We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An R&R vacation at a great property!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ehrhardt's Waterfront Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hawley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ehrhardt's Waterfront Resort
Save
You added Ehrhardt's Waterfront Resort to your Saves list
205 Route 507, Hawley, PA 18428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Couples Getaway
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hawley
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“An R&R vacation at a great property!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I just returned from a mini vacation with my family. I found Ehrhardt's through the internet and liked what I saw. I then checked them out on tripadvisor and was pleased with the reviews. We checked in on Monday at the non lake view room at the inn. It was a nice sized room with a backyard view. Lots of sun, closet space, king size bed, cable tv, ac, mini refridge, micro,etc. The resort offered complimentary continental breakfast and use of the paddle boats, row boats, and canoes. There was a nice baby pool and adult pool that my son enjoyed. The property was very clean and well maintained. Lots of lawn and chaise chairs overlooking the lake. The back porch of the inn was also a nice place to sit and relax and mingle with other guests. The resort had a convinient restaurant on the property. The food and service was excellent and you got a 10% discount also. The staff at the resort were excellent. Sue, Sarah, and Charlene were great and always helpful and attentive. Another nice treat was a complimentary barbeque that the resort hosted at 12 noon. They had hot dogs, hamburgers, baked beans, potato salad, iced tea, and sherbert. I would definitely returned to this resort and maybe even try their cottages or family units next time around. Thank you again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ehrhardts, Manager at Ehrhardt's Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you, we really appreciate you sharing your good experience with others! We hope you will return soon! We enjoyed getting to know you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    29
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This was our first time staying at this resort. We were pleasantly surprised at the warmth we felt as soon as we pulled into the driveway. The resort is comprised of several different buildings including individual cabins. We stayed in Room 26 in The House. The room was quite large, compared to the chain type of hotel with a very comfortable king-size bed, a flat-screen televsion, small refrigerator and microwave. The furnishings are older, but well maintained, the bathroom clean and functional. This waterfront property on Lake Wallenpaupack has everything you can imagine, ski-do's, row boats, boat slips and since we're facing west, the spectacular sunsets! There is also a nice outdoor pool and separate pool for little ones. The hosts were very accomodating even to the extent that they invited us to stay for the luncheon barbecue on the day we checked out. Many of the guests, a nice mix of seniors and young families, have been coming to Ehrhardt's for several years and were more than willing to share with us their favorite restaurants, places to see, etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ehrhardts, Manager at Ehrhardt's Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you for your review of our resort, we appreciate your kind words. We are so happy you felt the inviting hospitality we strive to give every guest. We look forward to seeing you again soon and hope your entire trip to the area was a pleasant one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We went to Ehrhardts for our anniversary get-a-away and it was incredible. We stayed in the couple suite with the jacuzzi and the room was beautiful. Very clean. If you want a romantic get-a-away or a relaxing couple of days, the couple suite is the way to go. The jacuzzi was clean and relaxing. Fireplace is very nice. There is a small kitchen area with dishes, soap, refrigerator, and microwave. The view is amazing of the lake. The grounds are very well kept and beautiful. We were too early for the pool but there were getting it ready for the summer and were doing an amazing cleaning and working on getting it repaired.
It rained our entire stay so we could not take advantage of the lake or lake activities. There are multiple places near the resort for water activities though-very convenient. Safe environment.
If you wanted to sleep in and put the do not disturb sign on the door, they left a note to go to the office to get your towels switched out because you missed housekeeping earlier. This is minor compared to the overall view though. The office staff was very helpful and friendly. There were multiple questions that were answered with ease.
You get a 10% couple off of your meals at their restaurant and we took advantage of it for lunch and dinner one day and their food was amazing. We were both extremely satisfied. The wait staff was very friendly.
The resort was away from most of the things to do in the Poconos, but they are within 45min to an hour away. It was just far enough away to be quiet and peaceful but close enough to be convenient.
We loved our experience and will definitely keep it in mind for all occasions. Our pictures are a little dark because of the weather being so dreary. If you have any questions, feel free to ask...
Thank you to all of the staff :)

Room Tip: suite 111-great view/jacuzzi room.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ehrhardts, Manager at Ehrhardt's Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
We are so happy you had such a wonderful stay. Hopefully the next time you come up you will have better weather! I will pass along your compliments to the staff of the resort, the restaurant and to the owners. Thank you for writing a review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Husband and I and our two kids (4 & 6) just returned from our first stay at Ehrhardt's and we were completely satisfied with our accommodations and the resort. We were looking for a reasonable, clean hotel/motel for the long MLK weekend. This was our first time to the Poconos and we weren't too sure if we wanted to rent a private home or do the motel thing, but this worked out fine.

