We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort alternative to Shore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Hershey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hotel Hershey to your Saves list
The Hotel Hershey
100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids Stay Play & Eat FREE
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Hopewell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent resort alternative to Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My family stayed overnight July 4th week. We arrived early, 10 am, and obtained the requested early check-in and went to enjoy the outdoor pool. The outdoor pool is situated in a very beautiful setting with vistas of rolling hills and mature trees. We enjoyed a yummy lunch poolside of fish tacos and turkey burgers. We sat by the adult pool on clean lounge chairs, and had use of a clean bathroom and bathhouse facility with plentiful dry towels. It was so much more luxurious than a similarly high priced room at the shore and had the advantage of no sand in my swim suit, no cigarette butts everywhere or smokers turning the beach into one huge ashtray. All the staff we talked to were pleasant, helpful and seemed happy with their jobs. In the evening, we went to the Circular for an excellent dinner. The next morning we ate a yummy buffet breakfast at the Circular, checked out and went back for some more peaceful poolside relaxation before cleaning up and heading home. Consider what you will pay for much less at the shore and The Hotel Hershey is worth the every penny. We loved it and plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    247
    81
    41
    48
See reviews for
605
322
21
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a joke. I spent close to $500 a night for a room the size of a closet. I reserved for three people.. There's one queen bed with nothing else! They offered a cot but unfortunately the room is too small and would not fit. The only good thing is the pool and the scenery. But not at alllllll worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey Enterta... R, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Sharona Y,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent visit to The Hotel Hershey. I am glad that you took the time to do so, and appreciate your feedback. We strive to provide outstanding hospitality to all of our guests and I regret that we failed to do so for you.

I hope that when your travels bring you back to Hershey, you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The wife is just mad on chocolate, so as a surprise kept a stopover here a surprise, the hotel is just superb, our room was immaculate and no surprise that the location for our visit to the theme park, water park and chocolate world was spot on, hotel was a great place to relax in and some decent restaurants in nearby Harrisburg

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We recently took the kids for an overnight getaway to Hershey. The Hotel Hershey does everything right. Excellent staff. Great amenities. Pristine grounds. Comfy beds. Chocolate at check-in. Live music poolside. Shuttle to the attractions. Free valet parking. And, you know it's great when the kids vote to hang at the pool instead of Hershey Park! Special kudos to lifeguards Josh and Jessica for befriending our girls! We're already talking about our next visit!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey Enterta... R, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Gman1375,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Hotel Hershey. We strive to create memorable experiences for our guests, and it is always nice to hear that we have been successful. I will be sure to share your nice comments with Josh and Jessica.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Beautiful and convenient location for family vacation. The hotel has been maintained meticulously over the years, lacking nothing, but full of charm and elegance. The amenities are very nice from the swimming pools to the spa. My wife had the pleasure of spending a day there, and she stated that it was wonderful. I enjoyed the meals at the various restaurants. A good balance of what is new and old. I usually do not get much input from my daughter on where we stay, but she gave me a big thumbs up for the Hershey Hotel. Now that is a huge compliment!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey Enterta... R, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear ChiKid60035,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Hotel Hershey. We are very pleased to be your first 5 Star Review!

I am glad that your wife had a wonderful time at the spa, and that your daughter enjoyed her stay as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Very nice staff; very cool Iberian Bar; nice spa; great outdoor pool with an "adults only" section; plenty of comfortable chairs and rockers everywhere. The stores had some really clever gifts. The hilltop setting made for a great view and breeze, even on a hot day.

Room Tip: ask for a large room because the small ones are too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The drive up the road was striking as we approached the hotel. The folks at the front desk were so quick and gave us chocolate bars! The room was small but beautifully appointed. The bathroom had granite tiled floors and walls. We enjoyed the indoor pool with a lifeguard. The maid offered turn-down service with kiss3es on the pillow. We took advantage of the shuttle bus service to Hershey Park--hotel guests get to enter an hour earlier than the public.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the older section. There were rooms right off the indoor pool--it seemed to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hershey

Address: 100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#1 Family Hotel in Hershey
#1 Business Hotel in Hershey
#1 Green Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort with charming accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotel.de and Expedia so you can book your The Hotel Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Hershey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.