We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Follow the signs to Booty's Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Booty's Place

Booty's Place
1101 N Church St, Hazleton, PA 18202-9287
570-455-5551
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 115 Restaurants in Hazleton
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Port Matilda, PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Follow the signs to Booty's Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were amused by the roadsigns directing us to Booty's Place. Following the signs lead us to a delightful experience after the Pocono 400.

We were a late seat (about half-an-hour before they closed). The staff cheerfully sat and served us hot, tasty food.

The fact that they were still smiling so late in the day on Sunday afternoon, after a grueling weekend with race-fans, is proof that this was an excellent choice for a stop.

The food excellent, but be sure to save room for dessert! We split a tartufo, and still couldn't finish it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanticoke, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

The service, food, and cost was excellent! Not good for the waistline! The only negative thing I could say is the bathroom was a bit old looking, rust and such. So updating to get the dampness out would be helpful, as a mother I don't want to take mY child into an icky bathroom.
Overall this is a diamond in the rough!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooler, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A delightful pleasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

In August 2012, my husband and I made an unplanned stopover in Hazelton, PA, and Booty's was recommeded to us by our hotel's wonderful front desk clerk (whose own parents have run their own local restaurant for many, many years, and Booty's is the place where this young man takes his own mother for a meal out, away from the family business). Located near our hotel in an older, nondescript mall, we certainly never expected such great dining, and with an extensive menu making it hard to choose, everything we ordered was fabulous. After our long hot day, we first relaxed with a pint of ice cold beer, then an excellent chowder with yummy garlic knots, followed by generous, light flounder served with a very hearty side of angel hair pasta, sauteed garlic, olive oil and Parmesan cheese, just the way we love it - all of it perfect. An added bonus and something you never see anymore, is a complimentary glass of wine with our entrees, such a nice touch. We shared dessert, a decadently large tartufo - superb. The staff were all very friendly, welcoming and efficient; being seated on the 2nd level under the "starry" ceiling was great fun and a nice change from the average restaurant. For our truly memorable evening meal, the bill was just over $35.00, TREMENDOUSE VALUE AND GOOD, GOOD FOOD!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Booty's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were given a gift certificate for Booty's and were pleasantly surprised by the food. I had the Chicken Franchise and found it excellent. I also liked my salad and garlic knots..The service was very good and overall we were happy with the whole experience. We'll be going back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Welcome to the '80s”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

If you are a resident of Hazleton this may be the best the town has to offer in the way of non-chain restaurants. But if you are, like me, just visiting, Booty's isn't that great.

Food is decent but not of the best quality, akin to banquet food. I had the Veal Marsala. It wasn't bad but the "Marsala" part had a weird, packaged mix texture. My tablemate had the Chicken Cacciatore. There was a metallic, somewhat bitter taste to the sauce more than likely from tomatoes from the can. The wait staff is nice. The decor is atrocious 1980's dusty plastic flower, brass accent, forest green carpet and in serious need of a makeover bad.

Considering the alternatives, this may be the place the locals go for a fancy night out. In this economy, I don't expect that Booty's will change any time soon since it seems they've been cooking the same food in the same place to the same customers for a long time. If it works for them, I guess it's fine. But I won't make a return visit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Booty's Place also viewed

West Hazleton, Hazleton
Hazleton, Luzerne County
 
Hazleton, Luzerne County
 

Been to Booty's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Booty's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.