We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Facility. Horrible Service.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Hershey

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Hershey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 1 more site!
The Hotel Hershey
100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 hotels in Hershey
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Facility. Horrible Service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked last minute, so we paid around $1500 for a weekend away. Arrived at the hotel, and was told we had booked too many people in the room (we have a 15 mos old, which made 4). We had asked for a crib, but the girl (kid) at the desk was snotty about it. Checked in around 5pm, received crib at 10pm.

Day 2. We had a guest arrive who couldn't stay on property because it was booked. I can't fault them for that. We told her tours at the hotel and take the shuttle to the park to meet us. They would not allow that because she didn't have a room key and her last name is different from the reservation. Nice. We finally talked to someone in management who gave her a key to ride the bus.

Day 3. We took a stroller up to the main building for breakfast. It was close to 1030 when they stop serving. We got to the elevator, which took about 15 minutes. We had to use it, as we had a big stroller and the stairs didn't seem like a great idea. We arrived at 1030 and were told that we were too late for breakfast, although everything was still set up and people were eating.

Day 3 also...
We thought about staying another night. Checked online, and the same room type we were in was available. Checked the weather, and it looked poor, so we decided not to. Instead, we called for a late checkout. We were denied because they had someone scheduled in the room. They obviously had other rooms of the same class available (as evidenced on the website), but the person on the phone was unable or unwilling to make any effort to accommodate the request.

Will not return. Not even close to worth the money.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Brandon L,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not as you had hoped it would be.

I understand your concern that your friend was initially denied access to the shuttle to Hersheypark. Due to the popularity of the shuttle, we have to limit access to Hotel guests to avoid unnecessary waits for our guests. I was glad to hear that your friend was eventually able to ride the shuttle.

This is our busy time of year and it is not always possible to honor late check-out requests, however we should have offered alternatives, such as luggage storage and use of our locker and fitness facilities for changing and refreshing prior to your departure.

Again, please accept my apologies for the disappointments you experienced. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience and how we might restore your confidence in our service capabilities. Please feel free to contact our Guest Relations Manager at 717-533-2171.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    716
    187
    64
    33
    40
See reviews for
448
249
16
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I was really looking forward to our three night stay at this hotel since I had heard great things about it but boy, was I disappointed! This was truly a horrible stay due to terrible customer service and tons of screaming children. Not having children, I tended to forget about the "children" factor when it came to booking this hotel. And the entire stay was dominated by screaming and running children. I assume if you have children, then this wouldn't bother you but it drove us crazy! We ate one meal, breakfast and while it was OK, the children just screamed throughout the whole meal and we were ignored by the waitress. We left without getting a check, because the waitress never came by, and then when I spoke with the hostess about paying the bill, the waitress confronted us and said she was sorry, which she clearly wasn't. That turned into an ugly confrontation with "Ginny", total disaster! Then a front door man started to imitate my husband after he asked for our car to be brought up. I thought it was totally inappropriate and offensive behavior to make fun of guests. My husband is a power lifter and quite muscular so his walk is a little different but I don't expect people to make fun of him, especially the staff at a pricey hotel. Later that day we were ignored by the concierge. The whole stay was awful. This hotel is totally overpriced, NO customer service, rooms are old and there is a massive amount of screaming children. I will never make the mistake of staying here again. It is TOTALLY over priced. We had just come from the Ritz Carlton in Philadelphia and that was less expensive and the service was awesome!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear SaiaLaw,

Thank you for sharing your comments and concerns regarding your recent stay at The Hotel Hershey. We appreciate receiving feedback, both positive and negative. I sincerely apologize for the disappointments you encountered during your stay. We obviously do not want our guests to have this type of experience.

I know that our Guest Relations Manager has reached out to you to follow up on your concerns and explore ways that we might be able to restore your confidence in our service. I do hope that we will have the opportunity for further dialog about your concerns. Please feel free to contact our Guest Relations Manager at 717-533-2171.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I looked and looked, but really there are few criticisms to be given for this fantastic hotel, set on the hill overlooking Hershey, PA. ( I am astounded at some of the criticisms given, especially comparing the breakfast to an IHop!) Oh, my - in the gorgeous, circular dining room with its stained glass windows, the breakfast buffet had every food imaginable - a fruit table that was very popular, delectable sticky buns and raspberry blintzes, hot foods galore, and omelets made to taste. And the view was gorgeous, too.
We had a very clean room, with soft robes waiting for us in the closet and exceptional service. Beds were turned down for us when we returned in the evening after dinner, complete with candy kisses. If anything negative, the beds were a bit soft and had us rolling to the middle.
Staff were probably the best we've ever encountered. EVERY single person greeted us with a smile and hello and our every question was answered pleasantly. We had two delicious dinners prepared for our group and they were both very good.
The location is excellent - just a short distance from the amusement park across the way and Chocolate World and the Hershey Story. Just an hour away is the Sight and Sound Theater where we saw "Noah."
We did not shop in the hotel, but it was there for those who desired to look and buy, and we saw an outlet mall not far away. A spa and swimming were also available.
I think this place had it alll!

Green Features: A special recycling bag was in our room for our use.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear dikline,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The Hotel Hershey. We are always happy to receive feedback from our guests, and I will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

We hope your travels bring you back to The Hotel Hershey in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wow what a great hotel, you can park and not even move your car. Great restaurants , pool, spa shops . There so much to see there if you want to keep busy also. So for yourself , girlfriends , or family all is great

Room Tip: All are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 1 night recently and was DUMBFOUNDED when I used one of the hotel side entrance (the one by the pool) and noted that no room key was needed to enter/re-enter that area of the hotel. That door seemed to be unlocked at all times (we came back to the hotel at around 10pm) and walked right in. Really??!!! That entrance leads straight to the guest room hallway (Rooms 510 etc....). I mean, seriously? No doormen, no attendant, nobody to check who walks in or out... I know this is Hershey and all is nice, friendly, sweet and chocolate-coated but this is 2013 and in these days and age, a 5-star hotel should be more mindful of their guests security.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HersheyResorts, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Hershey & The Hotel Hershey. I appreciate your comments about our Security and how we secure the access to the Hotel.
All exterior entry doors to the Hotel, except the Hotel Front Door, are locked from 12 midnight till 6:00 am. The rear entry door from our Formal Gardens into the Main Hotel can be opened via a Guest Room Key Card. There are signs posted on each door informing Guests that the doors will be locked and secured during these hours.
In addition all entrances are observed & monitored via closed circuit Security Cameras. Including the door that you mention in your comment.
We did check into the door in question and discovered that the sign stating that the door is locked from Midnight to 6:00am was missing. The sign has since been replaced.
Thank you for pointing this out. It is valuable input that is truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel several times, most recently with my husband and children for a New Year's getaway. I wish we could have stayed longer. The dance party for families was great and unexpected, as was the outdoor skating. This is becoming a destination in and of itself. Highly recommend. Spa is great as always.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is not a cheap resort but has some of the best staff money can buy. Looking for a get away with the kids this is the place. Great hotel with fantastic amusement park. The grounds are immaculate and the food is great!

Room Tip: Every room is great we got basic room and had 2 queens and brought in a blow mattress for child
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hershey

Also Known As:
Resort Hershey
Address: 100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hershey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#1 Family Hotel in Hershey
#1 Green Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort with charming accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your The Hotel Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.