We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but...........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Suites at Hershey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Suites at Hershey to your Saves list
The Suites at Hershey
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   176 East Hershey Park Drive, Hershey, PA 17033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
Denver, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice location, but...........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

First impression outside is good but these units (as timeshares) are showing their age. Would be great family location for Hershey Park in summer, Lancaster Amish area & Civil War Museum in Harrisburg. Sign in elevator says they are upgrading all units and entry areas - new carpeting, TVs, etc. Furniture is really in need of replacement & older kitchen appliances. Stark, not cozy décor. Think all units are handicapped accessible which is a plus - in the bath and shower - nice functional features. Some underground parking is also nice feature.
Best plus is location, convenience to the Park and many dining choices. Outlet mall next door.

Room Tip: Near a railroad line so ask for Building #1 - further from rail line; buildings 2 & 3 are closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Suites at Hershey, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello BobW66 ,

We appreciate you sharing feedback about your stay at our Suites at Hershey resort. It is nice to know that the location and proximity to nearby local attractions provided convenience and added value to your stay. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the accommodations and hope to welcome you back once renovations at the resort are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    59
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
116
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Pleasantly surprised at how nice this place was. We only stayed one night. Wish I had booked it for the whole weekend. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, living room, dining area, kitchen. Awesome! Loved the pool -- but wish it had been in the same building we were staying in...quite cold to run outside to get to it and back to our room. Hated the train at 3am, but was prepared for it because of other reviews. Wish we could've been accommodated for a later check out since my daughter had an early morning hockey game and it would've been nice if she could have gotten a shower after, but were told no. (They said it was full that weekend, but when I went online there was availability so I think they could've let us extend for an extra hour). Close to EVERYTHING. The outlets are right across the street. Chocolate World is a very short drive down the road. The Hershey Arena and Giant Center were also very close. Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you plan on using the pool, request building two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Suites at Hershey, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Trish F,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at The Suites at Hershey. We are delighted you were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed your time at the resort. We hope to welcome you back for a longer stay on your next visit to Hershey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were in Hershey for a Saturday night Bears hockey game so chose to stay at Bluegreen for a Friday and Saturday night. There were five of us: my husband and me, our adult son and two of his friends.

We had a two-bedroom unit in Building 2. This is the building with the gym, indoor pool and game room. We didn't visit the pool, but could see it through the window. It looks like a standard hotel pool-not olympic sized, but people had room to swim in it. The game room had a ping-pong table, foosball an air hockey table and a variety of video/pinball machines around. It was a popular place.

The kitchen was spotless and had full-sized appliances. The living room was cozy with its gas fireplace. The television were all old tube types, not flat screen. Some of the furniture throughout was a bit dinged and needs updated.

There is a sign in the elevator listing all the planned updates for this year, which included new carpet in the halls, flat screened, tvs in all the units and other upgrades. We really weren't concerned about most of this since we really didn't spend much time in the room anyway.

All in all, we felt we got good value for our money. The beds were clean and comfortable. The location can't be beaten-it's close to everything Hershey has to offer.

Yes, the trains. They exist and we could hear them during the daylight hours while we were in the hotel. I'm a very light sleeper, but I guess we were there long enough before going asleep that we got used to the sound before going to bed and had been busy enough in the day that we all slept right through it until morning. It's an individual thing, and none of the five of us was bothered by it.

In all, I feel we got good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Suites at Hershey, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello 357KathyW,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Suites at Hershey. We are pleased you enjoyed the accommodations, on-site amenities, and resort location. We hope to welcome you and your family back on your next Hershey getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very roomy. We had a two-bedroom, two-bath suite that we shared with friends. More than enough room for 4. Full kitchen and living area with gas fireplace. Very nice. Pool area was also nice. We were there in December and one place is a must - go to see Hershey Sweet lights- a drive through, 2 miles of Christmas lights. Fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Suites at Hershey, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello P T,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Suites at Hershey. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found the resort a great place to stay. We are delighted the accommodations and amenities met your needs. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Hershey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowlesville, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Blue Green Resort Suites at Hershey is a really nice place to stay. The staff if friendly and helpful.We had a 2 bedroom villa with a full kitchen, laundry in villa, gas fireplace and a Jacuzzi.
We have been with Blue Green for a couple of years and now know what we need to bring with us for the full kitchen (like our own frying pan, they have them but usually not like your own).
We take most of our own food and cook so we aren't dining out every meal, that allows us to do more activities.
We liked it so well we are returning in a couple of months and bringing friends with us.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth of 5 floors and it was nice. The Chocolate Building has the pool and fitness r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Suites at Hershey, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello Digger555,

Thank you for sharing your experience as a Bluegreen owner. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and found the resort a luxurious place to stay. Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff as we aim to share happiness with all of our owners and guests. We hope your return visit is as great as your first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have stayed here many times in the past six years. Cannot understand the negative reviews. As to the non- Bluegreen visitors - this is a time share NOT a hotel. House keeping etc is not part of the program, the units I have stayed in are always in the need of some attention - guests don't report problems and new guests have to put up with problems.

Great location - will be back again. Off to Roots tomorrow - ole farmers market

Room Tip: Travel with a blue sound maker - hotels are not home and the different sounds can keep you up - I al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Suites at Hershey, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello Peter D,

Thank you for sharing your review of The Suites at Hershey as Bluegreen owner. We are happy you enjoy the great location and the friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hershey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I have owned with Bluegreen for over 4 years. This was our first visit to Hershey and the resort was really nice. We stayed in Building 3 "Cocoa" and had a very spacious two bedroom for our family. The rooms were clean and kitchen was equipped with all of the luxuries of home. We felt very safe due to the fact that you had to use a key to get into the building as well as on the elevator. My daughter enjoyed swimming in both the outdoor and indoor pool. The pools were not overly crowded and were spacious and well maintained. I especially loved the train viewing deck. I rarely get to see trains and so I loved to watch them pass by in the evenings. We were close to all the attractions. Our favorite treat in Hershey was making a nightly visit to Rita's for frozen custard. It's the best!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Suites at Hershey, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello 2peas-N-apod98,

Thank you for sharing your first experience at The Suites at Hershey. Your feedback as Bluegreen owners is valuable to us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your accommodations and on-site amenities. We hope to welcome you back on your next sweet getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Suites at Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites at Hershey

Address: 176 East Hershey Park Drive, Hershey, PA 17033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suites at Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort has 72 rooms. Each room features two bedrooms and two baths and is approximately 1200 square feet. Additional features include full kitchen, washer/dryer, 3 TV's, dining room and living room. Each room has a king size bed in the Master bedroom, two full size beds in the Guest bedroom and a queen size sleeper sofa.We are located one mile from Hersheypark and Chocolateworld attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Suites at Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Suites At Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hotel Hershey
Suites Hershey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suites at Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.