lines. Choose which rides you really want to do, because you'll be in line for a while. This goes for every ride.
There are plenty of roller coasters for teens to do. As I'm not a roller coaster person anymore I found rides like the Swings and bumper cars to do. There is plenty for each age group.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Childhood favorite and the kids like it too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I went here often as a child and teen. As a young parent, our whole family, about twenty of us then, enjoyed the experience. Later I took a youth group. I like the many trees, the water to cool off on hot days. Soon, my grandkids will be old enough and I will take them there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hershey Park also viewed

 

Been to Hershey Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hershey Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hershey Park to your Saves list