We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a great hotel experience, keep looking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Hermitage

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Hermitage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Hermitage
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2810 South Hermitage Road, Hermitage, PA 16148   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Hermitage
Hays, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a great hotel experience, keep looking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Considering the population of the Hermitage/ Sharon area, there are surprisingly few hotels to choose from. I booked the Econolodge for three nights. My stay went from average to "not good". The hotel itself is an old hotel. Rooms need updated and renovated. There are no rooms available with front-facing windows, and the rear window in my room overlooked an overgrown field full of dilapidated structures in various stages of decay. You had to put your shoulder to the door to free it every time you wanted to get into the room. The bathroom was very small. The room was very basic, with cheap lamps (think 40 watt bulbs) and furniture. The king bed was comfortable and the television worked. The breakfast area is virtually non-existent - just tucked into about a 6 foot corner of the (small) lobby. Only two tables to sit at in the breakfast area. I had a non-smoking room but the smoke smell from adjoining rooms permeated the bathroom so badly that I had to keep the door closed to try to eliminate the bad odor (and that still didn't work). Lastly, the hotel is situated below the highway level, You have to travel up a sharply inclined driveway to get out. It snowed the second night I was there and the parking lot was not cleared. Not easy to exit the hotel under those conditions. If you are looking for a great hotel experience this is not the hotel for you. It is bordering on "less than average".

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dipnijan, Manager at Econo Lodge Hermitage, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Hughes,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are sorry you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. We have made several improvements since your stay. Some of them are new carpets, vanities and bedding. We are still making improvements and hope that you will come and see our new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
9
7
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed here while hosting a friend from out of town. The motel doesn't look like much from the outisde, but our room was large, clean and comfortable and the front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. I was very impressed by the size of the room -- it was larger than the typical hotel in this price range. They also offer a decent breakfast buffet -- muffins, bagels, croissants, coffee and juice. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Great value for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dipnijan, Owner at Econo Lodge Hermitage, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for the review. We appreciate when our guests take the time to respond and look forward to you coming back and see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma Heights, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just spent a night here while visiting our daughter at Westminster College. This hotel is a great place to stay if you don't need any frills. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was hot. This is all I ask in a hotel; I am just there to sleep, but do expect a clean bed to sleep in. An added bonus was the continental breakfast; again, nothing fancy but a hot cup of coffee or tea, cereal/milk, juice, bagels, waffle-maker, apples; definitely adequate. This hotel is exactly what I was looking for. A reasonable place to stay for a reasonable price. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dipnijan, Owner at Econo Lodge Hermitage, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Sue,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time it took for you to respond. We like to hear from guests who had a pleasant stay.
Nitin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

After much difficulty in finding a room, due to event that we were not aware of, we stumbled upon this hotel. The outside appears a bit dubious due to no front-facing windows and an unusual styling, but the price was reasonable and our choices were limited. Although the room was a little dated, it was very clean and met our needs for the overnight stay. A small continental breakfast was available in the morning and was included in the cost of room. The only downfall I noted was that there was no coffee maker in the room although there was a small refrigerator and microwave over.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dipnijan, Owner at Econo Lodge Hermitage, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Cathy,
Thank you for taking the time to respond to the review request. We are glad that you found us and thought we were a good value for the price. We hope that you stop back and stay with us again now that you have found us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Cheap hotels are expected to have few frills, but come on, clean the frills you do have! The room was absolutely disgusting.

Although the sheets seemed clean, the blankets and bed spreads had burn holes all over. The rug was stained. The wall next to the table was splattered with something. There was a long hair in one of the folded washcloths. The doorknobs were sticky and the doors filthy. Housekeeping is so lazy they couldn't even straighten the lampshades.

To give you an indication of the vibe this place gives, we noticed damage on the ceiling that looked like a dark hole and I had to climb up on the bed to make sure it wasn't a hidden camera.

The motel offers free continental breakfast which we wouldn't even look at after the petri dish we slept in the night before. There is a Starbucks up the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dipnijan, Owner at Econo Lodge Hermitage, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
You are absolutely right that no matter what the hotel offers, it should be clean. We pride ourselves on our facility and staff. However, we want to let you know that we have replaced them with new people. We hope that you give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is the worst experience I've had. We checked-in in at night and the room is dirty with leftover food from the previous occupants. There are leftover soap and shampoo in the washroom and shower. We are in 4 groups/rooms and ALL of us had same experience. We don't really mind the outside appearance of the hotel which is equally as bad but we got really disappointed when we got inside.

Not worth spending money, might as well sleep in the car.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dipnijan, Owner at Econo Lodge Hermitage, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Famydude,
We are so sorry and surprised to hear about your recent stay! We pride ourselves on our cleanliness of our rooms and that is definately not the norm, especially more than one room. We have taken steps so we will not have this occurance again. We hope that you come again and have a better stay.
Nathan
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Lea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were really lucky to find this hotel again on our way back from NY. We received a very nice rate using the coupon in one of the hotel info booklets. The booklets are found at the various rest stops along the interstate highways. We had stayed at this motel 3 years ago on another trip. Very nice people and comfortable large rooms.

Room Tip: We used the coupon that was in one of the free hotel info booklets that can be found at the various...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dipnijan, Manager at Econo Lodge Hermitage, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are happy that you found us again. Happy to see you back. I bet you found alot of improvements and updates. Come and see us again. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Hermitage

Address: 2810 South Hermitage Road, Hermitage, PA 16148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hermitage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Hermitage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Hermitage 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Hermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.