We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring Your Family and Friends!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodloch Pines Resort

Save Saved
You added Woodloch Pines Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodloch Pines Resort
731 Welcome Lake Rd., Hawley, PA 18428   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$100 First Time Savings
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Hawley
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bring Your Family and Friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent Easter weekend with a party of 8. Our family of four and an additional four people that had never been to the resort. First I want to say that the "new-comers" LOVED Woodloch! (ages 64, 60, 26, 17).

This was our 10th visit to the resort and each and every time we can not wait to come back. Every little detail is not overlooked by the staff and owners (family). (It's great to see the third generation getting more and more involved!) Every staff member is friendly from the front desk to the folks driving around in golf carts and maintenance trucks. Trust me, when a gentleman who is driving in a Woodloch truck rolls his window down to stop and say Happy Easter to us while we are walking from the Shooting Barn to the bus, then it is safe to say that EVERYONE treats guests like family!

Here is my mini review by category:

Check in/check out/Front Desk: Very friendly, very knowledgeable, answered questions quickly, navigated through concerns easily. Great beginning and fabulous ending experience.

Dining: Dining staff very attentive. Always offering more soft drinks, water, coffee. Food very good. Very fresh. Something for everyone to eat even the most picky eaters. Always willing to bring more. Did not feel rushed. Never too slow. We had the same waitress for our stay. FABULOUS TAYA! After the first two seatings she knew to have the kinds of drinks (in pitchers on the table).

Cocktail service (dining room, night club, north lodge, sports bar) Excellent. Drinks brought quickly, always checking back to see if we needed anything else, did not seem to mind when my husband made them go back three times because someone seemed to need something and didn't order it the first time. Drinks always done correctly. Specials creative.

Housekeeping/Accommodations: Stayed in Mt Laurel two bedroom suite. Plenty of room for 6 people. Other two stayed in a one bedroom suite. Bedding nice, clean. Beds comfortable. Used pullout in living room, teenage son and friend had no issues sleeping. Rooms cleaned when we arrived back to change for dinner on Saturday (3:30 pm). Needed extra sheets - brought quickly. Since it was cold - liked that we could go to pool without going outside. **Side note: in our other trips we have stayed in Plans C, D, and Lake Estates. All are good! We like Mount Laurel the best for its space, pool accessibility, bus service, and the fact that we can walk back and forth as well. Lake Estates were a little too far walking for our older family members (although there is shuttle bus service!).

Activities/Shows/Recreation Staff: All excellent! You can tell that the Social Activities staff works very hard to please guests. They never stop smiling and can be firm, fair, and fun all at the same time. Nightclub show is very entertaining. Quite suitable for all family members. House Band is excellent - go SAM! Comedian was very funny....laughed for about an hour straight! There are several activities and between the scheduled games and events and the ongoing shooting barn, batting cages, pool, tube run, game room, gym (basketball), indoor playground, bumper cars, shuffle board, bocce ball, and go carts, there is plenty to do. Can you imagine adding all of that to the summer months with the outdoor pool, lake, outdoor basketball, tennis, etc. Our group (64, 60, 54, 50, 26, 22, 18, 17) never had a dull moment and we even wanted to stay longer to do everything! From what I saw there was also plenty to do for the younger children!

Transportation: There is a shuttle bus that goes around the property and you don't wait more than 15 minutes for the next shuttle. During our weekend I saw at least two shuttles each day. The drivers are friendly and will answer questions and give you Woodloch history lessons if you are interested! Most of the facility is within walking distance, but if the weather is bad or you have folks that have limited walking ability, then the shuttles are great!

Weather: I'm commenting on the weather simply because I want to add that it doesn't matter what the weather is like, you will have fun. I've been there when it is freezing cold, snowing, raining, hot, sunny, perfect weather, awful weather. The staff works around the weather. They schedule activities that are weather appropriate all of the time.

Truly it is a great place. You can make it whatever you want it to be. Relax, be busy, enjoy your family, get away from them ;) for a moment, split up, stay together, be active, play games, exercise, sit on a lounge chair.

For me, what is most important: The great memories made! We will be back Woodloch....Thank you for another fabulous get away!

Room Tip: Mount Laurel or Springbrook for easy access to pool - indoor walking in colder months. Lake Estates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear NewYorkFamilyfun,

Thank you for your in-depth and detailed review! Thank you for introducing newcomers to Woodloch, and a big thank you for choosing Woodloch in the past. The desire to extend our hospitality to every guest that walks through our doors starts at the top with the Kiesendahl family, and it shows through each and every staff member. Your review touched upon many things that make Woodloch unique and also make Woodloch fun no matter what the weather is doing outside. We appreciate you sharing this with the TripAdvisor community. We can't wait to see you again!

Sincerely,

The Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    576
    127
    36
    22
    8
See reviews for
567
51
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

For the past 8 years, we have been spending the Peter Cottontail Weekend at Woodloch. The activites, service, fun and food are excellent! Great for family getaways, price is great -- staff goes out of their way to make sure you are completely satisfied! A must for anyone looking for a all in one place -- food, games, fun!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Lisa H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review! We are happy to see you have enjoyed the Peter Cottontail package for the past eight years, just one of the packages where kids 12 & under are free! We also appreciate the high marks when it comes to the service, food, and activities. We can't wait for next year!

