We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sweet getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Suites at Hershey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Suites at Hershey to your Saves list
The Suites at Hershey
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   176 East Hershey Park Drive, Hershey, PA 17033   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
Forest City, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A sweet getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I have owned with Bluegreen for over 4 years. This was our first visit to Hershey and the resort was really nice. We stayed in Building 3 "Cocoa" and had a very spacious two bedroom for our family. The rooms were clean and kitchen was equipped with all of the luxuries of home. We felt very safe due to the fact that you had to use a key to get into the building as well as on the elevator. My daughter enjoyed swimming in both the outdoor and indoor pool. The pools were not overly crowded and were spacious and well maintained. I especially loved the train viewing deck. I rarely get to see trains and so I loved to watch them pass by in the evenings. We were close to all the attractions. Our favorite treat in Hershey was making a nightly visit to Rita's for frozen custard. It's the best!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Suites at Hershey, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello 2peas-N-apod98,

Thank you for sharing your first experience at The Suites at Hershey. Your feedback as Bluegreen owners is valuable to us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your accommodations and on-site amenities. We hope to welcome you back on your next sweet getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    58
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
114
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This was a wonderfully spacious suite with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a nice size living area. I really liked the gas fireplace in the living room area. Our room had a view of both the outlets (my wife loved it) and a roller coaster at Hersheypark (my kids loved it). Our building had an indoor pool which the kids used each night. I really liked the level of security. I hope to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Suites at Hershey, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Michael R,

Thank you for staying with us at The Suites at Hershey and sharing your review. We are delighted that you had a great vacation and enjoyed the spacious suite and views. We are glad we were able to share happiness with you and your family and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Hershey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived late Friday night, Labor Day Weekend to a smiling helpful person at the front desk. Check in was a breeze and she gave a great info sheet on the area restaurants and supermarkets. We stayed in Building 1 and the rooms were very large, clean and kitchen was beautiful and new with marble countertops and stainless steel appliances. The kids mainly swam in the indoor pool which was a nice size and the game room was small, but adequate. Blue Green Suites at Hershey could not be in a better location with the entrance to Hershey Park just a couple miles away and outlet stores across the street. The supermarket (Giant) is only a few minutes away as well. The only negative I could think of was the train noise which since the room was on the other side of the building not facing the tracks, it was not too bad and after a while you don't notice it. The place itself is worth the little bit of noise you hear from the trains.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Suites at Hershey, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello KathBri123,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Suites at Hershey. We are thrilled that we were able to share happiness with you and your family right at check-in with a smiling face. We are happy you enjoyed the convenient location and found the rooms very large and clean. We do hope to welcome you and family back on your next visit to Hershey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and 5 kids for 3 days and 2 night in late August 2013. We arrived around 2:45 pm and were told our room would not be ready until 4. Rhonda at the front desk took my cell number and promised to call when room was ready. In the meantime, the kids went in the pool and went to the nearby Giant supermarket to get some essentials for the room.

Right at 4, Rhonda called and we went to our room, Room 3305 in building 3. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite - 1 bedroom had a king, and the other had 2 full size beds. The sofa in the living room is a pullout. Plenty of room for the 7 of us. The kitchen was well stocked - only thing missing was a sponge (the one time I don't bring one!). We like to make our own coffee - the kitchen did not have any coffee filters but the front desk supplied us with plenty.

We could only hear the train whistle early in the morning - even in building 3. Kids didn't hear a thing though (but we had fans in their rooms for white noise). Parking garage under the building. One night there weren't any spots left so we had to park under building 2 and walk over. No big deal. The indoor pool was nice after a long day at Hershey for a quick swim.

Checkout was super easy. All in all, the hotel was really great - so close to Hershey (you could even see the buildings from some of the rides). We would definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Suites at Hershey, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Tosca3,

