We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good get away but with a few drawbacks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Woodloch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Woodloch to your Saves list
The Lodge at Woodloch
109 River Birch Lane, Route 590 East, RR1, Hawley, PA 18428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Midweek Magic
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hawley
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good get away but with a few drawbacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We took a long weekend at the spa. Let me start by saying the food was delicious. Meal after meal we were never disappointed. The waiters and waiter were attentive and helpful. However, there are drawbacks to the restaurant itself. You need to book your dinner reservations well in advance of your stay. Our only options when I called 2 days before our arrival were 6 or 8:30pm. Also, during dinner there was gentleman singing in the foyer area right outside the dining room. The music was to loud. For those dining in the main room it was difficult to carry on a converstion without raising your voice. The hostess tried to give us one of the tables in close proximity to the front area and was agitated when we asked for a different table.
The rooms are satisfactory. The rooms are clean and maintained. We had the king room with the additional living room. The leather sofa and wing chairs were stiff and uncomfortable. The additional cost for the larger room is definitely not worth it.
The spa was terrific. All the staff was well trained and polite. I had numerous treatment and they were all wonderful. I would recommend Heather for a body wrap or scrub. Again, book your treatments well in advance of your visit. Getting a message appointment was difficult.
I would not revisit the lodge because I was not wowed by anything except for the food.
The management should be a bit more attentive to what would take the spa/lodge to the next level.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey B, Manager at The Lodge at Woodloch, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Karen W-

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay here at The Lodge. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meals in our dining room- our Chefs take great pride in the meals they present to our guests each and every day. We do apologize for the limited times available for dinner seating- while we do seat for dinner from 5:30 PM-8:30 PM on the half hour each evening, we do recommend booking a table in advance, especially during our busy summer season. We also want to sincerely apologize for any less than exemplary service that you encountered while at dinner- please be assured that the appropriate parties have been made aware of the issue. We are also very happy you were so pleased with our spa, both the retreat area and our talented therapists- it really is a spectacular facility, and the heart of The Lodge! Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts- we do hope to be able to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    82
    36
    10
    8
See reviews for
88
313
57
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Tripoli, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

An excellent escape spa day with lunch.The place was tough to find, GPS does not work well in the mountains. Wonderful service at the spa,pool,lake and good spa food for lunch. Would recommend, just a hassle to get their and home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey B, Manager at The Lodge at Woodloch, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Michael F--

Thank you so much for your review! We apologize for the difficulty you had in finding us- due to our rural location, some navigation systems unfortunately have a bit of trouble pinpointing our location. However, we do list very accurate directions right on our website, www.thelodgeatwoodloch.com. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Brook, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Loved every aspect of my stay. It was a special birthday for me and I was there with several girlfriends. The spa treatments were terrific, the spa and lodge staff are friendly and accommodating, and the lodge worked along with my daughter to carry out several fun surprises for my special occasion. Lodge rooms, treatment rooms, pools, and the rest of the property are immaculate, beautifully-appointed, well-kept and delightfully calming. Food was great. Every treatment was really a treat!

Room Tip: I prefer the view of the woods and lake, but I doubt there is a bad view. All the rooms I saw were i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey B, Manager at The Lodge at Woodloch, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Irsrpa-

Happy Belated Birthday! We are so glad you enjoyed your special trip, as well as of the little details along the way. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We did a girlfriends birthday/retirement time at The Lodge and had a wonderful time. The rooms were great, the staff was wonderful and the food delicious. The exercise classes and cooking demonstration were well done and we left feeling more informed and relaxed. Definitely would return again. This was my second time. The staff was very accommodating and made you feel welcome from the front entrance valets to the cleaning staff.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the side of the waterfall. It was great sitting out on the balcony and listening to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey B, Manager at The Lodge at Woodloch, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
VeeFB-

Thank you so much for choosing The Lodge for your group's birthday/retirement celebration! What a wonderful way to celebrate. We hope to welcome you back to The Lodge soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a beautiful property, with well trained staff. We found the quietness of the place a much need respite. The weather was perfect, warm days cool nights. The spa services were 5 star. The lake is small, but great for beginner kayakers.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the lake on the first floor, and watched the deer from our patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey B, Manager at The Lodge at Woodloch, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Martha G-

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We have been very fortunate this summer with the weather- so glad you were able to enjoy it! Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I just returned from a three night stay, and cannot say enough good things about The Lodge at Woodloch. Easy to get to from NYC. Each and every member of the staff, from the bellman to the check in/guest services personnel, spa attendants, class instructors, restaurant servers, housekeepers and maintenance workers seemed to have been trained in customer service. All were incredibly nice, professional and polite. I found the array of class offering excellent, and the quality of the personal training session I had with Blake was first rate. The spa was fantastic, with a special thank you to Jude (the best massage ever) and Liz (incredible facial). I found the food options perfect for my tastes, and the food itself was delicious. The rooms are spacious, bed very comfortable, and great shower with lots of fluffy towels. What's not to like? This was just what I needed after the recent passing of my father. I will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey B, Manager at The Lodge at Woodloch, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Diane I-

We are delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable time, and are thrilled we were able to share with you our warmth and hospitality during a difficult time. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyncote
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I spent 2 nights and 3 days w/ my sister for my 60th b'day. We had a wonderful time eating,kayaking, geocaching, eating, hiking, doing water aerobics, drumming, walking, eating, and doing our very first watercolor class! our facials were a terrific way to end our stay. we had a great time and probably gained a few lbs because the food was so good!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey B, Manager at The Lodge at Woodloch, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
socialone-

Thank you for your review! It sounds like you and your sister were able to take advantage of most of our offerings on property- what a great way to celebrate a birthday! Thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Woodloch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Woodloch

Address: 109 River Birch Lane, Route 590 East, RR1, Hawley, PA 18428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hawley
#2 Family Hotel in Hawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge at Woodloch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Woodloch Hotel Hawley
Hotel At Woodloch
Spa At Woodloch
Lodge Woodloch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Woodloch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.