We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Settlers Inn

Save Saved
You added Settlers Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Settlers Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4 Main Ave., Hawley, PA 18428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hawley B&B and Inns
Vacation71
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Another wonderful stay as always at this wonderful Inn. We have been coming here for almost 20 years. The Inn is very well kept, clean, comfortable, cozy. From the minute you arrive, to the time you check out, each and every staff member we dealt with was attentive and polite and very accommodating. It was our first trip in over 2 years and at dinner I made a special request for the chef to prepare the Smoked trout like they used to serve it, with capers,onion and Horseradish cream sauce and it was done for me and as always just perfect. THANK YOU.Made my stay. The dinner and breakfast are excellent. We met up with a friends this time who have also been here before.They too were just as satisfied. I think another plus is the price. I feel they provide Excellent lodging and breakfast at a reasonable price. The rooms are charming and ours was very cozy on the 3rd floor. I love it here and plan on not taking so long to revisit, it was a nice getaway for Valentine's Day, I must say....still my favorite place.
THANK YOU TO ALL for everything.
Lisa F.

Room Tip: Have stayed in many over the years on 2nd floor, this time we were on third floor and it seemed a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanne g, Owner at Settlers Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Lisa, thank you for the many years you have visited the inn. We are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay! All the best to you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    61
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
28
151
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swarthmore, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed a weekend in January. The inn was very comfortable and the food absolutely delicious. We chose the fireside package, where you arrive for cider and a three-course lunch, which was just wonderful. The lounge has a roaring fire and comfortable couches and chairs, but do not expect to lounge there on Friday or Saturday evenings--that is where people sit to wait for tables in the restaurant. However during the rest of the day, the lounge is just the place to read and relax. In warmer weather, there would be outside spots to sit as well. The Arts and Crafts style is very warm and inviting. Hosts are very friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable. (I would warn those who stay in room 204 to watch out for the corners of the bed which extend beyond the mattress. We just put a pillow at each corner to protect shins after a few bumps.) I would love to go back to the inn in the summer.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the inn have a view of the garden and river. Music from the first floor can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lords Valley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at The Settler's Inn for 3 nights this New Year's Eve. The staff will cater to your every whim. The food is divine, and the wait staff is the finest I've ever seen. If you care to leave the property, there is lots to do in the area and you also have access to a fitness center and a sports complex about 5 minutes away. You can not go wrong by staying here. There is something for everyone. All the rooms are gorgeous. Have fun!

Room Tip: All the rooms here are beautiful. Just ask for what you need, and the staff will try to find you th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlersinn, Manager at Settlers Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
New Year's Eve at the Settlers in is truly a special evening, as we have two fantastic dinners to choose from. Upstairs, in our main dining room, we serve a special menu accompanied by soft piano music. Downstairs, in The Undercroft, we host a Jazz Supper Club with special dinner menu, which this year featured a Jazz Quartet. Everyone rings in the New Year on the chime of midnight in The Chestnut Tavern.

Thank you again for your continued and loyal patronage, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Settlers Inn is our very favorite Inn in the Poconos.The owners Grant and Jeanne Genzlinger live up to their mission statement which is stated on the internet, especially the part about providing an memorable hospitality experience for each guest. The arts and crafts decor thru out the Inn is so well done, the food is excellent and very fond of the bird seed bread and desserts, the rooms are very comfortable in this old Inn, the garden and grounds are beautiful located in the back of the Inn, and the attention to the details is so appreciated.
When we were up in the Fall we mentioned to the owner Jeanne that we were coming up for the first time to Winterfest in Hawley. Jeanne mentioned that we should plan to attend The Virgin Consort Friday evening. We were so thankful because the music and the whole experience was outstanding.We really enjoyed Winterfest in Hawley and many fun things to do.
Each time we come up to the Inn, which is know a few times a year, we find new places and things to do. The Settlers Inn is our getaway place to go and only three hours from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlersinn, Owner at Settlers Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The Virgin Consort during Winterfest weekend is a must-see event - we are thrilled you were able to experience it! Thank you again for your continued patronage, and we look forward to greeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyngsboro,MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We attend a friends Christmas Party everyyear and this was our third time at the Inn and it was just as great as the other two. The breakfast menu is terrific! Our only problem was the heater, we couldn't regulate it very well. We difinitely will be back next year!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlersinn, Manager at Settlers Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your repeat patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york pa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We recently stayed at the Inn and it was beautifully decorated for Christmas. We had a lovely room but there were some things that greatly concerned us during our stay. First, (and this is not a concern but just worth mentioning)- the walls must be paper thin because at 6:30am when the neighbors decided to awaken and have a conversation we too were awakened and could hear everything. Secondly the hot water was never hot, always luke warm and it took forever to turn from freezing cold to warm (not a great thing during a very cold day). Finally, the heat took almost an entire day to warm our room. It was set on 68 when we arrived but the baseboard heat in the rooms seemed to be throwing out a minimal amount of heat. We turned it up to 74, and nothing. We reluctantly turned it to 76 and it was finally comfortable the NEXT day. However, once it reached that temp. it did stay warm- but it should not take 24 hours to warm the room.

