We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Hotel-- Hershey Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Hershey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Hotel Hershey to your Saves list
The Hotel Hershey
100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Halloween In Hershey
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Hershey
GreenLeadersGold level
pa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Classy Hotel-- Hershey Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Hershey Hotel, lives up to all the expectations and price. I highly reccommend this hotel, staff is great, food is great, the grounds are beautiful, and of course the chocolate is sweet... the only dissappointment is you have to buy your breakfast....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    213
    73
    37
    44
See reviews for
548
287
18
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had heard that you need to see this hotel when in Hershey. And the outside is amazing with a fantastic view of all of Hershey. So if nothing else, go and walk out on the second floor veranda and look at the view of the town. Having said that, it was such a disappointment to see the maintenance not being carried out in this beautiful building. There were huge water stains in the circular dining room as well as the Spanish styled inside fountain area. The windows looked original but the caulk around the windows was in need of replacement. Just a bunch of small things that added up to the impression that the grand Hotel Hershey has seen it's heyday and it's not today.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Spent the weekend for a family gathering & truly had a great time. A bit pricy but you know that going in. Hotel & the grounds are immaculate, rooms are very well appointed with quality bedding, furniture, etc. but somewhat small for the price. We had a 5 course "chef table" dinner which was good--but I wouldn't call it a 5 star affair. Service was very good, servers very knowledgeable & we did enjoy it. Portions are extremely small but the presentation is very good as were the all the courses. Dessert portions were absolutely tiny!!

The main restaurant closes for breakfast at 10:30 AM---on a weekend!!!! We were limited to coffee & snacks in a coffee shop when we showed up at the main restaurant at 10:40AM ---that to me is just CRAZY!

As this hotel was built in the 30's with what look to multiple additions over the years to accommodate the spa and fitness center, it does have some drawbacks. The elevators are very small so it seemed as if we had to wait longer than usual to use an elevator that wasn't full all the time.

The spa has a very odd layout--you actually have to walk up to 2 flights of stairs to use the relaxing rooms or steam area--after a massage--last thing you want to do is walk up & down steps to relax. For a high end hotel--seems a bit tacky to add the 20% tip on as well. The chairs in the spa area are not very comfortable either--like chairs you'd have in an office. Overall, I'd give the spa a grade of "C".

Fitness center is good but again--it's located actually outside the main building--not a big deal but then again--for a 5 star hotel--the amenities could be a little better.

Overall--a very enjoyable time--would highly recommend it but be prepared to pay a bit more that it is actually worth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Spent our 1 year wedding anniversary there. Book the "romantic" package. Great service great atmosphere. Ate dinner at IBERIAN LOUNGE, awesome service and a great fire place to have a drink in front of!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We found ourselves at the Hershey by accident but loved every minute.
Had made plans to stay in Strasburg Pennsylvania but after seeing the accomodations there decided to road over to Hershey. I always wanted to visit the Hotel Hershey.

Last minute plans proved perfect!

Do it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great getaway hotel. We had planned to be at the beach, but Hurricane Sandy kept us away from the shore. We schedule our three day/two night stay only a few days ahead of time and it was great. One call allowed us to book our hotel, spa, and restaurant reservations. They have outstanding customer service all around. The hotel is very clean and well kept, it has a very U.S. version of the Old World elegance feel about it. The bathrooms are clean and very nice, but not super high end. Classic tub/shower, one sink, etc. The room air/heat is the old school wall radiator where you adjust for hot/cold. Room was always comfortable, but you do have to keep tweaking it to get it just warm/cool enough. The room service menu actually has great diversity. The food options were limited while we were there due to the storm, but everything we tried was very good and not too overly priced for hotel rates. The spa is top rate and is what made the trip. We would go back for another spa weekend in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask to face the rear gardens, not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been to this hotel numerous times, mostly to visit the Hershey Spa (one of the best I've ever been to). Most recently I visited for a business conference. Check-in was smooth. They had the room ready and they give you a choice of dark or milk chocolate candy upon arrival. The room was spotless and they provide you with spa quality products in the bathrooms (cocoa bean soap and body wash). The food is great. I especially recommend brunch in the circular dining room (a large oval room with glass windows displaying spectacular garden views) if you can get it (I know they are renovating the room this winter so it may or may not be open). The hotel is a historic property but it has just enough modern touches (i.e. flat screen tvs, ipod speaker doc). I would def recommend a visit if coming to the area. If you want to go to the spa you need to reserve early. It books quickly sometimes, especially during the weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hershey

Address: 100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#1 Green Hotel in Hershey
#1 Family Hotel in Hershey
#1 Business Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury resort with charming accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Hotel Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Hershey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.