We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend July 20-22nd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Hershey

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Hershey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel Hershey
100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 hotels in Hershey
GreenLeadersGold level
York PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wedding Weekend July 20-22nd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel and the grounds are fantastic. The room was nice but nothing over the top. Clean, comfortable, and well appointed decorations The price of your stay for this hotel definitley reflects all the amenities they have on property. The wedding ceremony and reception were beautiful. If you want an over the top weekend, stay at this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    780
    190
    68
    33
    43
See reviews for
485
263
16
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I just returned from a delightful stay at The Hotel Hershey with my family. The hotel and grounds are impeccable, but what really makes it special is the staff ! They treat you like family and I felt very welcome there. I would definitely go back- my kids LOVED it and so did I !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I came to Hershey for a one day conference in July.

The hotel is one of the Historic Hotels of America, which includes a number of hotels built by barons of US Commerce,

in this case by Milton Hershey, of Hershey’s Chocolate fame.

Check in at the hotel was quick and efficient and included your choice of chocolate bar.

The rooms are done in the classic style you would expect from a hotel built in the 1930’s with wingback chairs and lots of nice finishings.

That said, they have done a nice job keeping the hotel up to date and the rooms are very well maintained.

The bed was quite comfortable.

Air conditioning was pretty good given that outside temperatures were approx 90 degrees F.

There was a nice desk to work at with a built in plug.

Internet was wireless and free (unless you wanted to pay for faster internet, which I don’t think would be necessary unless you were doing streaming video).

Room service was prompt and the quality of the food was very good.

The conference meeting rooms were quite good and the buffet type breakfast and lunch were top quality.

Outside the walking and running trails was a great way to get some fresh air and relax.

Overall, this is a great old hotel and it is well maintained.

Room Tip: I stayed in 352 which has a small bathroom as it is located on a bend in the hall, suggest you inqui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is very nice and across the street from Hershey Park. On the good side, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and the rooms are in good shape. The pools (main pool and adult pool) are terrific and really nice to go in. The pool staff was nice, but a little slow. The fitness center was good too. On the other hand, our room was small, and the door was very heavy. My in-laws had a hard time with their room door, so I had to help. Also, we asked for hypoallergenic sheets and pillows, and the housekeeping staff didn't get the message, and that delayed our entry into the room. The elevators were very slow, and some of them were on the small side.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I usually stay in the lodge, but decided to give the hotel a try. The grounds are gorgeous. I would definitely stay there again, but it is quite expensive even on nights when the place is not full. The circular dining room is amazing. Very close to Hershey Park, Chocolate World and the outlets. There is a shuttle that goes from the hotel to the other Hershey locations (lodge/campground/amusement park) There is a hiking trail and various sporting facilities. There are boutiques in the lobby. It really was beautiful and we loved just walking the grounds at times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had just 24 hours in the Hershey area, and it was too hot to go to the parks, so we decided to splurge on the Hershey Hotel - mostly for the 4-star experience and the outdoor pool complex. On the positve side, the hotel was amazing as advertised! The grounds are beautiful! The service from every single person we encountered was outstanding. At check-in, the kids met one of the hershey characters, and each member of our party was given a hershey chocolate bar. Our two-queen room was located on the 6th floor of the West Tower (which was actually the 2nd floor), with a balcony that overlooked the indoor swimming pool. All room amenities, the beds, the bathroom were outstanding as expected. In the morning, the kids did the scavenger hunt (a great way to get familiar with the hotel). The front desk was kind enough to give us one extra hour for check-out, so we played in the outdoor and indoor pools. The water slides were a blast (for both me and the kids), and the salt-water pool was very refreshing on a hot, summer morning.

On the negative side (and I'm really stretching here), my wife used the exercise room and thought the treadmill was a bit out-dated, or at least, not the quality she is used to running on. The remote/TV attached to the treadmill didn't work either. Finally, the cost of the hotel felt like it was a bit much for the otherwise family-friendly Hershey, PA. One tip to help a little with cost - I called the 800-number and asked for the AAA rate. This at least takes 10% off and pays for your taxes and gov't fees ;)

Bottom line: Hotel Hershey was a great 1-night splurge for our first trip to this area. But next time, we'll probably check out the less-expensive Lodge, or one of the surrounding hotels.

Room Tip: If you have kids that enjoy swimming, you might ask for a room with a patio/balcony over the indoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

First of all it’s a bit pricey but well worth it! The hotel is immaculate. Everyone is so welcoming and just great. As soon as you check in you are welcomed by everyone, right away you feel the difference between The Hotel Hershey and a Comfort Inn. There are pictures everywhere providing you with information regarding Mr. Milton, Hershey Family, and staff. Our room was one of the rooms with the indoor pool right outside and we really enjoyed the convenience. We did not go to the outdoor pool but we do know it was far. The hotel is huge and at times confusing, it was a mission for us to get to any area of the hotel, but with the being said the employees were always around the corner going out of there way to help us find the way. Once my husband was lost and an employee who was off the clock and about to go home, took her time to not give directions but to walk my husband to the area he was looking for! I wish he had gotten her name but he did not. We did have room service for breakfast and it was great! They set up such a gorgeous table and it was perfect, like eating at a restaurant but we were in private and in our bathrobes. Anything you can think of they had, they had a scale in my room (which I loved and have never seen before), they had a wringer to wring your bathing suits, and they provided these bags to put them in so if you have to leave you don’t wet all of your clothes. It can use some sprucing up but nothing you will really notice unless you are looking for it. Overall I am so glad we stayed there and it was well worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs G,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Hotel Hershey. It is always nice to hear that our guests had an enjoyable stay with us, and that our employees helped to provide a memorable experience.

I hope that when your travels bring you to Hershey in the future, you choose to stay with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hershey

Address: 100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hershey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#1 Business Hotel in Hershey
#1 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort with charming accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Hershey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.