We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but make sure you get someone who understands english!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kobe Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kobe Japanese Restaurant
2499 E State St, Hermitage, PA 16148
724-981-9955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 57 Restaurants in Hermitage
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, but make sure you get someone who understands english!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have eaten here at least 7+ times. The cooks usually don't understand english, & it is hard to express to them how you want your food cooked. The waitresses usually even have a hard time conveying it to them, so beware of that. I have always had a good meal though. The cooking "show" is fun to watch. Young kids love it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I love sushi, but not this restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Unskilled sushi chef, raw fish are dry and obviously old. Very nice interior and drink bar. But the sushi is not recommended. Didn't try the teppanyaki tables, and I won't ever do, since I don't plan on going there again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Middlesex, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

great love japanese steakhouse . price reasonalble too.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good food but iffy service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My friends and I went on a busy saturday night. We were told it would be an hour wait to get seated but we spoke up and asked how long the wait would be to sit at the tables in the bar...the host said "no wait". He just assumed we would only want hibachi. We waited a while to get served in the bar area...our waitress complained that she had a lot of tables and kept making excuses why she was providing lackluster service. Normally I don't care about waiting a bit on a busy saturday but I also don't want to hear a million reasons why I am not getting a refill or all of the items I ordered.

On a positive note, when the food finally arrived it was very good. The atmosphere was fun in the bar area and we decided to try the hibachi some other time when it was less busy.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobe Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kobe Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kobe Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.