We stayed in Room 3 which was on the first floor of the motel rooms that have a direct lake view. And the view was beautiful. The lake was frozen over, so we saw the ice fisherman out in the distance and the snowmobile riders riding by, especially at night. The room has two double beds and looks like it was updated fairly recently. Bathroom fixtures, tub surround, granite-topped vanity all look new. And the room was extremely clean. Smallish TV, mini-fridge, small microwave and a small round table with two chairs in room. Ample closet and drawer space if needed. There is a shared deck off the back of the motel which also provides access to the common room where continental breakfast is served. As it was winter, breakfast was only served on Saturday and Sunday mornings, but that was fine for us. Breakfast included coffee, teas, hot chocolate, 3 different cereals, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit and a rather tasty crumb cake. The common room looks out over the lake and has a gas fireplace that was on the whole time we were there. It also looks like it was updated in the recent past and was very clean and comfortable. A couple of club chairs in front of the fireplace would be a nice addition, particularly in winter.

What worked especially well for us was the on-site restaurant. We actually ended up eating there the three nights we were there as it was more than adequate and was so convenient. Reasonably priced, too. We actually ate in the pub (NFL playoffs were on the flat screens) and it shared the same menu as the restaurant. Resort guests also get 10% off. Our kids stuck with the kids meals which were fine for them and my husband and I tried a variety of things, all of which were tasty and satisfying.

We wanted to take our kids ice skating outdoors (not in a rink) and since the lake was frozen we were able to. The lake was snow covered, but the very nice and accommodating woman at the front desk, who I assume is the owner, gave us a couple of nearby options that would perhaps work for us. She even offered us a snow shovel to use to clear snow off the ice if we needed, which we thought was very nice.

The lobby was full of information about local attractions which was nice. The resort only has an outdoor seasonal pool, but they do have some connection to a local country club (Paupack HIlls Golf and Country Club) that has an indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and small fitness room. The cost to use the facilities was $6 for adults and $4 for kids. It's an older club, probably built in the 70's and is not very fancy, but it was not crowded and it was nice to be able to take a swim and a jacuzzi and the kids loved it.

We are not skiers, but Tanglewood ski area was very nearby. And the town of Hawley, which was only a few miles away was very quaint. We had breakfast at the Hawley diner on our last morning and it was a typical, old school, stainless steel diner (like we know and love in NJ) and the breakfast was very good and also very reasonably-priced. Time did not allow for us, but I would have liked to explore the little town more as well as nearby Honesdale.

I would definitely recommend Ehrhardt's. It's not ritzy and fancy, but was, as I said, clean, reasonably-priced and provided a very nice stay in the Pocono lake region.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Our room had a beautiful view of the lake.
The ladies at the office were extremely helpful when we inquired about things to do and accomodated our request for extra blankets & towels with no issue.
Unfortunately, the last thing you want to greet you when you enter your room is the pungent order of mold and must. Thankfully, we brought a candle. The decor is totally dated and tacky (i.e., pictures in frames were stapled to the frame). The bathroom is in serious need of new fixtures, as well as the lenoleum that looks like it's the original (yellow with brown flecks). When we opened the windows to air the back bedroom out, we found cigarette butts in the window sills. With all that said, it was generally clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica2009, Manager at Ehrhardt's Waterfront Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We only wish you had come back in to the office to express your observations. We would have gladly tried to switch you to another accommodation.
We agree those units were dated and happenend to be scheduled for remodeling this winter. They are currently undergoing a makeover and will be ready for guests in the spring. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to have you visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in the Family Unit with two kids (2 &9). Unit is outdates with the strong musty smell but beautiful view of the lake. We heard that they starting to update the rooms but I don’t know if it’s true. Rates are very reasonable after Labor Day. Pool looks very nice and has solar cover to heat up during the summer. But it’s not enough to warm up the pool in September since nights are pretty cold. It was overcast and really windy for first two days. There is not much to do during this kind of weather. We were blessed with the sunny day on the last day of our stay. Kids went fishing and used nice playground by the pool. At night we made a campfire and roasted the marshmallows. Lake is absolutely beautiful and we surely coming back. On the last night I also took few fantastic pictures of the sunset.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

A little dated, but clean and right on the water. We brought our boat and used the docks right at the resort. This place has it all, good restaurant, pool, playground. There is not much to choose from on the lake if you want waterfront.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ehrhardt's Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ehrhardt's Waterfront Resort

Address: 205 Route 507, Hawley, PA 18428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hawley
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ehrhardt's. You will find us in the majestic lake region of the Pocono Mountains in northeast Pennsylvania just 5 minutes from the quaint town of Hawley. We offer a variety of lakeview accommodations including motel rooms, cottages and family units. We also have a lakefront restaurant and an elegant banquet center, all with a spectacular location on the shore of Lake Wallenpaupack. Our combination of beautiful location and warm hospitality have made us a family favorite for 65 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ehrhardt`s Waterfront Hotel Hawley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ehrhardt's Waterfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.