We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh, ok...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boat House Restaurant

Boat House Restaurant
State Rte 507, Hawley, PA 18428
(570) 226-5027
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 41 Restaurants in Hawley
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Meh, ok...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Got the scallops in coconut butter sauce... overcooked - bland taste for the scallops. Not much in the way of size or quality either, I would say the majority were the size of quarters. Veggies were frozen reheated in a microwave, couldn't even eat them. Best part was the potato... haha. Maybe their burgers are better than their seafood...

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    51
    24
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, Decent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at Ehrhardts and tried this place one night. Lively, comfortable atmosphere. Food was decent. We enjoyed ourselves.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stopped here for dinner after a day out on the boat. The food was excellent and they have a lot of selections. I recommend the Boat house for all occasions.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainhome, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wow what a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Boat House is a Lake Wallenpaupack fixture. The atmosphere is pleasant, but as other reviewers noted, don't expect a view of the Lake. It must have been tattoo celebration night because the crowd in the place last Saturday was, let's say, the "ecclectic" I've ever seen there. Overall, it was noisy, rushed and the food was rather ho-hum. Oh, and don't waste your money on mixed drinks. The Long Island Ice Teas were mostly Coke and sour mix. There was little or no alcohol in the drinks--which at $10 each should have been amazing. Stick to beer or wine instead--at least you know what you're getting. I wouldn't recommend this place if you're looking for a nice experience. It used to be much better.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“A Great Night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our friends discovered this restaurant, which is located on Lake Wallenpaupack (in the Pocono Mountains of PA) and we were so lucky to share the evening with them.

One small detail that almost prevented us from eating there was their reservation policy. They only accept reservations for parties of 7 or more......and they told our friends who had tried to make reservations that they get very busy between 5 and 7:30 PM on a Saturday night. We arrived at 6 PM on a Saturday night and we had a 30 minute wait. Normally, when they tell you that you have a 30 minute wait, it amounts to a 20-ish minute wait, but this time, it was the full 30 minutes. To be honest with you..........I really think that they had a shortage of waitstaff that night as we noticed that there were several empty tables in our requested screened patio area....and they were still there when we were seated 30 minutes later. I guess that we could have griped about the wait, but we would rather wait a few extra minutes and have great service rather than being seated immediately and have little or no attention. Our wait was well worth it as we were really happy with Susan, our server..............she was wonderful! Ask for her, if you can, as there was nothing that she wouldn't do to make your dinner a great experience............and that it was......for all 4 of us!

Two members of our party ordered the Seafood Sampler and were really happy with the entree. Another person ordered the Prime Rib (one of the specials for that evening) and was SO thrilled to see that it was done exactly the way she had ordered it, plus she said that it was the most tender prime rib that she had eaten in a long time. I selected a tuna steak and a fresh mango salsa from their "Mix and Match Seafood" entrees. It was to die for!!!!!!!!!!! I would HIGHLY recommend looking into this part of their menu as they offer 4 or 5 fish/seafood items and 5 sauces/toppings for them. I had a hard time deciding both the seafood and the sauce options.........too many great choices. All entrees arrived with a choice of starch and then the chef's selection of vegetables, but they also included a tossed salad too. Instead of each person individually ordering their dressing for their salad, the salad (with dressing) was delivered to the table in a huge bowl to be divided among us. I would LOVE to have the recipe for the salad dressing........it seemed to be a combination of garlic and a ranch dressing.........very light. WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!

Even the bread basket was interesting.........nice warm crusty rolls with butter and banana bread with a cinnamon sugar butter.

We had no room for dessert, so you are on your own for that.

Would we return? You betcha! It is hard to find a restaurant where all four diners can leave really happy!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boat House Restaurant also viewed

Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Boat House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boat House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.