We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay at Hershel Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Hershey

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Hershey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel Hershey
100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Remember September
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Short Stay at Hershel Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellence in everything they do at this historic hotel. If you visit be sure to take the free "hotel tour" as the interesting history of Milton Hershey and his hotel is explained - a fascinating story. Also - make sure to take a twilight walk around the grounds after your dinner in the Circular restaurant and tour the gardens in the morning when it's cool.

The rooms and food are a bit pricey but it truly is worth it. One note of caution - the drinks run to the high end of costs. I bought a glass of the "House White" wine and it was $15. Tasted great but still...

We went all in for dinner at the Circular. Splurged but it was worth it as a treat for the family. All the dishes were excellent, the drinks were good and I bought a Beringer Chardonnay for $25 a bottle.

The Hershey Hotel offers a Military discount also which helps with the costs a bit. This was our third stay and we try to do it at least once a year. We live about 100 miles away so it is easy to drive there but each time we've stayed we've met people from other countries who flew in just to visit the hotel and the park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear ReedK,

Thank you for your recent review of The Hotel Hershey.

I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you participated in our Hotel Historian Albert’s tour. I agree that the story of Milton Hershey and The Hotel Hershey is a fascinating one.

I will share your compliments of The Circular with our Director of Food & Beverage.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel for your fourth visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    208
    72
    37
    44
See reviews for
538
279
18
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is probably the most beautiful and most accommodating hotel! Great for couples and families. Chocolate everywhere! The Spa was truly relaxing. We stayed here in April 2010, and are dying to return!!

We ate breakfast in the Circle Room... what a spectacular view!! The food was so good. God, I miss this place...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the 6 bedroom Woodside Cottage on the grounds of the Hotel Hershey. The Cottage was beautiful. 4 bedrooms each with a private bath and private entrance from outside and a small fridge and safe. A great room that included a tv, fireplace, sofa and 2 chairs with a dining table that could seat 8 people, a "kitchen" area with a small sink, microwave, small fridge with icemaker and 2 cabinets that included mugs and a few paper plates and utensils.
Downstairs were 2 bedrooms, each with private bath and private outside entrance, a great room with entry from outside, a sofa and 2 chairs and a small "kitchen" area as upstairs, and dining area for 4 people.
We travelled with 8 adults and 4 children under 4.
We had arrived early, around 10:30 am and planned a day at the park and water park. The Hotel held our cars in day valet and took my cell number to let us know when the cottage would be ready. We returned to the hotel at 4pm and were taken to the cottage but only 2 of the rooms were ready. It was inconvenient to stuff into 2 rooms and had to wait until housekeeping was finished 45 minutes later. This was the only glitch and I will be following up with the Hotel.
The food from the circular dining room breakfast buffet, Trevi and Harvest restaurant was delicious and there was good variety. Always a children's menu and they were agreeable when ordering to put the childrens order in quickly. Small cribs were available and although there were high chairs in the restaurants, they were not available for rental to the cottage.
The park was very clean and covered alot of area. Games, rides, all the usual and the water park inside the park was a great hit. Security was ample and lines were not terribly long.
Staff was pleasant and thorough in addressing needs/questions. Room service was quick and convenient.
Rain was not too much of an inconvenience as we went to the Chocolate Factory and indoor pool and the cottage did allow us to spread out with games.

We will definately be coming again.

Room Tip: The cottages were behind the hotel, maybe a 5 minute walk. Shuttle service is necessary from the ho...
See more room tips
Green Features: The cottages offered a "green" approach with linens and the like.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear wdntgoback,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Hotel Hershey.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay in one of our Woodside Cottages. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Hershey in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in both a queen room in the hotel and a Woodside cottage room recently (the cottage wasn't available until Fri night. We arrived on Thurs, so we stayed the first night in the hotel and then Fri/Sat in the Oak cottage. I can't say enough about this hotel. The service was spectacular from the first moment that we arrived, and lasted throughout our trip. The staff went out of their way to anticipate our every need. The room in the hotel was gorgeous. It reminded me of stepping back in time to an opulent resort in the 1940's. the decor was lovely, the amenities fabulous. Then, on to the Woodside cottage. These cottages are gigantic, and beautiful. We again had a room with 2 queen beds. The room was more like a suite. The bathroom in our room was almost as big as some hotel rooms. It had a HUGE, deep tub, a rainfall shower for 2 with a separate hand-held shower head, a double-sink, and wall-mounted flat-screen TV. The room had a huge closet, Keurig coffee maker, 2 queen beds with benches at their base, a flat-screen TV, and separate dressing area with a small refrigerator housed in a beautiful cabinet. There was a great room with fireplace, dining room table, sink, refrigerator, and a beautiful balcony overlooking the woods - complete with rocking chairs. Both the indoor and outdoor pools at the hotel were lovely, though we didn't get to go swimming. We will definitely return soon!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel last week and found a gem. The staff was wonderful and the property has been kept up in fine style. The ambiance is old world with all the amenities of a current 5 star experience. Just a stones throw from the park and downtown. Worth the price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked last minute, so we paid around $1500 for a weekend away. Arrived at the hotel, and was told we had booked too many people in the room (we have a 15 mos old, which made 4). We had asked for a crib, but the girl (kid) at the desk was snotty about it. Checked in around 5pm, received crib at 10pm.

