We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location, great unit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanglwood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tanglwood Resort to your Saves list
Tanglwood Resort
9 Crest Drive, Hawley, PA 18428   |  
Hotel amenities
NJ
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
“Very nice location, great unit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We used our week 28 Golf Unit for the first time after purchasing three years ago. Previously we stayed at the lake front unit but I think the Golf unit is my favorite. You can walk to the golf club with indoor pool, restaurant and nice golf course. Golf is very reasonable during weekday and Tanglwood owners and exchanger can use the private course. In front of our unit is a lake you can fish and boat in.

Check-in was very easy. We called ahead to ask them if we can check-in after lunch. We have a very nice lunch at Elrhart by the lake.

The renovation is done very, very nicely. The two bedroom unit we have is very big. There is sofa bed, queen bed in master and queen bed in second bedroom, 2 tv (one is flat screen), a lot of space for storage. The full kitchen has with full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, oven, toaster and coffee machine. It also has all the pots, pans, plates, bowls and utensil you will need to fix a meal. Counter sitting for two and table set for four. There is a lot of space to move around. The furnishing and appliances were all new and high quality. Everything is clean and new.

There is a lot of outdoor activity in the area. Snow sport in the winter at Tanglwood Ski area and hugh lake where you can rent a kind of watercraft. We rented boats for two days with a tube. There is many activities planned in the recreation center including a indoor paintball field.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    35
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
33
34
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rosemont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

My family went up during the Christmas week. We wanted peace and quiet and we got it , mostly due to the cold season. The goods.....the swimming pool ( Brianne was very nice ) and I did not mind driving to in the least. The restaurant called Boathouse was very good. The recreation center ( girl was very nice ) was okay and I suggest bringing a roll of quarters. The rooms were upgraded and clean with full kitchen. We had time to just chill and that is all we wanted. The bads.......it was cold , no internet in rooms , and off the back deck there is no lighting what so ever ......my kids called it creepy.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed in a two bedroom condo at the Golf Club at Tanglwood. Older, but clean accomodations. Our condo had a wood-burning fireplace and one person jacuzzi tub with full kitchen. The resort is being remodeled. Our unit was not one of the remodeled units, but very adequate and clean. Older, 1970's decor. The unit was facing the man made lake and we used our fireplace every evening. Close to Lake Wallenpaupack and Promised Land State Park. Other Poconos attractions about 45 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We came to Tanglwood for a weekend getaway to relax and check out the changing leaves. We were pleasantly surprised with our condo. We booked through RCI and stayed in a 2 bedroom renovated condo. We called ahead to make sure that we had a renovated unit. The condo was bright, roomy, and very clean. We were very impressed. Everything was updated. We also had 2 large balconies to enjoy the view of the lake and the trees. My boyfriend likes to fish, which was perfect because he was able to walk right down to the lake from our condo. We were there for a relaxing weekend, so we were not looking for activities outside of the the resort or our condo area. We were 6 miles from the Registration Office and that is where the activities are, so you would have to drive back and forth to access it. I am not sure what it would be like to stay there for a whole week, but we enjoyed our weekend stay so much that we will definitely be going back. The area was nice and quiet and it was beautiful with all of the fall colors. One thing that I did not like was that they charged us $35 for cleaning because we were not there for a full week. This seemed excessive considering we were only there for 2 nights and it barely needed cleaning when we left.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Tanglwood Resort is spread out over 7 miles, but it is a rural area so it wasn't that far. There is activites in their recreation center every day of the week! I was impressed with that. The staff is so nice and friendly.
I was in an older (not renovated) condo. It is just dated looking. but considering it was from the 80's it wasn't bad, It was clean and nice looking. There are a lot of places with in 45 minutes of the resort to go shopping, an animal park was fun. I can't wait to go there again. I had a choice of the outdoor pool or the indoor pool and a health club.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We booked this resort through RCI and it was a very nice place to get away from the hectic life. We stayed in a refurbished unit on the golf course and found it to be everything we hoped for. Very peaceful to sit and look at Tanglwood Lake, watch the deer stroll by and the chipmunks chase each other. Very comfortable to sit inside and enjoy the wood burning fireplace as the weather left a little bit to be desired but it took the chill out of the air and we loved it. Even though this resort is away from town it did have and indoor pool and weight room in the club house. You do have to drive to get anywhere but we didn't mind as it gave us a chance to see the surrounding area and do some antiquing.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

I have stayed at many places. Some great. Some okay. But this was beyond anything i have ever experienced. We booked this through RCI and the information provided was very misleading. The room was awful. Everything was old, dark, dingy, and musty. I didn't even let the kids take off their shoes it was so filthy. There wasn't a TV in the bedroom. The kitchen was falling apart. It was unbelievable that we left our comfortable home and drove 10 hours to arrive at a place this horrible. I felt like i was in the twilight zone because all while we were driving, everything seemed perfect. The mountains were beautiful, scenic, sunny and relaxing. But when we got there, it turned into a nightmare. We got there in the middle of the night. The front desk was closed so they left our key in a mail slot. That was creepy. It was so dark we couldn't see anything. Our car got stuck on a huge tree stomp in the parking area because there really wasn't any parking spaces. My husband had to go in and check the place out before letting us in because anybody can access those keys. This place shouldn't be called a resort at all because the units are spaced miles from the actual resort area. We had to drive to all of the amenities offered by the resort. Why would i want to drive to the pool? I could drive to a rec center at home. I came on vacation to relax, not drive. The entire area was deserted. Civilization was over an hour away, but with traffic, it was even longer. Traffic was so tight, it took us 3 hours to get to the mall. It took so long to get back that the water park had closed. I dreaded going back to our unit so I called RCI to see if we could move to another location but everything in the area was sold out. We packed up as soon as we got back to our unit and left. We only spent one night of our week long vacation there. We wasted time, money, vacation days, all for nothing. I wouldn't even recommend this place to a homeless person. It was just that awful. And RCI did not refund our points.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanglwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglwood Resort

Address: 9 Crest Drive, Hawley, PA 18428
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Tanglwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanglewood Resort Pa
Tanglwood Hotel Hawley
Tanglwood Resort Hawley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanglwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.