Thank you for staying with us at The Suites at Hershey and sharing your review. We are happy you found check-in and check-out smooth and easy. We are glad the room was plenty of room to accommodate your family and evveryone enjoyed the pool. We look forward to welcoming you back and sharing happiness on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We arrived before check in time and our suite wasn't ready. It was the first time visiting a bluegreen property where our room wasn't ready before check in time. After driving 17 hours, we were a little disapointed but decided to walk and stretch our legs at the outlet malls. Location was great since the mall, restaurants and attractions were so close. We headed over to the "shopper services" and since we are AARP members, we received a complimentary Tanger Outlet coupon book. AAA members also get the same. We went to GIANT to get grocery items we couldn't bring on the drive but found that the prices were more costly than we were used to. A few days later, we went to Karns and Walmart and found prices for the same items we prviously purchased. Also at Karns, their candy section is amazing.
Once check in time arrived, they called us and let us know everything was ready. Building 2 was our destination. This building has the indoor pool, game room and fitness room, which we found convenient. What it doesn't have are all the upgrades yet. We were amazed with all of the space in the suite. We loved it eventhough it wasn't one of the upgraded suites. The only thing was that the shower curtain in the master bedroom was moldy at the bottom. Everything else was pretty clean and in working order. Our view was of the highway but we didn't hear much noise from cars nor did we hear the trains.
The indoor and outdoor pool aren't very big but the water temp was great. In the evenings, the outdoor pool had a color changing feature that made the outdoor experience pretty fun for the family.The game room had the classics, air hockey, foosball table, ping pong, and a few arcade games. It's small but we enjoyed it since at the times we were there, we were the only ones using the games. Loved the fitness room in the mornings. It was freezing in there but we turned the fireplace on and the room temp was great afterwards. We were able to get weather info, and get updated on the local happenings every morning in the fitness room with the tv.
My only complaints of the property besides the moldy curtain was that there wasn't enough grills for all of the guests on property. There are two grills and everytime we wanted to use them, we had to wait or make other plans for food. Once we were able to grill, we ate in the gazebo, played basketball while grilling and sat by the playground. Awesome, loved it, BUT, only when were able to grill. Also, I was surprised that the resort didn't have "planned activities" like other Bluegreen properties.There is a fire pit, but you can't do anything with it except sit by it? Okay I guess. Not the greatest for kids. Maybe a s'mores night for families?
We visited Hershey Park, Chocolate World, Gettysburg, Outlets, Hollywood Casino and Harrisburg (downtown area). Most of the attractions are a bit pricey and you really can't get Hershey "logo" clothing items anywhere else (outlet mall, Walmart, Sams, Giant, Karns etc) except for the Hershey store inside Chocolate World and of course Hershy Park. You can get the hershey candy for half the cost at walmart, other grocery stores or gas stations so we didn't even bother looking too much at the candy. There are great ready to eat treats inside Chocolate World that you can purchase that won't disappoint. We tried the frozen hot cocoa and the watermelon jolly rancher jello with whip cream. Both were delicious! My family also loved the free chocolate world tour and the free piece of candy at the end. We also did the Trolly Works ride which I would totally recommend. It was very informative but so entertaining. If you are a bargain hunter like me, check out the Chocolate world website for coupons and also Harrisburg PA website for discounts on local attractions and coupons for dining. We found a few that helped us. Also, look up the Boy Scouts of Amercia Pennsylvania Dutch Council for the most discounted Hershey Park tickets. These discounted tickets are even cheaper than the ones you can purchase at Giant. Purchase them the evening before you plan on going to the park. You can use the tickets for theor "preview evening" from 7:30 until close. You pay $12 that evening for parking but it is also good for the next day. You can also buy the meal tickets for the same price as you would Hershey Park. We decided not to go that route since the Suites at Bluegreen are so close, we cooked a quick lunch at the room and were back within an 1 1/2 hrs enjoying the rides. Considering the lines for food, crowds, likes/dislikes of family members, and the savings of buying a full family meal to cook verses buying multiple $13 meal tickets just wasn't worth it.
I can't emphasize enough how great the location is considering that the hotels in the area are really spread out. I would recommend the Bluegreen Suites at Hershey in a second and we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Suites at Hershey, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello WgqMN,

Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed account of your vacation experience at The Suites at Hershey. We are glad our location and facilities were such a convenience. We are happy our accommodations were spacious and comfortable. We love knowing our guests are taking full advantage of our on-site activities and amenities. Your review will certainly be helpful for those planning a stay. We hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

suite is huge. king size bedroom, 2 queens in the 2nd bedroom. flat screen TV's in both. each bedroom is connected to it's own bathroom. full kitchen with granite countertops. washer & dryer. don't need to pack as many clothes. living room with a pullout couch also has a flat screen tv. It is a long walk- short drive to the park. love that they have both an outdoor and indoor pool as well. Much better place to stay than the other hotels in the area in my opinion.

A member of my family became ill and made a mess of one of the bathtubs. I called housekeeping and they showed up within 10 minutes and cleaned the tub right away. very good service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Suites at Hershey, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello Jeffrey L,

Thank you for staying with us at The Suites at Hershey. We are grateful for your five-star review and comments regarding the resort being the best place to stay in Hershey. We are happy you were satisfied with the service you received. We do hope that all is better with your family member. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

As many reviewers have said, the Suites are very nice. The beds are so comfy you hate to get out of them. Both pools are very nice and I appreciate that they offer ledges to sit on in the water. The elevators were fast and locked down to card entry at night for added security. Staff was friendly and efficient, although the rundown the gal at the front desk gave us was so rushed it was hard to process anything she said. There was no one waiting in line, so I can only assume she's given the same information so often that she is bored with it?

Parking is convenient and it is very easy to get on and off the property. The info packet includes very good directions to local groceries, but if you stock in food I would advise that you go a little out of your way to the WalMart Super Center out toward Harrisburg. We stopped at the nearest market the first night and suffered serious sticker shock!

Which brings me to the problems we found with the Hershey experience. Basically, we travel cheap, and Hershey is not a name that belongs in the same sentence with the word cheap. This is easily the most over commercialized and over priced location we have ever visited. Even the Hershey "factory" outlet charges considerably more for their products than we would pay for them at our local Walgreens. Unless you've got lots of expendable cash that you really want to dispose of in record time, this place has little to offer. We were here for 4 nights and struggled to find things to keep busy. It's basically a high end tourist trap with a chocolate theme.

We did take a trip out to Gettysburg to kill a day, and that was very enjoyable.

Back to the Suites, I will say that it is not quite at the level of some of the other Bluegreen properties as far as services and amenities go, and there is no outdoor balcony space, but it is still quite enjoyable for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at The Suites at Hershey, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello HoosierGal60,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Suites at Hershey. We are thrilled that you loved your stay with us. We are glad you found the beds so comfortable that you didn't want to get out but did get up to enjoy the pools.Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff. We are sorry to learn where we did not provide outstanding service at check-in. Your comments will be reviewed to improve the overall experience for future visits. We look forward to seeing you on your next Bluegreen resort visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Suites at Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites at Hershey

Address: 176 East Hershey Park Drive, Hershey, PA 17033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suites at Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort has 72 rooms. Each room features two bedrooms and two baths and is approximately 1200 square feet. Additional features include full kitchen, washer/dryer, 3 TV's, dining room and living room. Each room has a king size bed in the Master bedroom, two full size beds in the Guest bedroom and a queen size sleeper sofa.We are located one mile from Hersheypark and Chocolateworld attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your The Suites at Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Suites At Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hotel Hershey
Suites Hershey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suites at Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.