Day 2. We had a guest arrive who couldn't stay on property because it was booked. I can't fault them for that. We told her tours at the hotel and take the shuttle to the park to meet us. They would not allow that because she didn't have a room key and her last name is different from the reservation. Nice. We finally talked to someone in management who gave her a key to ride the bus.

Day 3. We took a stroller up to the main building for breakfast. It was close to 1030 when they stop serving. We got to the elevator, which took about 15 minutes. We had to use it, as we had a big stroller and the stairs didn't seem like a great idea. We arrived at 1030 and were told that we were too late for breakfast, although everything was still set up and people were eating.

Day 3 also...
We thought about staying another night. Checked online, and the same room type we were in was available. Checked the weather, and it looked poor, so we decided not to. Instead, we called for a late checkout. We were denied because they had someone scheduled in the room. They obviously had other rooms of the same class available (as evidenced on the website), but the person on the phone was unable or unwilling to make any effort to accommodate the request.

Will not return. Not even close to worth the money.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Brandon L,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not as you had hoped it would be.

I understand your concern that your friend was initially denied access to the shuttle to Hersheypark. Due to the popularity of the shuttle, we have to limit access to Hotel guests to avoid unnecessary waits for our guests. I was glad to hear that your friend was eventually able to ride the shuttle.

This is our busy time of year and it is not always possible to honor late check-out requests, however we should have offered alternatives, such as luggage storage and use of our locker and fitness facilities for changing and refreshing prior to your departure.

Again, please accept my apologies for the disappointments you experienced. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience and how we might restore your confidence in our service capabilities. Please feel free to contact our Guest Relations Manager at 717-533-2171.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I was really looking forward to our three night stay at this hotel since I had heard great things about it but boy, was I disappointed! This was truly a horrible stay due to terrible customer service and tons of screaming children. Not having children, I tended to forget about the "children" factor when it came to booking this hotel. And the entire stay was dominated by screaming and running children. I assume if you have children, then this wouldn't bother you but it drove us crazy! We ate one meal, breakfast and while it was OK, the children just screamed throughout the whole meal and we were ignored by the waitress. We left without getting a check, because the waitress never came by, and then when I spoke with the hostess about paying the bill, the waitress confronted us and said she was sorry, which she clearly wasn't. That turned into an ugly confrontation with "Ginny", total disaster! Then a front door man started to imitate my husband after he asked for our car to be brought up. I thought it was totally inappropriate and offensive behavior to make fun of guests. My husband is a power lifter and quite muscular so his walk is a little different but I don't expect people to make fun of him, especially the staff at a pricey hotel. Later that day we were ignored by the concierge. The whole stay was awful. This hotel is totally overpriced, NO customer service, rooms are old and there is a massive amount of screaming children. I will never make the mistake of staying here again. It is TOTALLY over priced. We had just come from the Ritz Carlton in Philadelphia and that was less expensive and the service was awesome!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear SaiaLaw,

Thank you for sharing your comments and concerns regarding your recent stay at The Hotel Hershey. We appreciate receiving feedback, both positive and negative. I sincerely apologize for the disappointments you encountered during your stay. We obviously do not want our guests to have this type of experience.

I know that our Guest Relations Manager has reached out to you to follow up on your concerns and explore ways that we might be able to restore your confidence in our service. I do hope that we will have the opportunity for further dialog about your concerns. Please feel free to contact our Guest Relations Manager at 717-533-2171.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hershey

Address: 100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#1 Business Hotel in Hershey
#1 Family Hotel in Hershey
#1 Green Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort with charming accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Hershey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.