We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lucky find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vassi's Drive-In

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Vassi's Drive-In
1666 Main St, Hellertown, PA 18055
(610) 838-1877
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 26 Restaurants in Hellertown
Cuisines: Soups
Restaurant details
Plano, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a lucky find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were driving through Pennsylvania and needed to fill up the car...we were hungry as well and right at the exit there was Vassi's. It looks like a quaint, throw-back type drive-in so we thought "what the heck". Everything we ordered was delicious!! The gyros, burgers and fries...my wife said that even the coffee was good. Prices are very reasonable!

Only sad part is that we are never likely to go back since we don't live in that part of the country.

Treat yourself if you're ever in the area!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The best hot dogs and fries....gyros too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have been coming to Vassi's for years and are never disappointed!! When we need a quick Lunch or dinner and want to cheat on the diet...this is our first choice. I always chose the hot dog with everything on it and fries. My husband either gets the gyro with fries or the hot dog..or two!! Our grandkids even request visits to Vassi's which makes us happy as they are fussy eaters!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Grew up eating here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I grew up coming here with friends and love everything that they have here, the only thing I have to say I didn't like was the ice cream. But the food is great. I now live in Alpharetta, GA but every time I come back I will cheat and eat hotdogs, mozzarella sticks or peirogies. It's definitely worth it :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East Pa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An Air of Nostalgia, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

A pleasant throwback to the age of quick service burgers and ice cream located with easy access to I-78, Vassi's fits the bill for tasty food. While they have old standbys like hot dogs and hamburgers, you should know that their gyros are always a great bet, and their "Big Time" burger shouldn't be missed. Don't forget the side of fries, as they are a good sized portion. Malted milkshakes, Dusty Road sundaes, and old fashioned hard ice cream served in various types of cones round out the menu. If you're traveling through, and are bored with the McBurger drive thrus, spare a bit of time for Vassi's.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoosier in jersey
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Americana deliciousness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Walk up in the summer and eat inside on a rainy winter afternoon. We found ourselves here on the later for a wonderful lunch. Grilled chicken sandwich, double cheeseburger and ny gyro with feta and kalamata olives added were all delicious. Fries were good and chocolate malts yummy. Only deduction was for small cups for the drinks and $1 for refills. Will definitely stop again if passing by during meal time. Yum yum.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vassi's Drive-In also viewed

 
Hellertown, PA
Hellertown, PA
 

Been to Vassi's Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vassi's Drive-In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.