Okay, now for the safety concerns- We experienced a power outage in the early morning hours (it was an area wide outage) but it was extremely dark in the hall area. The exit lights did NOT work. The emergency lighting did not work. There was nothing lit in the hall area (outside of our room) at all. The one emergency sign was extremely dimly lit but that faded after about 10 min. Although it was the early morning, there was not enough light coming in from outside to illuminate the halls to move about at all, forcing some to stay in their rooms. When we brought it to the attention of the front desk staff (after we asked to talk with a manager and were told there was no one available), we were told that someone had "just" come through and checked the exit signs etc just the other day. Well, if that was true, "someone" did not do a good job. I was greatly concerned because this is a safety issue. There is a fireplace and a kitchen/dining area in this old building and if there were a fire, those on the top floor would have no idea which way to go without emergency lighting. In addition, the drawing on the back of the door was reversed and very confusing.

Other than that 'little issue' the place was just lovely. The people were very accomodating and the waitstaff in the restaurant was great. It was beautifully decorated for the Christmas season and fireplace along with the decorations made this place a great choice. I was going to give it a 4 but honestly the safety issues are very big for me. And if I don't feel safe in a place, I can't enjoy it as much as I should. Hopefully they will fix the safety issues

On another note- we stayed there to attend the Hawley Winterfest. That proved to be a total waste of time. The town seems very depressed, run down and sadly there was only a few things to do for this 'festival'. Someone seemed to put a lot of effort into making it a wonderful festival but it honestly seems like the town was just not supportive of it. Things that would have taken a few hours were spread out over 3 days- a HUGE disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlersinn, Owner at Settlers Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We appreciate and value your comments and feedback - we are ever-improving and striving for excellence. A few notes about safety at the Inn:

We routinely check our emergency lighting system, and have checked again recently since your comments - we are happy to report that all emergency lighting at the Inn is functioning properly and has been found to be in working order.

The emergency lighting that most hotels use is designed to provide temporary relief in the event of a brief power outage. They typically work for 2 hours after the power goes out. During that particular power outage you experienced, the power was out for over 4 hours, so the lights did go out by that time.

We do also have fire prevention systems in place throughout the entire inn, and have them tested on a regular basis, too. Our fireplace in the lobby area is maintained during the day by constant supervision, and at night it is covered to prevent embers from escaping.

Hawley Winterfest is a fantastic annual event in our little town. This year, the Virgin Consort concert was particularly delightful. The entire town also participated in a Winterfest Beer Tour, offering various flights of beer at different local establishments (The Settlers Inn, in particular, offered Rogue Hazlenut Brown Nectar, Ithaca Cold Front, Anchor Steam Merry Christmas Happy New Year 2012, and Fat Dog Imperial Oatmeal Stout from Stoudt’s Brewery in Adamstown, PA). Holiday tree sales were offered locally, as well as a holiday house tour and cookie walk throughout town. Many local establishments offer sales during this time, and fun activities abound through town. We are sorry that you were disappointed.
We hope that you will return to give Hawley another chance, and, again, are thankful for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I just spent a lovely weekend at the Settlers Inn. We live about 2 hours away and it is the perfect escape from the stresses of the "real world". The Inn was beautifully decorated for Christmas and everything just sparkled. The common area is spectacular with the biggest fireplace I've ever seen and the tap room immediately adjacent is perfect for a drink or light snack. We attended the Victorian Christmas dinner in their dining room and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Our room (216) was small but very comfortable. The bedding was crisp and inviting and we slept GREAT!

Just one word of caution -- the steps are very steep and there is no elevator.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
settlersinn, Owner at Settlers Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
The Victorian Christmas celebration at our Inn is quite a magical time. The Inn is fully decorated with boughs of pine, stunning ornaments, and various holiday accents. The fireplace is a particularly popular place to gather for drinks, snacks, and conversation. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you will join us for many more. Thank you for your kind words and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Settlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Inn

Address: 4 Main Ave., Hawley, PA 18428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Settlers Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Settlers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hawley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settlers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.