Sincerely,

The Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a family reunion at Woodloch Easter Weekend 2013. There were 17 of us among hundreds of other people there but each and every staff member made us feel like were were the only ones there! As someone who works in the hospitality industry, I can say this place is TOP! A well oiled machine that runs on love, organization, true hospitality and smiles. Don't be afraid to discuss any dietary concers ahead of time, as the staff was happy to accommodate my vegan diet without any problems. I highly recommend this wonderful resort to anyone trying to fit the needs, wants and desires of a group of any size! Thank you Woodloch Family for a memorable weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear PNut623,

Thank YOU for the memorable weekend! We appreciate you and the rest of your family reunion joining us for the holiday stay. We appreciate the positive feedback from someone who can appreciate the hospitality aspect. We are always available to discuss any dietary restrictions or allergies; we simply want every guest to have a great experience, even when it comes to the meals. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

The Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Woodloch is the only vacation where parents will never hear the words "I'm bored" from their kids, no matter what age. We just returned from our 3rd annual trip and are planning next year already. The games and events are designed so that a winning team needs both kids and parents to contribute. Our teenage children are actually disappointed if the parents don't want to go to the same activities as they are. The staff is amazing and Joey is a treasure. Team ChicBikini Pickles will return for more medals next year!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear pingpongs_alias,

Spending time together as a family is just one of the many things offered at Woodloch, and it's great to see you were able to do just that with the many activities that we offer. We think it's a good sign if teenagers are not embarassed by their parents and are willing to be seen together in public, especially when doing some of the wacky and silly activities Joey and his crew have planned for everyone. You deserve a medal for the creative team name! We hope that Team ChicBikini Pickles will make their return to Woodloch very soon!

Sincerely,

The Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We recently spent a long weekend at Woodloch and had the best time. There is truly something for everyone and there's is plenty to do ALL DAY LONG. We have 2 children - 2 and 4 yrs old -- and the activities were endless -- the pool, spray ground, petting zoo, indoor playground, toddler room were among their favorites. Even the night time entertainment - including the horse races and Sam the Clown - was amazing for the kids and fun for the adults too! The food was plentiful and delicious, with a good mix of healthy and indulgent foods. The dining room was well organized and the food was served expeditiously. I thought the nightly cocktails (for kids and adults) were a nice touch. The room was HUGE and SPOTLESS. I couldn't be happier with our choice for a Woodloch Getaway. We'll need to make it back over the summer... the outdoor pool and lake looked beautiful and would for certain make it an even better vacation.

Room Tip: The suites were room and very comfortable for a family, and since you pay per person, per night, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear MorristownTina,

We appreciate the opportunity to share our hospitality with you and your family. We strive to provide as many different options as possible on a daily basis when it comes to activities and amenities, and we are pleased to see your family was able to take part in a good portion of them. We always encourage guests to return in a different season if they desire to; Woodloch is a totally different resort but still just as fun no matter when you decide to join us. Thank you for sharing your review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

The Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

For the second time, we enjoyed the hospitality of Woodloch. We stayed in a beautiful townhouse and could not have asked for better accommodations. SPOTLESS, best describes the home. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The activities, even in March and cold weather, were all available and in great condition. We did not eat at the Lodge nor the INN, we opted to bring our own supplies and prepare them ourselves. Keep up the great service, THANKS

Room Tip: Any scenic room. all beautiful grounds.Get a fireplace, soooooooooo nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear ITALIANGREYHOUND,

Thank you for the return visit! We have very high standards of cleanliness, and we are pleased that our decicated Housekeeping staff is able to deliver on those expectations. Thanks for noticing! The Woodloch Springs Guest Homes always provide a great option to stay with us without a meal plan, yet still enjoy all of the activities and amenities at Woodloch Pines. Preparing meals together is yet another way families can also spend time together and enjoy each other's company while at Woodloch. We hope to see you in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place is great for young and old. There is something for everyone. They keep you busy all day long. The staff there are great. The food is very tasty. You can go with your family and friends. make a reunion. It is truly a great place to visit. I have not one bad thing to say about this place.

Room Tip: There are many great rooms but is you are with family one of the houses are great place to stay so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear tara p,

Thank you for sharing your review and for returning to Woodloch year after year. We strive to provide each and every guest with an exceptional stay, and we appreciate when all guests can come join us and have something new and exciting to do each time. We look forward to sharing our hospitality with you in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodloch Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodloch Pines Resort

Address: 731 Welcome Lake Rd., Hawley, PA 18428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Hawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional Poconos resort, nestled in a pristine mountain lake setting, is regarded as one of America's "Best All-Inclusive Family Resorts". Their traditional warm hospitality has been nurturing and embracing the spirit of spending quality time with family and friends for over fifty years. This Pocono Mountains resort provides a four-season, fun-filled, lakeside escape for your entire family with endless activities and entertainment for all kids from 2 to 92. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woodloch Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodloch Pines Hotel Hawley
Woodloch Pines Hawley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodloch Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.