We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Hershey; old world charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Hershey

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Hershey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel Hershey
100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 hotels in Hershey
GreenLeadersGold level
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hotel Hershey; old world charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stay at the Hotel Hershey when I am in PA with work. The lobby is fantastic with stained glass ceilings, you get a chocolate bar with your check in and on your pillow every night. The rooms are great; the beds are so plush and comfy. The restaurant has recently been refurbished and is lovely but a bit overpriced foodwise, especially in the evenings ; still there are cars to take you to Hershey town and maybe even Harrisburg is you are nice to the drivers.
A few bits are looking a bit tired like the elevators, hallways and the gym but the rooms more than make up for that and the grounds are stunning.

Green Features: they are pretty eco savvy with the towel and linen changing policy which you can opt in or out of,
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Paul O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Hotel Hershey.

I am glad to hear that you choose to stay at the Hotel when you are in the area for business, and that you find the hotel rooms to be comfortable.

The Hotel undertakes construction projects on a regular basis, and our current project is building a new Fitness Center and upgrading our Indoor Pool for you to enjoy during your future visits to Hershey.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    792
    197
    68
    33
    43
See reviews for
497
265
16
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Spent a weekend at the Hershey Hotel for a family wedding. Have been to the hotel on past occasions, but not in last few years. Hotel management and services are as good as ever. Main dining room food quality much poorer than in past. management needs to take hold of the kitchen, return it to past levels.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Starting with the valets, front desk staff and amazing concierge, Nefertiti, our stay could not have been better. Our King room was on the small side, but very well appointed with a comfortable bed. Chocolate at turndown nightly, of course! Everyone at the hotel seemed proud to be there, and empowered to make sure we had a great guest experience.

The constant references to Hershey history were self serving, interesting the first time, but not for the 3rd or 4th time. Milton Hershey's face is plastered all over the hotel. Great success story, we get it.

Note: Frequent groups can overtake venues like the pool, restaurants, golf, etc., so be sure to call before you go. We were surprised how busy it was in September. We were also VERY surprised that the theme park was only operating on weekends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALTIMORE
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Can't praise enough! From the extremely pleasant young man who checked us in to the equally pleasant young woman who checked us out, everything was excellent. Service was outstanding. We enjoyed the walking trails and the beautiful hotel decoration and gardens. Breakfast buffet very good. Front desk welcome set the tone for a most enjoyable stay. (We could hear a little hallway noise and rumblings from the water pipes, but nothing that even slightly impaired our enjoyment of the stay.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Recently went to hotel Hershey for three nights. The place was beautiful and clean. The grounds where amazing, the hotel spotless . The room was comfortable a little on the small side, but spotless and nice. The hotel has a shuttle bus that takes you to Hershey park and other Hershey attraction . It's well worth it , you get in the park right away no car line and parking fee. Buses run from 8am to 11pm. They run every half hour. The hotel has a great outdoor swimming pool and water tube slides for kids. There is also an indoor pool open late .There are restaurants on the grounds walking distance for easy dinning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear John G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Hotel Hershey. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the grounds, especially the outdoor pool area.

We hope to welcome you back to The Hotel Hershey during your next visit to Hershey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I went to the Wine Festival at the Hotel Hershey this weekend and then took several people in my group to dinner at the Harvest restaurant, which is a restaurant on the premises. I found the staff extremely rude and particularly in the lounge/bar area. For a hotel of such prestige and history, the help left a lot to be desired. Very disappointed. Spent a lot of money at this establishment only to get treated very disrespectfully.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear TCBSomewhere_USA,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit toThe Hotel Hershey.
Please accept my personal apolgies for the disappointmet you experienced at Harvest.

I do hope that you will consider The Hotel Hershey in your future travel plans. We would
welcome the opportunity to have you experience the true levels of hospitality and service
that are the hallmarks of The Hotel Hershey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Checked in just hours ago, love everything about this hotel, but the room we are getting is right above a construction area, so noise level is unacceptable, especially my 2 year old needs a nap around noon. I do recommend this hotel but try to avoid 620 area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Hotel Hershey.

Dear sccoolshow,

While I was glad to hear that you enjoyed the Hotel overall, I was disappointed to learn that our construction impacted your stay. Please accept my personal apologies. We are currently in the process of building a new Fitness Center, and we do take efforts to execute our upgrades with minimal effect on our guests.

I hope that you choose to stay at The Hotel Hershey during your future travels and give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our total guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hershey

Address: 100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hershey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#1 Business Hotel in Hershey
#1 Green Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort with charming accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Hershey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.